Iberostar Coral Holguin

Iberostar Coral Holguin

Traveller (1257)
Pool & Beach (104)
Dining (64)
What is Travellers’ Choice Best of the Best?
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to those businesses that are the Best of the Best on Tripadvisor, those that earn excellent reviews from travellers and are ranked in the top 1% of properties worldwide.
Learn more

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#1 of 5 hotels in Rafael Freyre
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
This award is our highest recognition and is presented annually to the top 1% of businesses across select categories.
Take in the splendour of the eastern Cuban coast from the heights of the exclusive terrace. A butler is on hand and books you the best table at your preferred restaurant. Can you ask for more? Naturally: free Wi-Fi, access to facilities designed for adults, a private walkway to the beach, one of most sought-after rooms in the best location in the complex.… The Iberostar Coral Holguín experience guarantees your holidays will be the brightest, most peaceful days of your year. Located on the seafront in Pesquero, Coral Level gives you the key to a superior experience and personalised service.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Free breakfast
Beach
Archery
Shuttle bus service
Wifi
Hot bath
Pool / beach towels
Pool with view
Outdoor pool
Yoga classes
Fitness classes
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary welcome drink
Outdoor dining area
Wine / champagne
Poolside bar
Snorkelling
Tennis court
Aerobics
Billiards
Entertainment staff
Evening entertainment
Table tennis
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Full body massage
Massage
Adults only
Baggage storage
Concierge
Currency exchange
Shops
Sun deck
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Butler service
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Minibar
Cable / satellite TV
Extra long beds
Bath / shower
Air purifier
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Flatscreen TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Ocean view
Pool view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German
5.0
5.0 of 5 bubbles587 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Iberostar Coral Holguin garners praise for its attentive staff and stunning location, both of which frequently enhance guests' vacation experiences. The hotel offers affordable options that many travelers appreciate, though some note the entertainment could be improved. The rooms earn accolades for their cleanliness and modern conveniences, often complimented by easy pool access. A lively atmosphere pervades the resort, with guests delighting in the live music and poolside activities. Amenities, including the well-maintained pools and dining options, receive consistent approval for their cleanliness and upkeep.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Modern
Value
Affordable
Cleanliness
Spotless
Service
Attentive
Amenities
Outstanding

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
587Reviews111Q+A80Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 510
  • 58
  • 9
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Senior traveller wrote a review Jun 2022
Toronto, Canada
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I along with a group of friends stayed at the Iberostar Holguin - Coral Level from May 27 - June 3. The upgrade to this adult only section is well worth it. The drive from the airport is approx 1 hr. and it is the first drop off location. The checkin was effortless and we stayed on the ground floor of building 14 facing the pools with patio access to the poster beds and lounge chairs. The rooms upstairs have a view of the distant cove and probably less susceptible to dampness. you will however need to climb a flight of stairs to get to your room. The room itself is well appointed, complete with a jacuzzi. The maid service for our building was excellent with two cleanups a day including fresh beach towels in the evening.

In my opinion the best place to have breakfast is at the a la carte Coral restaurant as we found the breakfast buffet to be limited compared to pre-Covid days.
Availability of certain food items are unpredictable as supply has become an issue for all resorts I am told.
We preferred the Lagostino Lobster halves at the Corel Restaurant. And of the other specialty restaurants, the Mediterranean and Japanese stood out.

Our butler Junior was very attentive to our needs and did what he could to make our stay pleasant. Maria and the staff at the Coral restaurant were very attentive and accommodated us to the best of their abilities.

Relative to other 4 and 5 star resorts in Cuba and given scarcities as a result of Covid the food was pretty good. The hamburger at the snack bar to me tasted like a mix of meat and other fillers, although the 1” thick patty looked appealing. It could be just me. As a note, the hamburger at the snack bar on our late night arrival was a thinner processed patty that tasted good but quickly ran out.

We took USD 1$ bills to tip. Note: coins are not exchangeable at local banks and all notes should not show folded crease to the point of defacing the currency.

The resort was thinly occupied and the nightly entertainment was not close to what we have experienced on our 15 other visits to Cuba. Pool and beach activities at the Coral were non existent. The Coral beach was a bit of a hike from our building although there is a trolley that can take you back and forth when called for at the beach bar. The beach itself is in a cove and very calm with no waves. The water was cool for this time of year and could current and weather related for the location.

All and all we had a great time notwithstanding the fact that the resort is in the process of reopening from a two year covid shut down.

Cheers and happy travels!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Read review
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 20 Jun 2022
Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our hospitality and want to thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensures that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can only help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration. Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
pjle5 wrote a review Apr 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
As members of Iberostar, we always book our vacations with this company as they never disappoint and always provide exceptional service and accommodations. We initially had booked a Junior suite in the Coral Level, but after a few days we were approached to upgrade to the Pesquero suite for the remainder of our two week vacation. This suite was just out of this world and greatly surpassed all of our expectations. We have stayed at some of their Grand locations in the Caribbeans and this resort is of similar calibre. The added advantage was being spoiled by the most caring, professional and attentive staff that we have ever seen. We forged some strong friendships with fellow guests as well as some key staff members. We would like to highlight the following staff as they are the reason we would consider coming back to this resort.

Our two butlers Yunior and Yarian were absolutely wonderful to my wife and I and took care of ALL of our needs during our stay. They were by far the best butlers we’ve ever had. Some of the many services they provided included several trips to the Pesquero beach, a special birthday dinner for my wife upon arrival, arranging a relaxing massage, preparing a bubble bath, providing drinks, fruit and snack platters on many occasions. We were truly touched by Yunior’s young daughter sending us a card and thoughtful gift in our room, an act that we will cherish forever.

At the Coral Level pool bar, Norge and Dayana are the absolute best. They are the most caring and professional bartenders we’ve ever experienced, always providing us with the great cocktails and fresh fruits. I looked forward to Dayana’s beautiful smile every day and Norge’s great sense of humour. Norge even went as far as fixing my broken Bubba and water sandals on his own time! Now that is what you call customer service!

Our two morning housekeepers Danae/ Danai (I hope the spelling is correct) left our room spotless every day and always left us with a special decorative towel display which we absolutely loved.

Was our stay 100% perfect? No. We were fully aware of some of the supply chain issues in Cuba, especially during a global pandemic. The resort had some problems getting some basic food items, but their was always plenty of options to satisfy us. In the à la carte restaurants, we did experience some meals and service that didn’t meet our expectations, but those instances were rare and did not detract from us enjoying our stay.

In summary, the Coral Level Iberostar Holguin is a great place to spend your vacation and meet some of the most wonderful people along the way!
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Junior suites are great, if your budget permits try the Pesquero suite.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 27 Apr 2022
Dear guest, We would like first of all like to thank you for your most appreciative review. Our aim is to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with our numerous services in our beautifully designed hotel so your words confirming our success are very important to us. It is nice to know that you hold us in fond memories and we hope that you visit us again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
oilpatchdave wrote a review Feb 2022
Simcoe, Canada
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We are currently on day 4 at the resort
Will complete the review upon returning home.
To send a note to our fellow Canadians from us who have visited Cuba multiple times
Don’t be too hesitant about coming to Cuba
To be honest we were. Bit shocked at first however we adjusted over the course Of a day or two. COVID has been very difficult for Cuba..
We can tell you Its very safe here and the people and staff are very COVID conscious. They are always wearing their masks however tourists seldom do unless in line at the buffet ( short line if any )
It’s quite important now more than ever though to bring the things from home that will make your dining / snacking experience more like what you are accustomed to- ketchup, mustard , sauces, small spice mix jar, butter, chocolate and so on. Even a few cartons of orange juice for your mimosas if that’s what you are into as you cannot buy orange juice or much of any juice on the island or at the resort.
Other than simple condiments it’s essential to bring your Canadian dollars as others have stated. 5’s and up to tip is extremely appreciated by the Cuban people. You cannot get cad out here only exchange to Cuban pesos which we have been told is limited in what it can provide to the people when they go to buy food and other store goods. Euro , sterling and Cad is king . We paid 40 cad for round trip by 55 chev Bel Air to go to Guardalacava (20min) , at the stores you pay with credit card in USD and in the market for trinkets CAD is what they ask for. I honestly would not waste my time again converting to Pesos at the airport or hotel.
The staff have been great here and the resort is impeccably clean with typically beautiful beaches.
Not a lot of us here at the resort but those that are seem to be enjoying themselves.
Just be prepared as mentioned and you will enjoy your stay.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Bring Canadian money and snacks / condiments
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 14 Feb 2022
Dear guest, We appreciate the time and effort you have taken to kindly share your review. We aim to guarantee that our guests experience the highest levels of comfort in a really welcoming environment and thus, your comments affirm that we are achieving our goals. We would also like to express our appreciation to you for highlighting "how we care" our philosophy to take care of guests, employees, the community and the environment based on the advice of our Medical Advisory Board. Furthermore, we will gladly take your helpful feedback on board as we care deeply about satisfying our guests. Once more, we thank you for your description and we hope to have the honour of serving you again in the future. Best Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daniel G wrote a review Jan 2023
Bowmanville, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The Coral Level @ Iberostar Selection Holguin is a charming adults only area of the main resort, a Coral Level exclusive lobby, restaurant and 24 hour bar included. You also have privileges at the Selection's a la carte restaurants, bars and facilities in the main area of the resort. During our stay in January the resort was completely booked according to staff yet the Coral was very quiet and had a half empty feel to it. We never waited for service at the bars or restaurant, loungers were always free and space was abundant at pools and beaches. Our room a corner 2nd story Jr. Suite was large with separate rainforest shower, bathtub, single sink and private toilet, most noticeably was how meticulously clean our room was and was maintained our entire stay. Dining at the exclusive Coral was convenient for all meals ( buffet style breakfast & lunch, a la carte dinner ) . Our dinning experience found the food quite good, with the advance knowledge that not everything was going to be available at all times. Our experience of the main resorts a la cartes was mixed with the Japanese restaurant " Sake " our favorite. As far as the two bars @ Coral we found the service exceptional and the quality excellent. To close we would like to thank and acknowledge our assigned butler Augusto whom quietly and diligently facilitated all of our needs and requests, Augusto's attention to service is probably why this property has such a high rate of return guests. As for us ..... we surely will .
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 2 Feb 2023
Dear Sharon, Thank you very much for choosing us to enjoy your holiday. If you wish to grant us the privilege of welcoming you we have gained the most valuable recognition. Count on your preference motivates us to continue growing. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Joanne M wrote a review Feb 2020
5.0 of 5 bubbles
we were there from Jan 21st - 28th January. Rooms were amazing brand new beds so comfortable. The staff very friendly , food was good also. Junior was our butler what a nice person. I had a little fall and was hurt, the staff was very helpful came by my room everyday to see if I needed anything. I recommend this resort very highly
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: all the rooms face the pool and dre amazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 3 Feb 2020
Dear guest, We are very pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us at Iberostar and want to thank you for sharing your opinion with others. Confirmation that we were able to exceed your expectations is fantastic news for us. We are also glad that you have kept us in your fondest memories and it will be an honour to welcome you back again in the future until then we wish you all the best. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Carmine Z wrote a review Feb 2020
Sainte-Marthe-sur-le-lac, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Iberostar Coral Level from Jan. 31st to Feb. 14th. Two weeks of sunshine and good times. Junior and Laritza our 2 butlers saw to our every need. They were always asking if there was anything they can do to better our stay. We have previously been 8 time to the nearby Playa Costa Verde and had seen the evolution of the construction of this resort. so out of curiosity we wanted to see what it looked like and try a new resort for a change. we are definitely not disapointed.
After 3 day at the man made beach in the lagoon we decided to try the Pesquero beach and we fell in love with it. We spent the rest of our vacation there. During the second week of our stay my sister and her husband came to join us and we had a memorable week together.
I have nothing but good comments on this resort and can`t think of anything negative to say about it. There is only one suggestion I would make to even better the quality of this resort is if it were possible to identify the food at the buffets. Some people like my wife have food restrictions or allergies and it would make them feel more at ease if the food served was identified. But by no means this is a complaint, all the servers, including the chefs, were more than willing to assist my wife as to what she could eat and what she couldn`t seeing she is on a strictly gluten free diet.
Thanks to all at the Iberostar Holguin for a great peaceful and relaxing vacation, I would strongly reccoment this resort.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from QualityMCuba, Quality Manager at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 18 Feb 2020
Dear guest, We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion. Every day is a new challenge for us based on our passion for providing our guests with an environment similar to a home from home and receiving excellent feedback such as yours shows us we are on the right track. Thank you for sharing this positive experience and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Peter L wrote a review Apr 2022
Corunna
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This was our second trip to the iberostar coral level. Our first time was just before covid shut down everything. The best way I can describe the coral level is a small luxury resort inside a really nice resort. After 2 years the staff still remembered us. I don't know where to begin about the staff. If there was a down side, the entire staff was double masked so we couldn't see there beautiful cuban smiles. Niorge the head Butler met us as we got off the bus and made us feel like we never left. The Butler service is well worth the upgrade. No standing in line to make dinner reservations, any needs for your room, organize a classic car and driver for a day trip to Holgin. Niorge, Junior, Yunior, Augusto and all the Butler staff are more than happy to answer your questions to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable. The coral restaurant was a buffet for breakfast and lunch on our first stay. Because they weren't at full capacity they served a la carte for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Maria and her lovely wait staff will make sure you won't go hungry. We stayed for 2 weeks this time so the meals rotate on a weekly basis. Yander, Alexander, Jorge and all bar staff will be there to make sure you always have a cold beverage in your hand when you want it. Say hello to Dayanna at the pool bar for your drink of choice as you float by. The resort is huge. Beautiful beach , 4 a la carte restaurants, they all are great but the Japanese is a fan favorite. There is also a steak house but due to resources or less than half capacity it wasn't open. The rooms are spacious and tile floors throughout. There is only one 110 outlet and it's in the bathroom. We brought a converter and a power bar, there are USB ports as well. As far as tips/gifts all hard to get items are greatly appreciated. As far as currency, Canadian is the money of choice, as they can buy a card with it to go to stores that have hard to get items.They will take US dollars but harder to get exchanged as banks won't take them. Bills must be in pristine shape, ripped, creased or damaged bills will not be accepted at their banks. Loonies and Twoonies are not excepted at the banks as well. Don't be surprised if some of the staff or even porters at the airport ask you to swap coins or damaged bills for better ones. Wifi is available at the resort for free in five hour allotments. The receptionists (especially my Wifi girlfriend Liudmila ) will top your Wifi hours when you want it. Beautiful resort, Beautiful people, can't wait to go back.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 15 Apr 2022
Dear guest, First of all, we would like you to accept our genuine appreciation for the loyalty you have shown us by returning to our hotel for your most recent holiday. We are also very happy that you have taken the time out of your day to share it with us. Moreover, your evaluation is of the utmost importance for us because it shows through dialogue we can achieve the individual wishes and preferences of our guests and constantly improve the service we provide for them. We would like once again to thank you for this kind review of our hotel and we will be delighted to welcome you back to stay with us again soon. Best Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SueBSimmons wrote a review Nov 2022
5.0 of 5 bubbles
BEAUTIFUL resort! Very cozy at the Coral Level, feels like home. Excellent activities director Marle Celeme who clearly loves her job and inspires guests to join the activities (my personal favourite being yoga!) Michael was super helpful with any maintenance issues. The food was good for me, but the coffee did not taste as good as it used to and the flan recipe seems to have been lost. Our favourite snorkelling spot is within a 20 minute walk down the beach to the Aston. Turn down service each night is divine... the team changes out the towels, ready for the next day! Junior our butler did his best to accommodate with the challenges that were out of his control. Massage service needs some work.. charging only $17US per hour has guests booking multiple sessions so when we arrived everything was booked the entire week.. they simply need to charge more (those that need the help would gladly pay) and they should limit guests on booking sessions. Some of our friends were able to have bottles of alcohol brought to their rooms, but again... so many others were getting multiple bottles that the Rum was not available when we requested just one. Although the Coral Level is quite peaceful, the speakers from the Selection pool are ridiculously loud and carried clearly into our area. We will be back in the spring!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 3 Nov 2022
Dear Susan, It is always a pleasure to receive our guests feedback and yours encourage us to continue working towards excellece. Thanks for placing your trust in Iberostar. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Coral Level At Iberostar Selection Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derek O wrote a review Dec 2023
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived late on a Friday November 17 2023. Next morning, we went to breakfast and were initially by guests in the past. Circumstances in Cuba and availability of certain types of food on a consistent basis is extremely difficult. It seemed to us that Cuba resorts (ours being Iberostar Holguin Cuba) are and have been struggling to keep up to the high standards that have been experienced by guests in the past and found lack of entertainment to be very frustrating. For example, a musician, singer or pianist in the afternoon and/or evening would give a wonderful addition to the day or evening of entertainment at the Coral. The theatre at the family area does not cut it. Mostly the evening dinners were good but minimal and inconsistent. A constant blasting out of basically noisy music in the adult pool area does nothing to enhance one’s enjoyments of the day. A thoughtful approach to selection and variance would be very much appreciated. People do like to dance and playing Cuban music 90% of the time can be annoying although at times enjoyable. The doors in the room to the patio and pool open easily from the inside but require modification on the outside to make it easier to open and close the doors. A handle or a hollow insert would do the trick. Here is a brief summary of our rating of the Coral:

Food 5-7
Overall service 6 (never was in contact with a butler?)
Entertainment 3
Cleanliness 9-10
Available facilities (coffee machine in room, kettle, bottles of pop (for fridge an alternative to beer ,we do not drink) 2

Average rating 22/5 = 4.5 out of 10

Not a great rating but we are sure that management will give more thought to improving resort entertainment and information and such should be easily available. Despite our disappointments we have decided to return in the early part of 2024 with the hope our next trip will see some improvements.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 18 Dec 2023
Dear Derek, Thank you for the honor of your visit and for the opportunity to review our quality standards through your helpful comments. We will do our best to be worthy of your vote of confidence and to surprise you with positive changes the next time you visit us. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ruffinit wrote a review Feb 2023
Lakefield, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our experience at this location was outstanding! Upon our arrival, we were greeted by staff, offered a welcome drink without the crowds and lines you experience at other locations we have stayed at. The front desk staff is amazing. We had dedicated butlers, Junior and Larizza - the A team who looked after all our needs from booking our dinners to any special requests we had. The manager of the area, Ismara was on site and ready to assist when needed as well. All the staff and services provided were amazing.

We were provided with free Wi-Fi access which was accessible throughout the property. We had a late arrival and we were able to get pizza and chicken fingers at the bar at that time. Very convenient after a long day of travel. The room was very clean and modern. AC worked well. Beautiful bathroom with jacuzzi tub and shower as well. The room was kept clean daily. Beach towels provided in your room so you don't have to go and search for them. They were often changed out without us asking for this. Our buttler booked us a massage - they get booked up quickly so if you want to get in book early. The beach was beautiful, smaller beach for Iberostar guests only, shallow, great for kids and if you just want to wade into the water. The other beach had a private area with a bar for Iberostar however you could walk along the beach if you wanted.

The food was great at the Coral Level, lots of choice and variety, green salad, tomatoes, pasta bar, omelets, soups, chicken, fish, pork, lamb, seafood, cheeses, ....the chef tried to mix up the breakfast and lunch buffet daily. Never crowded, no lines. Was able to sit outside on the patio area by the pool every breakfast and lunch.

The pool was also great, never crowed, always able to find a sunny spot on one of the many beds or loungers, 2 small hot tubs, not very hot but really not needed in that environment, the rest of the resort was accessible for walks and if you want to go to the buffet there however that buffet was much more crowded and as a result louder. Japanese was good and entertaining.

Late check out is available if your room is available.

The staff at Coral level made you feel welcome and known and not just another guest in a hotel. The personal attention and service is outstanding.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Bibiana Carbonell Castelo, Owner at Iberostar Coral Holguin
Responded 16 Feb 2023
Dear Anne, Thank you very much for sharing this detailed description of your experience in our hospitality. We are happy to know that our services and personal attention lived up to your expectations. It will be a pleasure to conquer you again with another wonderful experience in the near future. Kind Regards, Quality Manager Iberostar Coral Holguín
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from Manip72
Whitby, Canada
The beach is a short walk or a golf cart ride away, but the beach is long and beautiful for walks.
Answer from Manip72
Whitby, Canada
There is a guy on the beach who will take your order and come back later (takes about 15 minutes for him to go home).
Answer from Mandy P
Burlington, Canada2 contributions7 helpful votes
The only bathroom I found near the beach was a nasty small one attached to the back of the building that stores the water sports gear.
sandy w wrote a tip 20 Jun
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"bring lighters ,soaps ,razors and cloths for the staff"
Read full review
caroline s wrote a tip 1 Jun
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you like spices/condiments Bring your own"
Read full review
Nomad21141849284 wrote a tip May 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Bring condiments that you can't live without and enjoy yourself!"
Read full review
Vikki K wrote a tip May 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"You get what you pay for."
Read full review
Bruce S wrote a tip May 2024
New Glasgow, Canada
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"No trouble getting spots at the pool or beaches. Please do not bring loonies &/or toonies for tips - Cuban banks do not accept Cdn coin "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Rafael Freyre area.
LOCATION
CaribbeanCubaHolguin ProvinceRafael Freyre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
62
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBEROSTAR CORAL HOLGUIN: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews and 1,272 Photos (Rafael Freyre, Cuba) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Iberostar Coral Holguin
Which popular attractions are close to Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Nearby attractions include Playa Esmeralda (7.5 km), Playa Pesquero (1.1 km), and Las Guanas Eco-Archaeologic Trail (7.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Conveniently located restaurants include Don Pepe Grill Restaurant, La Finquita Allegre, and Restaurante El Marlin Azul.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Does Iberostar Coral Holguin offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Iberostar Coral Holguin?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and German.
Does Iberostar Coral Holguin have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Iberostar Coral Holguin accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Rafael Freyre HotelsRafael Freyre Hotel DealsHotels near Iberostar Coral Holguin
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire