We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mear Lodge

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Spalding
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

75 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 74: English reviews
Start your review of Mear Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Mear lodge was a fantastic place to stay. Everything was perfect Pete and Janet can't do enough for you. Food excellent 5star. Recommend for everyone. And bottles of bud £1.50 😁 very quiet at night over all an amazing place and a good time whilst o was there. Thank you Pete and janet

Thank broomr
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 December 2016 via mobile

This would be our third stay every year since 2014 now and no words can describe how much we love our stay in Mear Lodge whenever we visit Spalding. Pete and Janet are always very welcoming and friendly. Breakfast is always delicious and ingredients are fresh. Rooms are kept clean and tidy. There's really nothing more we can ask for...

Thank RacCay
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 November 2016

Disabled facilities In room pleased with. Janet & Pete were very welcoming & chatty, could not do enough for us. Food excellent,parking area good, families would like it. Enjoyed our stay & would recommend Cherry Cliffe

Thank bigmamacliffe
Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Went to Spalding for a family anniversary for three of us and booked one double and a single Very comfortable, clean, quite large modern rooms and a fantastic breakfast in the morning between 09.00 and 10.00 on a Sunday which was brilliant !!! Great value, easy parking, and easy to find, nice couple who run it - would stay again...

Thank pigedav
mmearlodge, Manager at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you all, and if / when you come back we will be pleased to see you, including George the goose!!

Kingston-upon-hull, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

We stayed for one night to visit friends and a museum - Pete and Janet are very friendly and hospitable, and as we were the only guests on this occasion, they joined us for a chat over a hearty breakfast which included home-made black-current jam! If we visit Spalding again, we'll certainly aim to stay at Mear Lodge. It would...

Thank Yorkieguy62
Holcombe Rogus, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2016

Had my classic car booked in to the nearby "Rustbusters" for their full rust treatment and, having travelled 240 miles from Devon, decided it would make sense to stay 2 nights at Mear Lodge. First impressions are always important and a friendly, homely welcome from Janet and Pete was a wonderful introduction to a really relaxing and pleasant stay. As...

Thank adieXK8
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We enjoyed your company too and are happy to hear you plan to come and visit again next year.

Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 August 2016 via mobile

Myself and family booked three rooms for a one night stay to accommodate us for family Birthday celebrations. One had hairs in the bed, an awful egg- like smell when the tap was turned on and pebbles stuck in the carpet (so clearly hadn't even had a hoover flung around). Ours had bugs all over the en-suite walls, no working...

3Thank Roberts_Smith09
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

We are so sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay at Mear Lodge, and we wish you had said something whilst you were here because as you can see from other reviews, we bend over backwards to accommodate our guests. To replace the carpet is on our “to do “ list. In fact we will be replacing the carpets in all...

Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

pete and Janet are very welcoming and help throughout our weekend with them. Our 4 year old enjoyed George the goose. Accommodation and breakfast were excellent. Woukd definitely recommend and revisit.

Thank sean h
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments. It was lovely to have you stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you if/when you come to stay again.

Reviewed 1 August 2016 via mobile

Pete and Janet are very friendly and welcoming and easy going. Mear lodge is one of the nicest and laid back places that we have ever been too. The breakfast is to die for ( I had to have one every morning) the room was very clean and tidy, the bathroom is spacious the shower is very powerful. The bed...

Thank Daz K
mmearlodge, Owner at Mear Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. It was lovely to have you staying with us, we look forward to you next visit. We have already recommended the zoo you visited to other guests.

Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Had a lovely stay at Mear lodge from the 15th-17th July. I was staying on my own whilst my family were nearby at my uncles, as we traveled down from Yorkshire for a family funeral. I was shown great hospitality and warmth and felt totally at ease staying on my own.The room was spacious with all I needed in the...

Thank lise1999

21 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (21)
Room/Suite (4)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Dining (2)
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spalding
2.9 km away
Woodlands Hotel
Woodlands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Spalding
257 reviews
2.2 km away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#4 of 4 in Spalding
79 reviews
18.3 km away
Supreme Inns
Supreme Inns
#4 of 6 in Boston
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
St. Nicholas Country House Guesthouse
3.9 km away
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
Woodhouse Farm Lodge
#1 of 16 in Spalding
60 reviews
2.5 km away
Cley Hall Hotel
Cley Hall Hotel
#2 of 16 in Spalding
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Mear Lodge

Address: Claylake Farm House Burr Lane, Spalding PE12 6AZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Lincolnshire > Spalding
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Mear Hotel Spalding
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mear Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Mear Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Away from busy town, disabled facilities good, enough parking space.”
bigmamacliffe, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on ground floor and v quiet except for a resident goose !!!!!!!”
pigedav, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“All the rooms are separate to the main house where you have breakfast, so are all very accessible.”
409luanc, 26 Oct 2015 | Read review
“another excellent aspect of Mear Lodge is that the rooms are separate from each and from the accommodation of the owners. Each room is set round a long courtyard and has its own front door almost as if you were staying in a self catering unit. This gives everyone privacy and space.”
Gwen1_11, 12 Apr 2015 | Read review
“I was in room 7 for 99% of my stay and found it absolutely fine.”
colincrutchley, 24 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5