We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Alaska View Lodge

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Masset
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Alaska View Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

25 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 25: English reviews
Start your review of Alaska View Lodge
 Click to rate
Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Nestled in the beautiful sand dunes, this unique lodge provides the finest breakfast, hot tub, open pit fire, seclusion and the most important ingredient; friendliness. Thank you Stephane. This is a memorable place

Thank Martin W
Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 3 September 2016

We enjoyed one of the suites outside in the coach house (there are two). Our deck had a perfect view of Dixon Entrance with the hot tub just a few steps way. Great place to star gaze with virtually no light pollution after dark. A very special property with a great bed and spacious room. It gets better the next...

Thank fayo400
Surrey, Canada
Reviewed 12 December 2015

I stayed at Alaska View for 4 days in August hoping for natural oceanfront and got it in spades! What a blessed outdoorsy retreat! Walked on solid sand beach in sweet air for an hour and decompressed. No commercial pressure, didn't see anyone! Had fun guessing which shore in the distance was Alaska! Free airport transfer. The room was unpretentious...

Thank SoleSis
Prince George
Reviewed 9 December 2015

I stayed here 1 night for work while on Haida Gwaii in November. What an incredible place! I fell asleep to the waves crashing on the beach and in the morning there was fresh coffee waiting for me before my departure. They offered breakfast but I was heading out super early. Overall a great place to stay and relax after...

2Thank Blaineestby
Port Clements, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed 1 December 2015

I tried to check my friends in here from the U.K I couldn't even get them checked in until well past 5pm. We ended up coming back and forth 3 times until someone was able to get them checked in. The person working there made sure the nasty hot tub was running and nothing else. It looked like they don't...

6Thank Jipperfarcry
Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 6 August 2015 via mobile

We reserved the 3 bedroom chalet. It's condition was poor. The hot tub was out of order, the dishwasher didn't work either. Most of the kitchen light bulbs were burnt out. It was overpriced for what we got. On top of that they gave me a price when making the reservation and when I paid they charged me more. When...

Thank VKS10
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 9 January 2015

My husband and I stayed at an off-the-grid cabin last summer and decided to try Alaska View Lodge this winter as it is on the beach but also has heat and electricity, which was a plus given the huge amount of snow that fell the days we were there! The manager, Ben, was super friendly and cooked up tasty eggs...

3Thank runnerjulie
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My wife and I travelled from Northern Alberta to Haidi Gwaii and booked thru BC Ferries. For the first three nights we were at Haida House, but they were full for our fourth night and booked us into the Alaskan View. The room was not equipped and they wouldn't provide any breakfast for us as we had an early departure....

6Thank Malcolm H
LangaraFishing, Manager at Alaska View Lodge, responded to this review

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay at Alaska View Lodge. We are quite disappointed in the comment regarding the lack of breakfast service because it does not accurately reflect what occurred. This guest had to depart our lodge before 6 AM to catch the morning ferry back to the mainland, which is common for guests staying with...

Blind Bay, Canada
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We were travelling with a small dog, so we stayed in the cabin. To our surprise our 3 bedroom unit included a games room with pool table, dart board, bar and small tv. It would provide many hours of entertainment if the weather did not co-operate .Fortunately, we had spectacular weather, and we did see the mountains of Alaska. The...

3Thank Lynne T
LangaraFishing, Manager at Alaska View Lodge, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Alaska View Lodge. This guest stayed in one of our two beach houses adjacent to the lodge -- a 3-bedroom and 2-bedroom house are available for self-serve accommodations daily or weekly. We do have plans to remodel the interior this offseason.

Reviewed 26 September 2013

I had a great time with my mom at Alaska View! The breakfast was excellent every day, Neil and Ben were wonderful hosts, and even the weather was great! The hot tub was great to relax in and the entire stay was great. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat! Thank you guys for making our stay so wonderful!

4Thank Luba87

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (13)
View from Room (4)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Room/Suite (4)
Bathroom (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (20)
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Dining (1)
Other (8)


  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Alaska View Lodge is located along the north coast of Graham Island, between the town of Masset and Tow Hill. The lodge sits right on the beach overlooking Dixon Entrance and the distant Alaskan Islands. Surrounding us to the south is the ancient rain forest of Naikoon Provincial Park. This European-style bed & breakfast features comfortable and scenic accommodations, and is the perfect setting for tourists interested in exploring Haida Gwaii (the Queen Charlotte Islands). ... more   less 

Additional Information about Alaska View Lodge

Address: 12291 Tow Hill Road | Haida Gwaii, Masset, British Columbia V0T 1M0, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Haida Gwaii (Queen Charlotte Islands) > Graham Island > Masset
Price Range: RM304 - RM400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Alaska View Hotel Masset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Alaska View Lodge staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Alaska View Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request one of the two coach house rooms”
fayo400, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay at another place.”
malcolmh876, 22 Aug 2014 | Read review
“We had an upstairs rooms with a great view of the ocean and Alaska.”
IsabelP315, 4 Jun 2012 | Read review
3 of 3