We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wynyard Hall

TripAdvisorUS$160*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$160*
US$160*
US$159*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Wynyard Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,005 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wynyard Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,003: English reviews
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

We called yesterday and sat outside overlooking the lake. We ordered afternoon tea for 2 and 2 glasses of prosecco. The earl grey tea was lovely and the food was excellent. There was 2 ham 2 egg and cheese and 2 coronation chicken sandwiches and they were lovely along with an excellent choice of cakes and scones. The afternoon tea...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank graham g
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear graham g, Thank you for your review, I am very pleased to hear that you managed to enjoy the lovely weather! We hope to see you in the near future for many more visits. Kind Regards Brian

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Wow, what a beautiful place, visited Wynard Hall on a number of occasions for Sunday lunch and evening meals and have never been disappointed. The surroundings are beautiful, the food is delicious and well presented. Staff are very helpful and provide excellent customer service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carole042
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Carole042, Thank you for your kind review, I am very pleased to read that you have been continuously impressed at the services we are proud to offer. We look forward to seeing you again for many more memorable visits. Kind Regards Brian

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016

The gardens were very nice but needed drastic dead-heading of the roses. It was chaotic in the cafe which did not have any menus nor was food listed anywhere that could be easily seen so people were getting near to the drinks and did not know what was on offer ! Not very well organised. Nice food though.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Selia737
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Selia737, Thank you for your recent review, I am pleased that you enjoyed the food. All of our menus are advertised on the chalk board behind the counter for easy viewing. I will circulate your comments with the Gardens management team and they will be addressed. I do hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 July 2016 via mobile

First time trying brasserie menu, I had soup which was lovely, one friend had seabass...said it was fab, other friend had chicken club sandwich. We had soft drinks, jug of water and coffee with dessert, mango cheesecake and sticky toffee pudding were our choices, waiting staff were amazing and it cost just over £60.00 x. Lovely pianist playing and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank saraswales
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear saraswales, Thank you for your very kind review, it was a pleasure to read. Your words will be shared with the team and I know they will be pleased to receive them. I do hope that you will return again soon to sample more of our exquisite menu! Kind Regards Brian

Lille, France
Reviewed 30 July 2016

Wish I had been aware of the walled garden earlier in the year , unfortunately we called in two days ago and the roses were not at their best but still enough to enjoy .We liked the way all the roses-are numbered so you can look then up in leaflet your given to walk around with my husband bought two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irene P
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Irene P, Thank you for your review, I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable visit. Our farm shop produce is ever changing and stock fluctuates depending on whats in season. It may be something that we look into increasing in the future. We hope to see you again in the near future. Kind Regards Brian

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

The cafe is a lovely setting for afternoon tea but it shuts at 5 pm and the staff start clearing up and cleaning way before this! This makes you feel very unwelcome! I don't think 4 pm is an unreasonable time to have tea but whenever you go at this time there are hardly any cakes left - why??? The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicola C
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Nicola C, Thank you for your recent review. Your comments will be shared with the management team and investigated. This kind of review is not something we receive often, I do hope you will return to the Gardens again and allow us to restore your faith in us. Kind Regards Brian

Teesside, England
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I visited Wynyard Hall yesterday with my grand-daughter to see the walled garden which was beautiful and we enjoyed it very much. However we had lunch in the cafe and my grand-daughter had a lunch box which was priced at £5.50. Inside it was ONE SMALL SLICE OF BREAD from a small loaf with a little bit of ham in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank TeessideArmstrong
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear TeessideArmstrong, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I appreciate your frustrations and your comments will be investigated. We pride ourselves on high quality produce and I am disappointed that this was not the case on your most recent visit. Kind Regards Brian

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

We visited Wynyard for a birthday celebration lunch this week - and what a delightful and memorable experience it was. After a lovely drive through the Wynyard Estate we arrived at the imposing entrance to this impressive building, hidden away beside the river. Entering the hotel, the calm, peaceful and stylish atmosphere set the tone for the quality of experience...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Chris B, fantastic to read that you had such a memorable birthday celebration visit. We hope to see you again soon. With kind regards, Brian

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 July 2016

I wish to review to review the cafe and rose garden think it should have it's own site. Visited with three friends on an offer of pay for one and one free we very surprised you could use it on concessions so it only cost each of us £1-50p great price. Beautifully laid out with each bed having a variety...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boydy73
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear boydy73, Thank you for your visit earlier this week, very pleased to read that you enjoyed you visit to our Gardens and Café. We hope you will return soon. With kind regards, Brian

Reviewed 27 July 2016 via mobile

We decided to have Sunday lunch here to celebrate our 37th wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. It was a hot day but thankfully the huge door to the courtyard had been opened to let in some cool air. The dining room had been decorated since we had last visited in yellows and golds and the chairs upholstered, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank KatyDelicious
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear KatyDelicious, Thank you for your kind review and great to read that you enjoyed your Sunday lunch. Kind regards, Brian

485 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (479)
Viewed
Room/Suite (56)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (29)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (281)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
24.8 km away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,288 reviews
21.6 km away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
20.6 km away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 km away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
18.2 km away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
3,032 reviews
22.5 km away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wynyard Hall is the premier venue in the North East for weddings, events, conferences and accommodation.Set in its own beautiful and private grounds, Wynyard Hall, has a charm and character that captivates all who visit. Unlike any other venue in the North East guests feel relaxed and privileged from the moment they sweep over the lion bridge and the magnificent 4-star Country House Hotel comes into view until the time they leave. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wynyard Hall

Address: Wynyard Hall Hotel | Tees Valley, Billingham TS22 5NF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Durham > Billingham
Price Range: RM723 - RM3,621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynyard Hall 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wynyard Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynyard Hall Hotel Billingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wynyard Hall staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wynyard Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The Frances Anne suite is a large comfortable room with stunning views over the lake.”
  • View from Frances Anne Suite
  • Frances Anne Suite bathroom
  • Frances Anne Suite
  • Frances Anne Suite
Lancestrian, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Dukeswood Cottage is lovely”
shelley40Newcastle, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We were in room 4 which was spacious and quiet”
Jet2ers, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6 which faced the front driveway but we didn't hear any noise.”
698maureens, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on south side overlook the lake, all rooms are quiet, probably because of old thick walls!”
Lynne_720, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$160* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$160
LateRooms.comUS$159
PricelineUS$160
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates