We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cheshire Cheese Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheshire Cheese Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

212 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 209: English reviews
Start your review of Cheshire Cheese Inn
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in an air bnb up the road and had this pub recommended to us. We weren't disappointed. On the first night I had the lamb and my boyfriend had the chicken chorizo pasta, both portions were huge and absolutely delicious. The lamb steak tasted delicious, and went perfectly with the mash as gravy. Unfortunately we were too full for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmmaRo13
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed a wonderful stay in this friendly traditional pub that offers excellent food and accomodation without losing its enormous character. Great room, a fine range of beers and terrific meals. Efficient and friendly service in an ideal location for walking or just sightseeing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
St. Petersburg, Russia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a whole day spent hiking in the Peak District we were looking forward to have a cup of tea in a place with a wonderful name - Cheshire Cheese. For a 10 minutes we were completely ignored by the staff. Then I asked the lady to finally bring me the menu, and she returned with the hostess who told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Diantar
Rachel B, Marketing at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

Hello, thanks for your comment. We are really sorry to hear that you weren't satisfied with your experience. The landlady, who you dealt with directly, passes on her feedback below, hopefully this will shed some light on why, on this occasion, you were unable to stay and enjoy our facilities. "We were very surprised to receive this review. Generally we...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
8 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

By far one of the best pubs in hope! Love the decor and countryside feel of this place. We were lucky to get a table during lunchtime, this place is fully booked most of the time so really have to reserve early! We had farmers lunch and pork belly, both were good. Worth a try when you are in hope.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here to be close to my brother and sister, who were both staying at a local caravan site. It was a delightful weekend break. All the staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable with coffee making facilities, TV and both bath and shower. There was even cooled water and fresh milk in the fridge just...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dj_vhughes
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Stopped here for lunch after a walk due to a recommendation in the CAMRA pub walks book. We were lucky to get a spot and were pleased that we could bring our furry friend with us. Ale selection is good, the landlord seemed friendly and the interior of the pub is lovely. We both ordered the angler's lunch but when...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex K
Rachel B, Marketing at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

Hi - thanks for the feedback. I have passed it on to the kitchen team who apologise for the experience and we hope you come back soon as we assure you this won't happen again.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2017

called in couple times while staying in area,lovely pale ales on tap,cosy pub with fires,friendly staff,,and a lovely meal,cajun chicken and suet steak n kidney pudding,many thanks will be back,may even try the rooms next time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adam j
Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Cheshire Cheese in mid-March for a weekend away out of London. The pub was cosy and warm when we arrived on Friday evening with a lovely stove lit in the bar and a warm welcome from staff. The room was small but clean and comfortable. A slight downside would be the shower which was rather weak...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daisy B
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A real cosy traditional pub with above average food. A good variety on the menu. I had Sea Bass fillets and my wife Venison haunch. Both very tasty, high quality, well presented. Our friends were also very happy with their choices. Desserts were also good with a delicious traditional Bakewell pudding. Great local beers. Lovely atmosphere and friendly service. Very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy S
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed over a weekend in February. Made to feel very welcome. Traditional pub with an open fire, good local food and beer. The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was lovely and set us up for a day walking with direct access onto the hills - no need to drive! Would definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
1.1 km away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
2.5 km away
The Rising Sun
The Rising Sun
#6 of 7 in Hope Valley
158 reviews
6.5 km away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
16.1 km away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
375 reviews
0.6 km away
The Old Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: Edale Road, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Price Range: RM338 - RM451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cheese Hotel Hope Valley
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“a very old building, there are uneven stairs and floors, that is part of its charm.”
stevehH1969II, 3 May 2017 | Read review
“Book the four poster room”
rhodes120, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A great British pub, high quality with heaps of character”
Llanungar, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dined only”
CJeremyL, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“We found Room 3 quite noisy and cramped.”
Karen_USGER, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5