We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bondi Beachouse YHA

Hostelworld.comUS$39*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$54*
US$39*
Great Deal
US$54*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Bondi Beachouse YHA
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

194 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Start your review of Bondi Beachouse YHA
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed in double/twin room with shared bath. Yeah, it is in bondi Beach, and it is clean, but that is all what i would call special or good. We had only one bath with one toilette and one shower on our floor, die a bigger one we had to move to the second floor. All of the equipment was quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GrafZahl93
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The doors are all broken, so you have to slam them to shut them. There is only 1 bathroom (1 men's stall and 1 women​s stall) on each floor so if someone is using the women's I had to go into the men's. The bathrooms are always filthy and the kitchen is a huge mess. The guests do not clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karleebelliveau
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

May I start by thanking you for your comments in regards to The Bondi Beachouse YHA. The Bondi Beachouse Yha is an older style art deco building like other hostels in Bondi. Due to this we do acknowledge that levels 2 and 3 are small bathrooms, however we do have larger ones on levels 1 and 4. Therefore this hostel...

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 21 March 2017

I'm telling you now, 80% of the price you pay is literally due to location as it's just a 10 minute walk from Bondi beach. So that's great. Besides that, the "twin" or big rooms have bunk beds while giving you the impression that you'll get two. No aircon, just a fan and a window without a screen! This is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank StareAway
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

May I start by thanking you for your comments in regards to The Bondi Beachouse YHA. In regards to the layout of our twin rooms, they are clearly dispayed on our YHA website and many other booking sites - the bunk bed configuration for twin rooms is fairly standard within hostels. Apologies for not accepting $5 credit card payment however...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived from the airport tired and drenched from the rain. We had to wait 20 minutes for someone to appear at reception. When we finally checked in the rooms werent easily accessible (narrow hallways and stairwells with luggage was not fun). We had a twin room which was bunkbeds- the top bunk was a health and safety risk as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence D
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. The Bondi Beachouse Yha is an older style art deco building like other hostels in Bondi, so we are unable to alter the layout, we are always happy to help carry luggage. In regards to the layout of our twin rooms, they are clearly dispayed on our YHA website and...

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2017

cant fault the location, nearby public transport, friendly helpful staff, great café and post office just up the road, great atmosphere but the hostel needs a bit of an up grade especially the communal bathrooms....need more!! air con only in tv rooms. bedroom windows have screens. had a one bunk bed room which was adequate, with locker. there is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tina j
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your positive comments in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. All hostels in Bondi are older style art deco buildings and as a result do not have air-con. Kind Regards,

Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed for only two nights. Had a room with 3 beds in it. Very reasonable price. Two great air conditioned tv rooms. Activity area with table tennis. Lits of games to borrow. Kitchen facilities. Area on roof with seating and great view. Up a small hill from Bondi beach. Just walk along Fletcher Road to main High Street for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your feedback in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA - we are always happy to recieve positive comments in regards to our staff!

New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I booked a private room with a friend having high expectations coming from the YHA in Sydney Harbour. We were let down. The view was great, but the room was tiny and uncomfortable. The bathrooms could have been cleaner. Staff was friendly and helpful with directions. A locker room was provided for storage, but with a terrible automated system that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LinduhC
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Sorry to hear about your issues with the locker system - did you contact reception and were you compensated? Kind Regards,

Quebec, Canada
Reviewed 13 January 2017

I have stayed at this hostel for two week in January 2016. The Bondi Beachhouse YHA is located just between Tamarama Beach and Bondi Beach which is just perfect. The hostel has beautiful room with wooden floors. The view from the balcony at the top of the hostel is absolutely magnificent. It's the best spot in the city to watch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Magalie17
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your kind comments in regards to the hostel. All hostels in Bondi are older art-deco style buildings which do not have air-con. Kind Regards,

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Dirty cramped room, very busy only one plug between 6 of us! Room was a very awkward shape hard to move around. Helpful desk staff. But only two toilets on the whole floor. Great location and good communal areas but wouldn't stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poppyr21
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. The Bondi Beachouse Yha is an older style art deco building like other hostels in Bondi. Due to this we do acknowledge that levels 2 and 3 are small bathrooms, however we do have larger ones on levels 1 and 4. Therefore this hostel is marked at a lower price...

Reviewed 8 January 2017

Good location though be prepared for uphill climbs. Staff give the impression they would much rather be on the beach than serving you. Service came with a painted on smile and words were kept to the bare minimum - not welcoming at all. Beds are as expected. Wooden floors in the rooms which do not hide mess so should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
BondiBeachouseYHA, Manager at Bondi Beachouse YHA, responded to this review

Thankyou for your comments in regards to Bondi Beachouse YHA. Dorm rooms are cleaned and swept daily and we have since replaced the sofa in the common area. We generally have great comments about our staff so apologies on this occasion you had a poor experience. Once, thankyou for your comments.

48 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
1:58
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bondi hotels
Bondi Beach
Adina Apartment Hotel Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Hotel Bondi
Hotel Bondi
#4 of 9 in Bondi
173 reviews
Bondi Beach
QT Bondi
QT Bondi
#3 of 9 in Bondi
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bondi Beach
Ultimate Apartments Bondi Beach
Bondi Beach
Noahs @ Bondi Beach
Noahs @ Bondi Beach
#8 of 15 in Bondi
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bondi Beachouse YHA is located on the chilled-out southern tip of Australia's famous Bondi Beach. Easily the best hostel in Bondi, with Fantastic views of the Sydney Coastal walk from the rooftop. Only 5 minutes' walk to both Tamarama and Bondi Beach. Facilities include: free Wi-Fi hot spot, free snorkelling gear/body boards (surfboards for hire), movie room, table tennis, self-catering kitchen, secure bike locks, limited parking and weekly backpacker activities. Close to shops and good transport links, you can stay by the beach but near Sydney's city centre! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bondi Beachouse YHA

Address: 63 Fletcher St, Bondi, New South Wales 2026, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Bondi
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Price Range: RM96 - RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bondi Beachouse YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bondi Beachouse YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bondi Beachouse Yha Hotel Bondi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bondi Beachouse YHA staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Bondi Beachouse YHA staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“just avoid it. If you must, get the premium wifi.”
StareAway, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Private room. En suite. They're all good.”
jackhM8465AX, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Views seem good from any part of hotel but west facing get the best beach views”
Want2BATravelWriter, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on a higher floor may be less noisy”
RTWMagazine, 27 Apr 2016 | Read review
“The rooms with multiple windows are best”
hughesemil, 4 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$39* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.comUS$54
Hotels.comUS$54
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates