We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

319 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Park Hotel Ruapehu
See the most recent reviews
Showing 274: English reviews
Snohomish, Washington
Reviewed 24 April 2016

I didn't realize that people mainly land for a day, do the Tongariro Crossing, and then run out of town- bad deal, kids. This is a lovely place to rest awhile especially in slow season. I stayed at the Park for 5 nights, by myself in a quad loft for the first two because the Web made their rooms look...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Larkeyskip
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) We will pass you compliments onto our staff, it is great to hear that they were so helpful! Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you back again if you are ever in the area.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 April 2016

Stayed for two nights to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, we booked the cheapest available room witch was fine for us,bathroom is a bit small but everything you need is there.Staff are very friendly and helpful and the food and service at the restaurant was great,the spa pool was a life saver after a hard day on the mountain. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans L
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello Hans, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:) If you are after a larger room, we suggest looking at the loft rooms, which are more spacious than the standard rooms. We hope to see you back again.

Dronfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 April 2016

Rooms very small - we had 3 suitcases which we struggled to fit in! Tiny table which was placed in front of fridge - difficult to get things in and out of fridge. Wi-fi not very good. We found broken glass on the floor - general cleanliness of room not that good. Good location for National Park activities. Restaurant meals...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare B
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hell Clare, Thank you for letting us know how you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room did not meet your standards, we have brought this to the attention of our housekeeping team. We will be renovating some of our standard rooms in the coming months to address the other issues you mentioned....

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 March 2016

Went with 3 Grandchildren at Easter. Ordered 4 lamb shanks, very meaty sitting on kumera mash, 1 steak meal. All meals well presented fast service. Chocolate cake desert to die for. Not staying there, we have a holiday home at Owhango. Will go back again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne E
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, It is great to hear that you enjoyed your family dinner with us, we are glad to hear that you will be back again:)

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 29 March 2016

Great place to stay for the Tongariro crossing, it only a 20 minute transfer to the start which saves getting up at stupid o'clock and also great at the end as the last thing you want after is sit on a bus for an hour or more. Hotel staff are super friendly and very helpful. Nice bar and restaurant, food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Goodnightkiwi78
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us while completing the Tongariro Crossing. We hope to see you back again in the future:)

Darwin, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2016

Staff friendly and very helpful. Nice bar and restaurant. Nice breakfast. Rooms very small and cramped, somewhat dated but clean. Tea/coffee making on top of small bar fridge , one desk (sort of). TV is one one side of the room (on the desk), not in front of the bed. Ensuite plain and not very modern.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank romolod499
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for your feedback regarding your room. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and enjoyed our bar/restaurant:)

Halifax, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2016

We stayed here for three nights hoping to do the nearby Tongariro Crossing on one of the two full days there. The rooms are smallish and basic. There is an en suite shower room, fridge, heater, kettle but that is just about it although there is a shared kitchen with cookers, fridge etc. Also a laundry room. Our deal came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy S
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Manager at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hi Jimmy, thank you for taking time to send us feedback. We hope you enjoyed the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, and that the weather did not detract from this magnificent hike. With public demand for early transport to "beat the crowd" during the summer months, the hotel can be noisy early in the morning. We regret that this disturbs other guests...

Canberra
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying at this three star hotel. It was clean it was in a fantastic location for accessing the volcanoes and the walks in the region. If you didn't have a car buses pick up and drop off at all of the local starting points. The service was helpful and professional it is not luxury but very comfortable....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Happywanderer5309
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your comments, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us:)

Eketahuna, New Zealand
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Bit rough but if you are staying there and are more focused on the hiking/ climbing/skiing opportunities and just need to put your head down at night then this place is ok. However discerning (4 star and up travelers might want to stay somewhere else.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a_jambo
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback:)

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights at The Park and took advantage of its two-night summer deal (breakfast, packed lunch, tickets to the Tongariro Crossing). The accommodation was clean and comfy. The staff friendly and helpful. The restaurant was excellent also - we appreciated the happy hour, the sizeable portions and great tasting dishes after a long hike! When we walked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank English_Ali
TheParkHotelRuapehu, Front Office at The Park Hotel Ruapehu, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you very much for your review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be so friendly and welcoming:) Thanks so much again!

87 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (62)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.3 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,453 reviews
25.5 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
12.4 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
472 reviews
0.2 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#1 of 9 in National Park Village
229 reviews
0.5 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
From premium hotel rooms, to self catering family rooms to comfortable loft rooms, there is an accommodation style to suit every travellers needs and budget. Enjoy picturesque alpine views of Mts Ruapehu, Tongariro, Ngauruhoe (Mt Doom in the Lord of the Rings filming locations) from the hotel. The on-site Spiral Restaurant & Bar is full of character and is open daily. The outdoor hot tubs, courtyard hammocks & open fireplaces are complimentary for guests and offer the perfect opportunity to relax and unwind after a day of adventure in the Ruapehu region. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Park Hotel Ruapehu

Address: 2/6 Millar Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: RM310 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Park Hotel Ruapehu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your The Park Hotel Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Park Travellers Hotel National Park Village
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Park Hotel Ruapehu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from the main door. Noisy!”
 of 5 bubbles Aetramos, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Would go for a upper level room if you got to choose”
 of 5 bubbles Unkn0wn93, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Dont go for a loft room if you need room to turn round in the shower room”
 of 5 bubbles 148janb, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from room 21; has double bed but only one bedside table and no bedside lamp.”
 of 5 bubbles natleamy, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Second-floor rooms have a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles 947angiem, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5