We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ring O' Bells

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ring O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 95: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We have visited this pub several times, often after a lovely local walk. The interior is very welcoming and comfortable; there is a pleasant garden with children's play equipment and a large car park. The menu offers a good range of meals for both meat eaters and vegetarians. The food is always delicious and the portions are generous.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank _annatkinson
Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Took 2 grandchildren for lunch and the food was presented nicely and the taste was great, will go again, proper chicken in the homemade goujons, not processed and the toasted sandwiches and side salads were lovely and tasty

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JM C
Somerset
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived after a pretty chilly December walk hoping for a log fire and hearty lunch (the board outside even mentions log fire!). Instead a cold empty dining room, a few unlit candles in the hearth. Nearly 1.30pm now and too late to go anywhere else, I went back out to the car for my coat. Food was OK (but served...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmdf
Management response:

Dear DMDF thank you for your review, being an old building with thin windows its hard to keep the pub warm, we had a chimney fire which took one of our fireplaces out of action. we don't light candles during the day, but if you would have asked we would have been more than happy to do so. we serve...

Somerset, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

I went with my son for lunch as he has been here before. Quite honestly dont know why there have been so much negative reviews. We were met by a friendly lady behind the bar. Served quickly. No, the menu is not extensive but it is winter and i dont expect they have much passing trade as it is in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank gillwebb
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Booked a table for 4 on Saturday night as thought it might get busy,not the case as only a few people eating.there was a much better menu last time,tonight's was a very basic menu and also told there was no lamb as they had run out of portions.two of us had starters which to be honest were the best option,well...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomphilson
Management response:

Dear Tomphilson thank you for your review, and sorry that you felt you had to leave a comment on trip advisor. i felt that we resolved the issue on the night by giving you a refund for your fish and chips. we have a very extensive menu which many customer enjoy but sorry that it was not to your liking....

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

Having lived in the area for a long time, we have seen various changes of landlord at this pub. But not for the better in the last number of years - & even management changes have not improved things. Basically, staff don't give a toss. You can stand by the bar waiting to be served whilst bar staff spend their...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosemary H
Management response:

Dear Rosemary H i am sorry that you have had this experience on your last visit to the Ring O Bells. our main priority is our customers and for you to have to wait to be served is not our philosophy. i am sorry you feel that our drinks are expensive but with the way of the economy, for us...

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 December 2016

Four of us called in here yesterday afternoon (Sunday 11th December). We hadn't booked and thought we were lucky to get a table for Sunday lunch. I was pleased to see that there were many Gluten Free options on the menu and also a symbol next to most items saying gluten free alternatives are available. On that basis, we ordered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mel528783
Management response:

we are incredibly sorry that you had this experience with us on Sunday 11th December. we had earlier run out of gluten free gravy, so as you know the only sauce we could offer to you was the red wine jus from the lamb dish. the Yorkshire we made for you was gluten free but unfortunately the sausage is what...

Rye, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2016

Booked some months in advance. Form said book in from 2pm to 8pm. Arrived at 4.30 in heavy rain and dark after long drive. Get soaked walking all around pub trying to find an open door. Finally rang and only got answer phone. 20 mins later after sitting wet and cold in car, we phoned again and were finally allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lizalugs
Management response:

we are very sorry you had such a terrible experience when you stayed at the pub. it's a long way off from what is our usual standard of service. we are making sure that all your points are being taken on board and rectified immediately. next time you come you will find from us a warm welcome, a warm room...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Went for firework night. Whilst fireworks were ok, the organisation for food and drinks left slot to be desired. Arrived at 6.30 to find out no more hog roast. Loads of meat left but no rolls! Did not seem to want to bring extra rolls from Burger hut. Assume because hog roast 3rd party. So had to stand and que...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Mcmatty
Management response:

we realise that more food stalls are needed for next year due to the overwhelming amount of people who came. the hog roast was very popular which meant it ran out sooner than anticipated. we will rectify this for next year and hope you may change your mind.

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely place, been there a few times, lots of character, great garden with swings for the kids. Went for the veggie burger and chips came on a wooden board. Very tasty, we washed it down with the house red. Portions are good, would recommend to any one.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neil A
Management response:

Hi Neil A so happy you had great birthday meal and were happy with the food and ales. hope so see you again soon

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Compton Martin
8.7 km away
The Carpenters Arms
The Carpenters Arms
#1 of 1 in Stanton Wick
267 reviews
3.7 km away
Seymour Arms Blagdon
Seymour Arms Blagdon
#2 of 6 in Blagdon
65 reviews
0.0 km away
Plume of Feathers
Plume of Feathers
#6 of 6 in Blagdon
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Mill House B&B
Mill House B&B
#1 of 1 in Rickford
39 reviews
6.9 km away
The Bear & Swan Inn
The Bear & Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Chew Magna
66 reviews
4.1 km away
Old Farmhouse B&B
Old Farmhouse B&B
#3 of 6 in Blagdon
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Traditional country pub with a modern edge. Situated in the Chew Valley between Blagdon and Chew Valley Lakes. The pub has two ensuite bedrooms, two original public bars with beams, traditional games and largest inglenook fireplace in the valley. The main dining room has reclaimed oak floorboards, open fire, interesting artwork and features on the walls and settles. The Ring O Bells serves simple but innovative dishes, a modern British menu using locally sourced seasonal produce. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ring O' Bells

Address: The Street, Compton Martin BS40 6JE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Compton Martin
Price Range: RM481 - RM504 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ring O' Bells 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ring O' Bells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Ring O' Bells staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We only weht for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles gillwebb, 12 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont go here!”
 of 5 bubbles rosemaryh556, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room was quiet but freezing and dirty, Do not bother”
 of 5 bubbles Lizalugs, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Cannot rate rooms but everyone seemed to be very happy! A quiet location so I am sure rooms will be great from a noise perspective.”
 of 5 bubbles SharonF129, 18 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles TonyGear, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5