We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Howards Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Howards Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

399 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Howards Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 385: English reviews
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 October 2015

Grant is awesome, friendly, realistic and honest in his approach. The Lodge is well equipped for a great stay. Need anything just ask. Have recommended this place to others wanting to stay close to the National Park.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lance Rita G
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you very much for kind words and appreciation of our efforts. We try and be value for money and a one-stop shop for all your needs related to hiking or skiing. Have you considered doing the cossing in winter (with a guide) to compliment your experince last week ?

Waimauku, New Zealand
Reviewed 26 October 2015 via mobile

First off I will say the lounge couches were comfy, the dvd selection good. The drying room was useful. However, there was a very musty smell throughout the building. We were in the family suite with conservatory (smelt so disgusting we didn't use it). Heaters were on timers so you couldn't even turn them on when you wanted resulting in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nikearle
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and sorry to hear we didnt come up to scratch. Not sure about the odours you mentioned but we do treat for that issue regularly and am confident it won't be a problem gong forward. Some of our heaters are on a timer as an energy control measure but these are...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 22 October 2015

Grant is very helpful, he arranged the transport for me to go to Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Self Catering kitchen is good, wifi connection is good, Grant give me extra MBs to surf. Room is clean, electric blanket is comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mjlai83
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I was worried the weather wasn't going to be in your favour but luckily it turned out brilliantly.

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 27 September 2015

I stayed in one of the double rooms in the block on the right. I was impressed with the quiet - it was great to be away from the main highway. The facilities was all I needed for my trip to the mountain.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jo G
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your appreciative comments and taking the time to post them in a review. Always good to hear we get it right, at least most of the time !

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 27 September 2015

We were looking for somewhere originally from which to do the Tongoriro Alpine Crossing and these guys appeared to offer the whole deal from accommodation to hire gear, to packed lunches to shuttle to and from the walk. Unfortunately as it turned out we booked all of the above on line which was nice and simply and easy to understand,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Breen S
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Nice talking to you and getting the goods on how things are in Australia these days. We did email you about the crossing but got no reply, thought you would entertain your selves anyway since the weather was perfect so sorry you couldn't walk the crossing by yourselves but plenty of other things to do as...

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 18 September 2015

This is really a souped up youth hostel, but is one of the very few budget options available within the national park. Rooms are sparse and basic and most do not have bathrooms. The communal toilets and showers are well equipped, but you need to bring all your own toileteries, including soap, shampoo, toilet paper. There's a large communal room...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Jarko2015
Rita A, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. We are a budget option but we do have options other than the room you stayed in which was the standard room, these are private rooms with shared facilites in the hallway. We also have another building with private rooms and ensuite bathroom. Each wing has kitchen and dining facilites as well as large lounge with...

Reviewed 4 September 2015

Great location and easy walk to local restaurants. Self catering kitchens great and the two lounges well stocked with fire wood . Friendly staff who rang us before we arrived and arranged for our room key and room to be open for us . A great base for skiing in winter and tramping in spring or summer ..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John K
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and good to know you had a good time with us. Hope to see you again soon, perhaps the crossing this summer would be to your liking ?

Reviewed 30 August 2015

Howards Mountain Lodge was by far our favourite palce to stay in New Zealand. The staff were really helpful, they live there, and work hard each day to keep the wood chopped, fire warm and everything clean. There was a free private spa, great kitchen area, and awesome community area with with a pool table, cable TV, free movies, games,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Zane J
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Very kind of you to choose us as your favourite stay. Always fun for us to have cheerful people like yourselves around the place as well. Perhaps you could try the crossing in summer as well ?

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 30 August 2015

Everyone was friendly helped our group with all gear hire and transport to and from mountain. Warm fire place which was maintained 24/7, close to everything such as the pub and mountain, very clean, comfy, great for groups, hot water that didn't run out after 8 girls had a shower, great location and great people.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Charlott_Cou
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Thanks for your review. Always a good thing that the hot water lasts and I'm happy to say it - usually - does. Still plenty of snow here if you want to give it another shot this winter.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 24 August 2015

Great location for skiing at Whakapapa. Grant and Rita were very helpful with the rental of the skiing equipment, booking tours for us e.g. Tongariro Crossing as well as to extend our stay (we had to extend for two days). Both are very easy to deal with. The rooms itself are simple but very clean. Although the bathroom is shared,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Theresa S
Ritulya72, Owner at Howards Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Glad the extra days worked out for you and made the trip even better. Thanks for taking the time to post your review and your kind words. Hope to see you again soon.

56 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.7 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,488 reviews
13.1 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
413 reviews
25.7 km away
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
484 reviews
0.3 km away
Plateau Lodge
Plateau Lodge
#2 of 9 in National Park Village
235 reviews
0.4 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#3 of 9 in National Park Village
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the secrets of the volcanic plateau. Walk the legendary Tongariro Alpine Crossing. Bike the popular 42 Traverse track. Canoe the wilderness of the Whanganui River. Ski the slopes of Mt Ruapehu. Howard's Lodge is the ultimate start for all outdoor adventure in Tongariro National Park, Ruapehu Skifields and Whanganui National Park. The lodge offers a broad variety of accommodation ranging from budget rooms to en-suite rooms. Daily transport to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing and the 42 Traverse Mountain bike track, Rental of ski equipment, tramping boots and walking poles and mountain bikes. Enjoy a fantastic summer experience or an exhilarating winter getaway; we have just what you need. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Howards Mountain Lodge

Address: 43-45 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: RM220 - RM361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howards Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Howards Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Howards Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“get the ensuite rooms , great value”
, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“book direct and ring with questions- there are more options than the website suggest.”
stuarto556, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Loft rooms are great for bigger groups own a budget”
PhiliJSoul, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Second floor in main building, mountain view!”
marcusJ965, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed over a quiet period, I would bring ear plugs during busy season as the outside doors were hard to shut quietly :)”
mrskask, 1 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5