We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

BreakFree Bell City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
BreakFree Bell City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

966 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 934: English reviews
Start your review of BreakFree Bell City
 Click to rate
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

You won't find a better place to stay on a budget in Melbourne has an outdoor aea accessible to break free guests worthy of a 5 star hotel the restaurant has great food and the service is first class and with 24 hour checkin your there whenever you want

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank beachhouseblues
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Rooms were tiny. Walls paper thin. A bit mouldy. ....and to top it off apparently there was an extra $20 charged to our room which the people at the front office could only assume was from one of the restaurants. They werent even really sure why it was there. But demanded we pay. Yeah cool thanks guys. Nice one

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank B620IFchristopherf
Benloch
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Good location, comfortable, compact (single) room. On site parking and close to train station, fire alarm going off in the middle of the night was somewhat unnerving but probably necessary. Break fast buffet was o.k., not too much choice but tasty and not crowded at all. Newspaper provided was a nice touch!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 553brigith
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful feedback, and fantastic to hear that you enjoyed our unique micro single studio rooms! all the best & looking forward to welcoming you back next visit, regards, Raph, Hotel Manager

Alabama
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had a 2 day stay in Twin Room Breakfast included. Room size was fine for us. Parking onsite is validated from Hotel Reception if you are staying at the Hotel. Buffet Breakfast had Small Sausages, Baked Beans, Scrambled Egg (YUMMY), Bacon. Cornflakes & Coco Pops. Fruit Mix. Juice & Milk & Toast. Personally I think Coffee & Hot Chocolate should...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cosa39
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful feedback, and fantastic to hear you enjoyed your time here with us! looking forward to your next visit, warm regards, Raph Hotel Manager

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very friendly staff, room a bit small. Location is good too close to public transport and restaurants. Parking easily available and we were even offered free parking. Would surely consider this hotel again in the future.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D7909PQsama
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for the wonderful feedback, and lovely to hear the staff were on point! looking forward to welcoming you back next time, Raph Hotel Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I arrived here after seeing what I thought were some pretty decent pictures of the complex and good overall reviews. When I arrived initially I was mortified with my room. My room was situated on the ground floor. I was greeted with a smell of tobacco , food and a very basic and unclean room situated along a dark corridor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dsq123
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your honest feedback regarding your stay with us. As an FYI we operate x2 standards of rooms here at Breakfree: we have our 'budget rooms' which are 2 star, and we have our 'Sleep & Go' hotel product rooms which are 3 star. There is a big difference between the two, so if you are after the...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in a single room which had a single bed and a toilet and shower and a wash basin. The toilet is "embedded" in the shower which is unusual with the wash basin outside sitting on its own cabinet. The shower is fine but requires a couple of nights to adjust your movements around the toilet. Hot water supply...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Y5276AUbrianm
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your wonderful feedback regarding your stay with us! all the best & safe travels, Raph Hotel Manager

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just add more extra towels in the room &more tea, coffee, milk facilities in the room. I think guests should have an option for breakfast meals, like smoothies, fruits or Bacon, eggs and should be able all day. Or have a 24hour kitchen open. No body really wants to eat mc Donald's at 3am. Oh the hotel should have foxtel...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank G3797BXalexandrar
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us, All the best & safe travels, Raph Hotel Manager

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found the room & bathroom extremely hot as it faced north. Disappointed parking & WIFI were an extra charge. Bathroom lacked enough space to hang towels & place toiletries. Great swimming pool & outside area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank neil504
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback regarding your stay with us. As an FYI, at $5 per day for WiFi & $9 per day for parking, we are extremely cheap compared to most CBD hotels, especially considering our low room rates, Nonetheless we do hope you enjoyed your time here with us, and wonderful to see you loved the tropical pool...

Echuca, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I needed a night's accommodation quickly due to an illness in the family and wanted to be near the Austin Hospital. If I had known what Breakfre was like I would have travelled the extra distance and gone into the City - certainly not up to my standard. Shabby (and not shabby chic!)

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 537robynh
GeneralMgrBellCity, Manager at BreakFree Bell City, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback, and apologies we weren't able to meet your expectations. For a more up scale experience we would recommend the Mantra 4 Star hotel next door to us, which although a touch more expensive is at a much higher standard, all the best & safe travels, Raph Hotel Manager

164 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (135)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
Mantra Bell City
#2 of 3 in Preston
887 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#100 of 156 in Melbourne
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
173 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
137 reviews
St. Georges Motor Inn
#1 of 1 in Thornbury
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
BreakFree Bell City offers premium accommodation in the centre of Melbourne that is affordable and offers everything you need in the one place. Situated 9 km from the Melbourne CBD and 20 minutes from the main airport in Melbourne, public transport is also just 5 minutes' walk from the hotel, making this hotel highly accessible to everything Melbourne has to offer. Within the complex you'll find a great range of facilities surrounded by landscaped gardens, including a large resort pool, BBQ, gymnasium, games room and sauna. There are several onsite restaurants including Chill Restaurant & Bar, the Pantry Cafe and JD's Diner. The Pantry Convenience Store also supplies essential goods you may need during your stay including milk, bread, fruit and vegetables. There is also a shared kitchen if you'd like to cook onsite, or head into Preston and dine at one of the many cafes and restaurants. Choose from the Budget 1 and Sleep & Go rooms, which feature wireless internet access (WiFi), LCD TV with Foxtel channels, private ensuite bathroom, work desk and tea and coffee making facilities. Many of the rooms have large floor-to-ceiling windows overlooking the Melbourne skyline and its surrounds. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BreakFree Bell City

Address: 205 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Budget 1 & Sleep&Go)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Price Range: RM257 - RM425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BreakFree Bell City 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your BreakFree Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep And Go Bell City
Sleep & Go Bell City Hotel Preston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BreakFree Bell City staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from BreakFree Bell City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms over looking pool get very hot”
 of 5 bubbles simobart, 18 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't got to this place.”
 of 5 bubbles Gail105, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“anything but the budget 1 single”
 of 5 bubbles 546owenl, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Upper floors, south facing to see the city”
  • Facing South from room towards Melbourne
 of 5 bubbles 846pattiv, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't bother”
  • Bathroom
  • Single room
  • Dirty Aircon
  • Power cord
  • Only electrical
 of 5 bubbles PoppetAustralia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5