We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Solscape

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Solscape
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Solscape
See the most recent reviews
Showing 171: English reviews
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Reviewed 1 April 2015

I had 7 nights in the small earthdome at Solscape, and found it healing and refreshing. The staff are really helpful, I love the environmentally sensitive philosophy that this place embraces, and the location is breathtakingly beautiful. I would caution against having too much food in your space in the communal kitchen - I did have food stolen while I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
Gold Coast, Australia
Reviewed 31 March 2015

We had a wonderful time at Solscape, we stayed at the Eco bach and the experience was truly one I will always remember ...... Nothing but perfect! I get to travel a lot with my work, however we travelled all through NZ and I could of spent a lot more time here😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 753jill
Napier, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 March 2015

Incredible setting with an amazing view from the cafe and reception. The caboose area was very cute. The bed was old and uncomfortable - I slept very badly both nights of my stay. The worst part was the shared kitchen was covered in flies, the tea towels were DISGUSTING and beyond dirty, and therefore all dishes, pans and cutlery were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryony F
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2015

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here for 2 nights in the small earth dome. It smelt really bad and the bed was very uncomfortable. The bed frame was covered in cobwebs and very creaky and loud and the mattress sunk in the middle. I woke up in the middle of the night to feel something crawling on me to turn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauren f
Whanganui, New Zealand
Reviewed 23 March 2015

Beautiful setting set up on the hills above the sea,10mins from Raglan. A little noisy and plenty of mozzies. But the staff were lovely and the food at the cafe was amazing. There were plenty of people getting into their yoga.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louiseos555
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Yes we had an international yoga instructor running a weekend workshop last weekend. Pleased that you enjoyed the food in the Conscious Kitchen.

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 13 March 2015 via mobile

Amazing spot. Location is mint. Views are great. Chilled vibe. Very nice staff. I would say the Cabose I stayed in is super budget for the $ and I would suggest putting in at least one power point. Seems overly frugal to not have one. Also I would strongly suggest sealing the gaps. I was savaged by mossies inside all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmmmthailand
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We have thought about putting power points in all of the cabooses but is rather a large and expensive project. If it were simple it would have been done years ago and most guests are happy enough to sit in the cafe or communal areas charging and using their devices. Also there has...

Reviewed 12 March 2015 via mobile

Seemed like everyone was on holidays (staff also) 4 days of trying to book a massage to no avail. Unserviced Bachs were overpriced at $200 per night. Cafe only served 2 sandwiches for their entire lunch menu.. Also wifi didn't always work...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kym P
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I trust that your comment around staff being on holiday was referring to massage therapists being unavailable for you as I assure you we all work very hard to provide quality service. The Eco Baches and other self contained rooms are serviced every second day. If this did not occur for you I am sorry...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 11 March 2015

First of all, I think it all depends where you stay. My friend and I stayed in the Tipi (teepee) and this was a part of Solscape where there isn't much (any) electricity. It's really a retreat and you are one with nature. It's a long drop type of toilet, the showers have a beautiful soft pressure with stone flooring....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patty L
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return.

Isle of Barra, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2015

We booked 4 months in advance 1 night in a caboose, 2 nights in a tipi, yoga and breakfast special for 2 mornings and a massage for both myself and my hubby. I previously stayed here for a yoga surf retreat and loved the experience. ..sadly this pre planned quite expensive treat turned into a total disappointment. I dont like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shazzaandmickle
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are sorry and can understand your disappointment around confusion of your booking and cancellation of Yoga on the days you were here. Unfortunately there was a business group using the Yoga room and we were unable to offer yoga on those days. This should have been communicated to you prior to your arrival and...

Reviewed 10 March 2015 via mobile

when arriving at soul scape we were instantly blown away by the most breathtaking view! But that's kind of where it ended. When checking into our cabin we were quite disappointed at how basic it was for the price you pay. First of all the bathroom. The colourbond tin was nice but the shower was terrible. You cannot turn it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beachedasb
SolscapeNZ, Owner at Solscape, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. The issues you bring up about the shower in our Family Bach are the first we have heard about them and will look into what can be done so thank you for pointing them out. I understand your concern around us not providing the usual sachets and mini bottles of soaps, shampoos etc. After much...

106 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (88)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Raglan hotels
4.7 km away
Ocean View Raglan Bed & Breakfast
5.1 km away
Raglan Sunset Motel
Raglan Sunset Motel
#1 of 1 in Raglan
117 reviews
4.4 km away
Raglan Kopua Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 km away
Scott's Place
Scott's Place
#7 of 11 in Raglan
17 reviews
1.8 km away
Waoku Lodge
Waoku Lodge
#1 of 11 in Raglan
220 reviews
14.3 km away
Hidden Valley Luxury Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Diverse eco accommodations from beautifully simplistic to luxurious with options to suit all budgets - each lightening our ecological footprint. Our self-contained options offer a comfortable stay with private facilities for couples, families or small groups. For those happy to share facilities take your pick from recycled railway cabooses and earth domes or experience glamping in our Tipi Forest Retreat set in native bush. The Te Ao Whanga Eco Camp provides a limited number of tent and van sites with solar heated showers and an indoor-outdoor kitchen. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Solscape

Address: 611 Wainui Road, Raglan 3297, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Raglan
Price Range: RM181 - RM254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Solscape Hotel Raglan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Solscape staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Solscape staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go somewhere else, unless you want a cold ex-railway wagon or bunk house”
 of 5 bubbles Viragored, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Free wifi and other amenities at main area, 5 minutes walk away. Closed over winter.”
 of 5 bubbles RobinEsme, 19 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Go to the tepee forest.”
 of 5 bubbles Simon_B651, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Look elsewhere unless you want to camp. Choose the cheapest option. Paying more doesn't get you much.”
 of 5 bubbles pilotkm, 8 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The family motel was a great chill out place for friends or family.”
 of 5 bubbles 138wendyw, 8 Aug 2015 | Read review
5 of 5