We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Westwind Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Westwind Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 222: English reviews
TORONTO
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our family booked one night here. We found it cosy and relaxing. There is a nice lounge where we relaxed and had our luncheon as we arrived around 2:30 pm. The staff was very nice and friendly. If you are expecting a Marriott or Humewood Suites, this is not the place to go but if you like an Old Cottage...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JAMAICANToronto
Ontario
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have to agree with many of the other posts. This is a GORGEOUS property with such potential. It was dated and seemingly run down (we came off-season mind you). We stayed in the "chalet" which was made out to be this swank upgrade of a suite. Not as such. It was dirty. Cobwebs, and dust covered the ceiling fan...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Corinthia
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to compose such a lovely considerate detailed review of our inn. Our family appreciates the kind words. We have the nicest guests, a pleasure to host time and time again. However it was not me you spoke with regarding my private little indoor lap pool. We allow guests to use it by reservation within...

HAVELOCK,ONTARIO
Reviewed 31 October 2016

We were a group of 20 Quilters from the Brampton area. What a wonderful weekend. Rooms were small but delightful, with modern bathrooms and lovely gas fireplaces & comfy sofa in the room. Meals were all delicious and food was plentiful. The room we were assigned was bright with windows overlooking the lake and lots of natural light to sew...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHUB22
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely compliments. We are glad you enjoyed yourselves. You were a great group to host and we hope to see you again. Yes summer is a wonderful time to visit us. Enjoy the beach, pool, boats, lawn chairs. Gardens. Just come and relax and we will pamper you!

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 29 October 2016

The staff at Westwind Inn was so attentive to our every need, the food was delicious and they took such good care of our group. The setting is magical and so comfortable and beautiful. We'll return again and again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank G7363DQinfo
kristi j, Front Office Manager at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We look forward to your return. Your group was a pleasure to host.

Port Perry, Canada
Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the inn for a weekend and we had a wonderful time. Amazing staff, beautiful views and rooms, delicious food as well as lots of fun activities to keep everyone busy. We were out on the lake for most of our visit as well as in the hot tub or jacuzzi in our room. Wonderful...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Piscesgirl1991
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. It is greatly appreciated by our family and staff who work so hard to operate the inn. Such a kind considerate caring post from a wonderful family.

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We had a family reunion on Thanksgiving weekend and "a great time was had by all". It's a very relaxing resort with plenty to do outside: hiking trails, bicycles, golf, swimming pools (2), horseshoes, canoes, water bicycles, paddle boats, fire pit & picnic tables, beach, hot tub. Indoors, we also had use of a large room to play board games,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hilvanwalraven
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely compliments. Very kind of you. It is a pleasure having such nice considerate happy guests. We look forward to having you visit again.

Naples, Florida
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

Make sure you know what you are getting when you stay here. Check the rates, figure in the 15% resort fee (added to everything including wine), then add on the HST. Decide if it will be worth it to you. We came for a weekend in the fall, and it was cool cloudy and rainy, and not pool, beach, kayak,...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank fair_critic_7
Reviewed 12 October 2016 via mobile

When we first checked in to the inn there was no staff at the front desk and was a sign that directed us to find staff in the dining room. We were greeted by a girl working in the dining room who had only been working there for a month and that they were under staffed as she had mentioned...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Tyler G
Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We had a wonderful long weekend at the Westwind, a return trip for us. This Inn is very quaint on a beautiful property right on the lake with a gorgeous view. The food was phenomenal and the staff were welcoming and very helpful. This is a wonderful place to go just to relax, or there are many things to do....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
kristi j, Owner at Westwind Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind words Laura. You are a joy to have here!

Aurora, Ontario
Reviewed 31 August 2016

We had the pleasure of staying at Westwind August 22-24 . This is a beautiful property that is well looked after, we enjoyed sitting in the garden and asked if it was ok to use our camping bbq for lunch and there was no problem. We took advantage of free use of kayaks, canoes, paddleboat and water bikes and tried...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 974cindy

227 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (215)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (96)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buckhorn
15.9 km away
Village Inn of Lakefield
Village Inn of Lakefield
#1 of 2 in Lakefield
91 reviews
17.4 km away
Pine Vista Resort
Pine Vista Resort
#2 of 2 in Lakefield
64 reviews
14.4 km away
Viamede Resort
Viamede Resort
#1 of 1 in North Kawartha
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Carriage Ridge Resort
Carriage Ridge Resort
#10 of 19 in Barrie
340 reviews
38.6 km away
Elmhirst's Resort
Elmhirst's Resort
#1 of 2 in Keene
158 reviews
8.8 km away
Burleigh Falls Inn
Burleigh Falls Inn
#1 of 1 in Burleigh Falls
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Westwind is a cozy cedar lodge nestled under tall pines on pink granite rock at the waters edge in a spectacular wilderness setting. About 90 minutes from Toronto & easily accessible. Casual, unpretentious, comfortable. Family owned & operated year round providing nature, tranquility & relaxation. The main lodge offers 31 cozy log cabin style bedsitting rooms with sofa, fireplace, balcony, antiques & original art - 6 with heart shaped jet tubs for two. Common living room. Our chalet has 4 larger suites with many extra touches such as pine floors and cedar ceilings 4 poster bed, overstuffed sofa, larger balcony with a view, large jet tub, fireplace, fridge. They are popular for honeymoons & special occasions or the executive here on a retreat or conference. We provide a welcoming atmosphere with complimentary activities for every season, friendly staff, outstanding surroundings & superb lakeside dining. Majority of our clientele are repeat or referral, we hope you will become one also! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Westwind Inn

Address: 37 Gallery on the Lake Road | County Rd 36, Fire Route 21, Buckhorn, Ontario K0L 1J0, Canada
Region: Canada > Ontario > Buckhorn
Price Range: RM810 - RM1,305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwind Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westwind Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind Inn On The Lake Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Resort Buckhorn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Westwind Inn staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Westwind Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lovely views, two floors of rooms. No coffee in most rooms but central station & lounge area. .”
 of 5 bubbles CHUB22, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose the Chalet, if you want romance and privacy”
 of 5 bubbles seantrip88, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lake view room is beautiful.”
 of 5 bubbles 971rons, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lakeside rooms are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles JillyC_12, 24 May 2016 | Read review
“we liked ours!”
 of 5 bubbles burtonk646, 6 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay