We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mantra Bell City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mantra Bell City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

937 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 924: English reviews
Start your review of Mantra Bell City
 Click to rate
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

On business, I have stayed away from here for 12 months until last week and now a 2nd visit the following week. I was very critical 12 months ago but a fair bit has changed since then and all for the better. Saying that - Visit last week was nothing short of exceptional but this week was more towards average/very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg W
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Rooms were clean but very crampt. Travelled with baby and minimal room for a cot that was provided. Room was next to an elevator and unable to sleep first night. Had to request a room change due to that noise. Won't recommend this place for future stays

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms lovely & clean, good, helpful, friendly service at reception on arrival. Smooth check in & check out. Wonderful buffet breakfast included in the room price. Went above and beyond the call of duty for the children at breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Heather, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards Alistair Munro General Manager

Canberra, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a conference and accommodation booking here a few weeks ago. It was so hard to get contact back from the hotel before the event but once we were there the service was fairly good. The air con broke and the room was small and squishy but they moved us to a new room which was great service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nailee19
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Nailee, Thank you for making us aware of the issues you faced before your stay with us. I will pass this on the to Conference Manager to investigate so this does not happen in the future. We are sorry that we were unable to accommodate you in a suitable room but we are glad we were able to help...

Cairns, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

All request catered for when asked, my stay was very less stressful. Instructions on diswasher, microwave and how to use the stove, I have to find out myself. Beds very very comfortable, plenty of powerpoints for phones and laptops. thanks for my family and I stay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank X2296WBlouisel
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your stay. We will take on board the suggestions for the instructions for the room appliances. We are glad that we were able to cater for all your requests and that you and your family enjoyed your stay. Kind Regards Alistair Munro General Manager

Mistelgau, Germany
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms are okay besides the noise from the road because of the heavy traffic. The rooms are "clean" if you do not look to close in the corners of the shower. In case that you need to use wireless be aware that you still have to pay for it which is strange as in most places on this planet...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Mantra for 3 nights. The rooms are quite nice, spacious and very comfortable. Ate dinner at the hotel on 2 occasions. The first was not a very enjoyable experience. Table booked for 7pm seated at 7.30pm and no mains until nearly 9.30pm. Food was of an average standard and I would have expected more. The 2nd time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gads83
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Carpet poor is hotel, rooms ok but could be cleaner. Arrived at 2pm for a function and couldn't get into the room until 3.10pm. Every one else in our group got a drink voucher because we couldn't get into the room, but l wasn't. Just feel the service could have been better, the chill restaurant bar service needs to be...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Glenndavid62
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Glenndavid62 I am writing to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on you r recent stay. I am disappointed to read that you were unable to get into your accommodation at 2pm and sounds like the service recovery from the team has fallen short on this occasion - I have shared this with the team to...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Rooms were clean, comfortable, and everything they should have been. Buffet breakfast was delicious, with everything you could want. Hard to judge the rest, we weren't there for long. Desk staff were pleasant. The negatives - the room key disabling. 3 times in a 16 hour stay. Once at 7pm, once at 2.30am (not really a great time!!) and once...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank emmae324
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Emma, Thank you for taking time to provide feedback about your recent stay. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the stay, I will pass on the information about the key cards to Rooms Manager to investigate this, I am sorry this impacted you during your stay. I have also spoken to the Executive housekeeper about the temperature of...

Greater Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this location a number of times, the most recent being early March 2017 for a week touring around the greater Melbourne area and nearby. Good location which is near to convenient public transport (both Tram and Train) and is only a short drive to Lygon Street for great food and socialising. This hotel has parking on site, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SteveVon
Alistair M, General Manager at Mantra Bell City, responded to this review

Dear Steve, Thank you for providing your feedback about your recent stay. We are so pleased that your enjoyed your stay we also agree that that we have a great location to be able enjoy all of Melbourne. We are currently undergoing doing some sprucing of the hotel, you should see some of these changes on your next visit. We...

155 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (95)
Viewed
Room/Suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Preston
BreakFree Bell City
#3 of 3 in Preston
1,005 reviews
Quest Ivanhoe
#1 of 1 in Ivanhoe
192 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton
Vibe Hotel Carlton
#84 of 158 in Melbourne
879 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#99 of 158 in Melbourne
374 reviews
Bell Motel
#1 of 3 in Preston
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mantra Bell City is located in Preston, just 20 minutes from the Melbourne CBD and airport, and within ten minutes of the Austin Hospital. It is close to both train and tram lines making it highly accessible to many of Melbourne's main attractions. Mantra Bell City offers guests stylish, well-appointed, fully furnished One and Two Bedroom Studios and Executive Suites with a kitchenette or full kitchen, business desk, wireless internet access, air-conditioning, in-room safe and LCD TV. Cot and high chair hire is available in all rooms on request and the One Bedroom Manhattan is wheelchair accessible. The onsite facilities include an outdoor swimming pool, extensive gym with sauna, business centre, dry cleaning and laundry services as well as 24 hour room service, two restaurants and bars and a handy cafe with convenience store. Mantra Bell City offer convenient access to both the CBD and Melbourne Airport, with both located an easy 9km from the hotel. Only a short drive away is the Mercy and Austin Hospitals, Northern Melbourne Institute of TAFE (NMIT) La Trobe and RMIT Universities and the Darebin International Sports Centre. Mantra Bell City is surrounded by some of the inner north's best cafes and restaurants and is just a short 2 minute walk from the route 86 tram line. The tram runs from Bundoora to Docklands, through famous Fitzroy and Bourke Street in the CBD (including the iconic Bourke Street Mall). An easy 8 minute walk from Mantra Bell City is Bell train station, on the South Morang line and running daily between South Morang and the CBD. Getting the train to the AFL is a breeze as both Etihad Stadium and the MCG are easily accessible from Southern Cross and Jolimont stations respectively, located on the South Morang line. Please note: Mantra Bell City charges a cash bond of $400 ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mantra Bell City

Address: 215 Bell St, Preston, Darebin, Victoria 3072, Australia (Formerly Rydges Bell City)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Darebin > Preston
Price Range: RM354 - RM938 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Bell City 4.5*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Bell City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Bell City Hotel And Residences
Bell City Hotel Residences
Bell City Preston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mantra Bell City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Rutherford, New South Wales, Australia

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Mantra Bell City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We have always been lucky and been on the higher floors so we have not had any issues with traffic noise, pool noise etc.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveVon, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Maybe not Room 122 as you can hear the trolleys in the morning”
 of 5 bubbles SueLloyd2014, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“City view room would be nice”
 of 5 bubbles POBox202, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“No scenic views in this hotel”
 of 5 bubbles PoppetAustralia, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request a City View room.”
 of 5 bubbles r2d22015, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5