We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

El Caballo Resort

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
El Caballo Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 86: English reviews
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 2 October 2016 via mobile

Out dated. Grounds were well below average. Room was musty but warm. Comfy bed. Front staff were uptight. One of the breakfast ladies was awesome the other very sour. Nope I would never go back or recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JaeK04
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

We went here for a two night stay on a Scoopon. We got 2 nights accomodation, $30 off a dinner, cooked breakfast for two both days and a bottle of Gossips $4 wine in our room. The hotel was probably magnificent in the 70's but it is run down and not as clean and tidy as it should be. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Joellen1781
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We recently stayed here for two nights, and we did enjoy it. The staff were very friendly and sorted out our "no hot water" situation on the first night very efficiently and compensated us with a nice bottle of wine at dinner on the second night. The rooms have not updated since reopening, however, they are very comfortable and warm....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kylosm
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 19 June 2016 via mobile

Spent two nights here and it was lovely. The dinner on Friday night was excellent creamy garlic prawns for entree and a very big sirloin steak for main course. Staff where very friendly and the serves very big. The tapas and music afternoon on Saturday was so relaxing and very enjoyable. The rooms and the resort is old but very...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kathryn w
Bunbury
Reviewed 8 June 2016

omg worst hotel I have ever stayed at freezing cold room bed was very old and lumpy smelt like mould could not believe we payed to stay there never again very disappointed restaurant was just as bad food was terrible had the garlic prawns 30 dollars for 12 small prawns and bread yuk

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sue M
Sydney
Reviewed 19 May 2016

I attended the Mother's day lunch and show at the resort and felt exactly the same way as Julant55 below. The large room was very bare with not even one picture on the wall. It had zero ambience. The food was very ordinary - and sitting at one of the last tables to be called up to the buffet didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ansettgirl
Matthew P, Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are disappointed and very sorry to hear about your negative experience. Please rest assured we have taken note of your concerns regarding the service measurements to address all the above matters will be in place. We are very sorry for any inconvenience. El Caballo Resort...

Wanneroo, Australia
Reviewed 10 May 2016 via mobile

We planned a lovely Mother's Day lunch with show at El Caballo. Unfortunately it was very disappointing - the function room was not warm enough for a cold day. The rolls were not fresh, the soup was served cold and the buffet main course was just okay. Sweets consisted of an apple crumble and custard and frozen bought slices of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julant55
Matthew P, Front Office Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear about your unfortunate experience, we really appreciate your feedback We would like to take this opportunity to explain the Mother’s Day Special Event which consisted of a Lunch followed by a show with a top entertainment group from eastern estates. Tickets for the Sunday show was $75.00 per person including the buffet lunch. We are...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 9 May 2016

After reading the reviews on here I was a little worried about staying our over-night stay. However I was very pleasantly surprised! Our room was spacious, clean and warm. We went to a show in the Flamenco Room which included dinner. The dinner was a delicious buffet, with steak, fish and gammon, with fresh salads and perfectly cooked vegetables. Dessert...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna W
Matthew P, General Manager at El Caballo Resort, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to write feedback about your recent experience. We are glad that your overall stay was comfortable and you enjoyed your stay. I will definitely share your feedback with the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another stay

Kalgoorlie, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 30 April 2016 via mobile

After reading all the negative reviews I hesitantly booked an overnight stay at El Caballo (to break up a long car trip I had with my family). On arrival, you appreciate how glorious the place was in its hey day - at night the resort looks amazing. The room was clean but it did feel as though I was in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Desiree P
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 26 April 2016

Although the staff were friendly - when we did see them, the whole experience was tarnished by the incredibly shabby rooms, very stained carpets - curtains falling off the rails, no wardrobe in upstairs rooms, not very clean, especially bathroom window sills, and furniture that looks like it was reclaimed from a dump site. Regardless of what this resort offers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank niclux

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wooroloo
34.2 km away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
55 reviews
33.5 km away
The Novotel Vines Resort Swan Valley
23.0 km away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 3 in Mundaring
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.6 km away
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
Swan Valley Oasis Resort
#1 of 1 in Henley Brook
76 reviews
33.5 km away
Possum Creek Lodge
Possum Creek Lodge
#2 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
23 reviews
33.7 km away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
El Caballo Resort in Wooroloo is proud to be offering corporate function packages as well as a range of short term accommodation suites. With over 40 years or rich history El Caballo Resort offers a great function alternative to the traditional city based function center. Nestled in the heart of the Avon Valley and only 30 minutes from the Airports the El Caballo Resort is surrounded by Australian bush and wildlife and is a great escape from the CBD, perfect for your next function. We offer three function rooms all with modern facilities and available with catering and service packages. Only a short 30 minute drive from Midland, El Caballo Resort offers the perfect overnight or weekend getaway. Immerse yourself in one of our two luxury suites and enjoy all the modern features of our resort. ... more   less 

Additional Information about El Caballo Resort

Address: El Caballo Resort 3349 Great Eastern Hwy, Wooroloo, Western Australia 6560, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Perth Hills > Wooroloo
Price Range: RM436 - RM569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — El Caballo Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your El Caballo Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Caballo Hotel Wooroloo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from El Caballo Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose the Spa Room for a bit of Romance”
  • View from the back of our room
 of 5 bubbles kylosm, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't take any of the rooms facing the road, especially No. 8 - loud road noise and rattling windows”
 of 5 bubbles niclux, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
“rooms around pool are quite lovely but may be noisy to some from road traffic”
 of 5 bubbles janecQ4086JD, 23 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Check before you book”
 of 5 bubbles christinehT8705MU, 21 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room upstairs or if you like the pool, room that opens to the pool area.”
  • Ha, the control panel at the bedside.
 of 5 bubbles Alcatraz59, 20 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay