We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Occidental Tamarindo

Bookit.comUS$180*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$244*
US$180*
Great Deal
US$183*
US$207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Occidental Tamarindo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,116: English reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is good for the region, however, it could use some upgrading and change of simple amenities. The pros are: the food is good, however its pretty much the same thing over and over, no variation. The pool is great, even has a deep end (6 feet) so that's a bonus, most hotels don't go past 5 feet. Nice,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Latoya M
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Latoya M: Thank you very much for posting this review although we are not satisfied since it seems we haven't been able to meet your expectations, my sincere apologies for that. We will be working all the year to improve the place everyday so next you visite us, the experience may be perfect. Have a nice weekend. Your sincerely....

Libertyville, Illinois
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This tired and poorly maintained resort is absolutely not a value for the price they charge. This is our family's 13th visit to an all- inclusive resort and I have never seen a property in such poor shape. Having been to both Barcelo and Occidental on multiple vacations, this is a stain on the brand Let's start with the room....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bulldog2003
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Bulldog2003: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It's painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients hapiness is everything for us. Please use my contac for whatever you may need, it...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We recently stayed with our 1 and 3 year olds for a week. They have beautifully kept grounds with wildlife that the kids were excited to see on daily basis. The staff was extremely hard working and very friendly. Brushing up on your basic Spanish will help, and assure that you get the most out of your stay. The food...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Nice to read this review, we certainly keep working on this "Oasis" so we can offer an extreme 5 star experience in Costa Rica. We are sure this year we'll be the year we will known as one of the best All In at the country. Best regards from Tamarindo, Sun City. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager. Occidental Tamarindo.

Richmond
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My son Jake and I recently stayed at the Occidental Tamarindo for one week. We thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and the impressive team there. The food was great and the service was amazing. The dance staff was energetic and extremely friendly and welcoming. The International dance show was spectacular. We will definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ryan S
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Ryan S: I really appreciate this comment, it encourages us to keep working on this line to offer the best experience possible in Costa Rica. From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you for all the good moments shared. Thank you for staying with us. Looking forward to having...

Reviewed 23 March 2017 via mobile

This was a wonderful place to stay. It's a smaller resort. The staff are friendly and helpful. The food wasn't excellent but there were always plenty of choices. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Already planning a trip next year and will stay at OccidentalTamarindo!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chetta L
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Chetta L: It was great reading your review! I appreciate your time writing it, it make us feel so proud. From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you for all the good moments shared. Do not hesitate to contact us for whatever you may need. Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla....

Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

A solid 3 star. The grounds were lovely and nicely maintained as was the pool area. The beach was great. But there were a lot of little things that detracted from the overall experience. The king bed, while comfortable, had no matress pad and the sheets were too short. Half the time, a bath mat was not left which was...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kim B
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Kim B: Nice to hear your words, although we feel we should have done better, please accept my apologies for the inconvenients found your vacations. I assure you that we will continue to work on the property during 2017, yo meet the high standards BARCELO GROUP realeses all over the world (Occidental is the new brand in Barceló Group)....

Milton, Canada
Reviewed 17 March 2017

For a small resort, it had very good quality, and we really enjoyed our stay. The pool was great, the beach was very good, and the rooms kept nicely. The main buffet was very good, changing menus daily, and food was excellent. The resort staff was very friendly and helpful. in all, I would recommend. The town of Tamarindo by...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Glenn T
Escazu, Costa Rica
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Barcelo Langosta has great personnel, wonderful entertainment and an excellent variety of activities throughout the day. Good buffets at breakfast, lunch and dinner, but missing ceviche! Sometimes long waits at pool-side bar for drinks.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank drm1909
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for this nice words, it's really important for us you share your experience in TripAdvisor with the rest of the travellers. Like always, it has been a great pleasure for us to have you here. We are proud to know that our hospitality reached your expectations. I will personally share your words with all...

Overland Park, Kansas
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The overall resort is very nice - the rooms are older and have not been updated and we had major problems just getting a lamp for our nightstand. The pool area is great and the beach fantastic. They had zumba classes, water aerobics and salsa classes. The food was not great - the fruits and vegetables good but the meat...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacleary55
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Jacleary55: Tank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you with the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager.

Canada
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The staff was very helpful, but keep in mind its a small resort, the food was fine, not great, but there was usually something on each menu, that stood out from the others. The wings and snacks at the snack bar were great. Drink service was slow. The pool was small and busy, and there was a volleyball net in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FS Y
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear FS Y: Thank you very much for your words about your recent staying at Occidental Tamarindo. Although I want to apologize in behalf of all my crew for not being able to satisfy 100% your expectations. We will keep working to improve our level so one day we will be known as the best All-In resort in Costa Rica....

1,974 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1561)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (358)
Viewed
Room/Suite (104)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (268)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (654)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Duplex Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
Standard King Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Langosta
1.8 km away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#11 of 21 in Tamarindo
2,402 reviews
0.6 km away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
4.7 km away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 km away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
28.9 km away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
18.0 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
5 stars All Inclusive, with private access to Langosta beach, within the Las Baulas National Park. Boutique Hotel of 198 rooms with exclusive Premium Service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Tamarindo

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo 26519, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Langosta Beach)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Langosta
Price Range: RM722 - RM2,083 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tamarindo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Barcelo, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Tamarindo staff and other travellers.
101 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (101)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Tamarindo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This is a very quiet hotel.”
1001Cindi, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Any - it's Costa Rica - very manageable walk-able property.”
stuffedflounder, 2 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here if you want a "good""room.”
  • Broken things
  • Nasty shower
  • Poor maintenance
bulldog2003, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are great”
M1371YEryans, 25 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Request sea-view if available at a discounted rate.”
drm1909, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Bookit.com
US$180* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$183
Hotels.comUS$207
TripAdvisorUS$183
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates