We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We have stayed with our group in 12 people lodge. Really comfortable place.Bad that wifi signal was weak out there. Kitchen fully equipped. Bedrooms pretty small but we didn't spend to much time in there. huge living area. Coming again in march.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcin_Mentel
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

You certainly got lucky with the weather but your crew made the most of their break. Always good to see people enjoying our beautiful national park.

Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Pros: Accessible to Tongariro Alpine Crossing site, approximately 20mins away. Clean rooms and accessible kitchen Receptionist was very accommodating when we settled our payments before we left. She was chatty and kind. Cons: Few toilet cubicles Rang the lodge thrice to enquire and clarify matters. The person who answered didn't sound accommodating. He sounded grumpy.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 728surfgirl
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Glad to hear you had a good time when you got here if not over the phone before hand. I am sure that was me and sorry it wasn't as welcoming as I should have been.

Reviewed 1 March 2017

Had an amazing couple of days, booked the Deluxe crossing package , best value around , they organised everything, breakfast ,lunch and transport all included ! a really great deal. ALL staff were amazingly helpful, the transport driver did an amazing safety briefing and we felt really well prepared and looked after. Rooms were spotless, beds so comfortable .We will...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gail B
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words and I will pass on your positive opinions to our driver and staff.

Siem Reap Province, Cambodia
Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 days here - mum, dad and 2 year old. Dad did alpine pass mum n toddler stayed around the lodge, it's clean, staff are very helpful. Katie at reception was very very helpful - great for tips for the tramp, and where to go locally. Dad initially was considering taking the 2 year old on the tramp in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GlynCrox
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks you for your comments. I very much agree with you about taking small children on the crossing. We regularly get people who want to do this and while we will take them (if weather is perfect) I am always nervous about it. As you say, just too much can go wrong ! The other issue is that kids in...

Reviewed 26 February 2017

The lodge is just a few steps away from the train station (where the cafe is located serving good coffee and food) and the bus station (intercity). They have the best dryer machine in town, I swear. The lodge has a DVD library with good selection of movies as well, just ask Grant the owner. The room, kitchen, toilet and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anitabE1671VP
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Yes too bad about the weather but glad to hear you made the best of things and enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks for taking the time to give us your thoughts.

Reviewed 23 February 2017 via mobile

A friend and I were passing through during a roadtrip. Howards Mountain Lodge is a good option for someone wanting a clean, inexpensive place to stay overnight. One highlight was the comfortable lounge/ games room in which to socialise with other guests.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for writing your comments about our lodge and good to hear we ticked some boxes for you.

Wairarapa, New Zealand
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Simple but comfortable with ensuite rooms and great lounge and kitchen facilities. The staff team were friendly and very helpful. Ring direct to book as there are more options than the website booking agenciew suggest. Great connections for the crossing walk and we'll try the spa pool next time. Thanks Katie.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stuarto556
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Good advice about booking directly, too many middle men clipping the tourist ticket these days. Best price is always OUR price ! Thanks for your review.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2017 via mobile

Beds were really uncomfortable, I had a bunk which felt like sleeping on plywood, which was what was holding it up. The shared showers were not good - just a dribble and they leaked from the ceiling above. No breakfast included and the walls were very thin so everything was loud. We had stayed in the adventure motel for 2...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Emma T
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sad to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us. Beds are a tricky one with individuals definitely having their preferences. By conscious choice our beds tend to the firm end of the spectrum as this is what most people seem to like, not unfortunately in your case. The mattresses on the bunks are inner sprung, not just foam. They...

Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Really friendly staff and good concept but some investment needed. The shuttle for Alpine crossing efficient and arranged with the Lodge? Unfortunately bed was completely shot to pieces certainly not what is needed after 20km hike. There is no air con or heating. The bathroom fittings fall off wall above sink and in shower if used.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie W
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear we didn't come up to scratch during your stay. I do wish you had let us know these concerns at the time and something could have been done. Each room has a heater but during the summer they aren't on automatically. You would have to turn it on your self. It is kept at about 20 degrees...

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Howard's Lodge is excellent value for money. My partner and I stayed in a double room with shared bathroom as part of the Tongariro Crossing package. Rooms were comfortable & clean and the bathroom facilities were good with high pressure showers. Continental breakfast and lunch provided were of a good standard and made things a breeze. There is also a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank coffeelover684
Grant43-45, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks fort hat and glad we could squeeze in a not-too-bad day on the crossing. Bit rare so far this summer but fingers crossed going forward.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,494 reviews
13.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
415 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
486 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
238 reviews
0.4 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: RM218 - RM353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the ensuite rooms , great value”
, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book direct and ring with questions- there are more options than the website suggest.”
stuarto556, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5