We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The New Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The New Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

338 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 337: English reviews
Start your review of The New Inn
 Click to rate
Battle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Staying at a nearby Forest Holidays site, we happened upon this pub having found that the pub that we had googled was now empty and For Let!!! We were shown upstairs to the restaurant as the bar area was quite busy. We both had very good meals with good service.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Penny M Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We came across this by chance. A pub with a brewery attached. The welcome was great and staff friendly. Excellent selection of ales and although we didn't eat the menu looked good. There is a chance of a brewery tour as well. Worth a look.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Alan C Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We arrived here in a torrential downpour which never ceased during our one night stay. No matter, we were shown to a decent sized, chintzy ensuite room in the eaves, which had ample storage space and a cosy, snuggly bed. The bathroom, with a lovely corner bath, was large, though despite its size we found it possible even for small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gapdreamer
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi gapdreamer Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take...

Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We purchased a Travelzoo voucher which included a tour of the brewery, two course lunch, two pints of real ale or halves and a gift pack. We returned home today following a very informative talk and tour round the brewery. The meal, although from a set tour menu had enough choice, the steak and ale pie which my partner had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi Jackie S Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Spalding, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a cottage nearby for Christmas and were delighted to hear the new inn excepted dogs we came here four times over the five days including Christmas and the staff and food was wonderful. Very relaxed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kevc00p
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi kevc00p Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your visit to us. As you have seen we love our food and beer so we take great delight in knowing you do to. We hope to see you back again soon.

Redcar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just got back from a 2 night stay here. Room: good size with on suite, bath & shower. Nice and clean, bed really comfortable. We were on the top floor on the road side, nice and quiet. Food: excellent standard, they don't have a massive choice, but that's why what they do, they do well. Bar: if you're an ale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GillHuk
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi GillHuk Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take...

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Judging by some of the other reviews on here we must have caught this place on a rare bad night. We were recommended to visit here but frankly I left feeling very disappointed. My comments that follow may appear harsh but they do reflect my family's actual experience. I don't offer criticism of this sort lightly (see my other reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 123Steve1963
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi 123Steve1963 Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We take all feedback seriously wether it be positive or negative. We take pride in delivering a true, warm Yorkshire welcome as should be expected in a traditional Moors inn. We will look into your concerns and any areas which require attention. Sorry we did not meet your...

Marske-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I purchased a travelzoo deal, brewery tour, 2 course lunch, 2 pints and 3 bottles to take home, exceptional value. I booked an overnight stay with 20% off the room cost. We arrived and had lunch, followed by the brewery tour, unfortunately the brewery was not working but we were informed off how they make the beer. We were then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lillythepink05
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi lillythepink05 Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take...

Middlesbrough
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

My partner and I visited here on Thursday 9th Feb for a brewery tour - 3 course meal and to stay in the pub. Arrived at 1.30pm and had a great late lunch with a pint of their beer brewed on site. The brewery tour was 2pm for 1 hour, Janet was lovely, informative, and the tour was interesting and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsJudd25
Phil L, Owner at The New Inn, responded to this review

Hi MrsJudd25 Many thanks for your lovely review, we appreciate your time and are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We take great pride in showing off our new brewery and how we make our beers, of course the best proof is in the tasting! As you have seen we also love our food and beer so we take...

Reviewed 13 February 2017

Great hotel ,friendly good staff ,clean warm rooms. Evening meal was a disaster,first the chicken was not available soon followed by the steaks and ended up with a very average fish and chips and a dry burger for my wife. They blamed a busy afternoon but it was very quiet due to poor weather, Breakfast was dry and we was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan M

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (71)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cropton
6.4 km away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
637 reviews
15.1 km away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,417 reviews
2.3 km away
The Moors Inn
The Moors Inn
#1 of 1 in Appleton le Moors
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
313 reviews
10.0 km away
The New Inn
The New Inn
#2 of 12 in Thornton-Le-Dale
156 reviews
5.0 km away
Burnley House
Burnley House
#1 of 2 in Hutton le Hole
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Inn is a traditional, relaxed, family run pub based in the heart of the North Yorkshire Moors. We pride ourselves on offering quality food, drink and accommodation, with an atmosphere you can escape to and thoroughly enjoy. We offer a delicious, varied menu, which is made with mouth-wateringly good, home-cooked food from the best local ingredients. You can be sure of good pub grub whether you fancy a bite to eat at lunch or an evening meal in our bar or restaurant. If you would like to extend your stay and enjoy our relaxing atmosphere for longer we offer both B&B and self-catering accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The New Inn

Address: The New Inn Main Street, Cropton YO18 8HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Cropton
Price Range: RM452 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The New Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Hotel Pickering
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The New Inn staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The New Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor less noise from creaking floor boards”
 of 5 bubbles U2053SKalanm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Didn't stay. Probably OK though.”
 of 5 bubbles D7385SCjohnn, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Room 6 over looks the road but the double-glazing keeps it quiet and there are lovely views of the pub garden and beyond.”
  • Views from Cropton Banks
  • View from our room (6)
 of 5 bubbles Landolas, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“consider hiring the cottage or requesting a room at ground level”
 of 5 bubbles amc19652015, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Stairs are quite steep, 2 rooms available on ground level if you have mobility problems”
 of 5 bubbles M4215ZVanned, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5