We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Plateau Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Plateau Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

238 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Plateau Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 199: English reviews
Steyning, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

A definite recommendation, clean friendly everything we needed. Hot tub was clean. Would have liked free wifi. Very helpful owners, family run, nice lounge to wait in the following day as ourbus left at 3 pm

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally B
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Fantastic news about your stay with us. Not only Plateau Lodge is a great place to stay but op explore a Dual Heritage National Park in great weather is a great experience. Our spa pool is brand new we have had to replace last month since the original hot tub decided to not work any more. Please enjoy the rest...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 25 February 2017

The room had 4 beds, 2 chairs and a sink, unpleasant smell, lots of flies and bugs. It is simpler than a hostel, and probably not be as clean. The shuttle to the crossing hike costs NZ$35 round trip. They charge 2% credit card fee so I paid $50 cash, and got $10 and a coin back. Later found it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank oceanflower
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for your honest feedback. Im suprised about the not clean part- as by all our other comments we are very clean. Its a basic room as you choose for a basic room we do have rooms with bathrooms & kitchens - Shuttle price is the same as everyone else for a round trip no surprises there and credit...

Terrigal, Australia
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights recently. Thank you Andrea for checking the weather forecast of Mt Tongariro so we were able to change our travel plans. Had basic continental breakfast for $15 - as described but disappointing. Pity the hot tub wasn't working as we were looking forward to a soak after walking for 3 days. Apartment room for 1 night was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn_traveller13
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. You have had a touch of all facilities including the Tongariro National Park. Our weather can fickle and routes need to changed to suit mother nature. It worked out well changing the direction of the Northern Circuit. Sorry to hear my breakfast was suitable. All comments are positive on the breakfast. We only serve healthy...

Raglan
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Clean place, nice kitchen area. One glitch - place recently stained, spent night nauseated with migraine. Would have liked a heads up and an option to stay elsewhere.....We nicknamed it the 'Peyrol Palace!'

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Ohh Thanks for that we didn't realize that the fumes where aggravating our guests. Thanks for the heads up to. Our maintenance of buildings happen in the 8 weeks of summer weather.

Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We rented a two bedroom apartment for 5 which sould be "Spacious and warm each with a separate lounge" and we felt that it was a little small for 5 adults. In addition we hired the transport to go to TONGARIRO and we felt that we were not well prepared to go there. We did not have adequate shoes (just...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jacqueline d
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback.

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We stayed for three nights, with three generations, in a two bedroom apartment. The facilities are modern, the beds are comfortable, and there is a little playground for the kids, as well as a modern public playground by the school around the corner. You can cook in your own kitchen or you can walk to various pub-style restaurants nearby. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Belgianz
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us Im glad we met your expectations and enjoyed our wee Village.

Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewed 8 February 2017

Despite a spa being listed on the discription, there wasn't one to use. After doing the Tongariro Crossing this is all we wanted and was the only reason why we booked the room. When we asked where it was, we were told that it had been dismantled.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank voltmaster
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback. Actually not quite true....we are in the process of building a brand new one which is bigger and more comfortable for our patrons. Should be open any day now. Yahoo Our old spa broke and we needed to jump on it quickly and have a new one ASAP which is what we are doing. Cant help...

Carterton, New Zealand
Reviewed 4 February 2017

Ticks all the boxes for a clean no frills, clean, convenient, and well priced place to stay in this great location. Owners/staff were very friendly and helpfull. I was just there one night but others I spoke too stayed several days in order to do Tongariro Crossing as transport for this was available from the lodge.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank johnstewarthenry
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Excellent news. Our Lodge room are nice and simple for a quick getaway. Our services are daily transport to the Tongariro Crossing and Whakapapa Village.

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 February 2017

we stayed in a 2 BR apartment for 3 nights here.It is well worth paying the extra instead of a backpackers for this oldie. Owner very helpful/knowledgable,room has good heating and a gas stove and burners and dishwasher,fridge,tv Sleep good quality and reasonably quiet if no kids running along the verandah. I think free wifi would be nice(it is $5/day,good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 557jill557
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Our two bedrooms are nice and comfy for families and couples travelling or just escaping. The Track and leaving cars at the start end points is safe. Just not over night. However the amount of hikers and car spots exceeds the trampers. There is not enough car parks for 100's of cars. Cars are parking on the vegetation which is...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 30 January 2017

Staff that we encountered were friendly and helpful, especially Pete, the shuttle driver, who was lovely. Location was convenient for Tarangiro Day- Hike as well as all the other hikes in the area. The hot tub, much anticipated after a 19km hike, has not been and was not working. There is nowhere to sit outside that is not in the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
tongariropark, Owner at Plateau Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Its always good top hear new thoughts and ideas. Yes our tub is not working but we have a bigger and better one being built as we speak. Hopefully another 7 days away.

138 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
2:57
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (91)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (37)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Park Village
12.4 km away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,496 reviews
12.8 km away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
416 reviews
0.0 km away
Adventure Lodge & Motel
Adventure Lodge & Motel
#1 of 3 in Tongariro National Park
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Howards Mountain Lodge
Howards Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in National Park Village
399 reviews
0.1 km away
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
The Park Hotel Ruapehu
#5 of 9 in National Park Village
326 reviews
6.1 km away
The Crossing Backpackers
The Crossing Backpackers
#1 of 9 in Tongariro National Park
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a family run lodge with a variety of accommodation and transport to the Tongariro National Park. Private double rooms (with or without a bathroom) Modern two bedroom apartment Camper van sites Tongariro Alpine Crossing Shuttle Return Shuttle 7.00am and returning at 3.30pm & 5.00pm Cost is $35pp One way: Leave your car at Ketatahi and we will transport you to the start $30pp ... more   less 

Additional Information about Plateau Lodge

Address: 17 Carroll Street, National Park Village 3948, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > National Park Village
Price Range: RM205 - RM479 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plateau Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Plateau Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Plateau Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments are great.”
M7591DLmarks, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Bring your own hairdryer as we couldn't seem to find one.”
, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“two bedroom apartment”
594jacquelined, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Select a room in the middle or be careful when you park your car as spaces are limited somewhat.”
MuminHamilton, 4 Sep 2016 | Read review
“for extra room get the disabled room”
Martin_qld, 30 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5