We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Summit Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Summit Hotel
The Summit Hotel
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

268 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Summit Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 260: English reviews
Stony Brook
Reviewed 22 February 2016

It still is the best place on SXM for the view - for features although some more items could be used like a barbeque which we used to have. As usual the restaurant is what it is and we all live with it. I do like the food. The service is poor but the bartenders are young and helpful. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear James B, Thank you very much for the review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor and we completely agree, we do indeed have the "Greatest View on SXM" as you said. Sorry about the individual barbecues going away but the fire inspector wasn't too keen on us having those anymore. Our new Asian fusion restaurant offers great food...

Hellertown
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I am a repeat visitor, and am never disappointed! The rooms are clean, the view is awesome, the staff are very attentive! Even though I own a timeshare elsewhere on the island, I extend my stay at the Summit- I can always rely on a pleasant experience( unlike at MY home resort)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 166donnag
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 166donnag, Thanks so much for your great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. We love you too! It's wonderful to see you return to the Summit time after time and we are especially flattered that you choose to spend time with us even though you have timeshare elsewhere on the island. Thanks for your comments about the rooms, the...

Lakeland, Florida
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Great views, friendly staff, laid back low key environment. Great food and reasonable prices. Happy hour is big plus. Nice views of Simpson Bay Lagoon. Rooms clean with kitchen. Numerous restaurants close as is superrette.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred A
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fred A, Thank you very much for the great review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I think your review does a great job of summing up the Summit's advantages in just a few words. I can't actually think of anything to add to it to help future guests understand our strengths and what we have to offer....

Warson Woods, Missouri
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Comfortable room. Good price. We had a great view from our balcony. No problem with noise, despite location next to pool & bar. We met many people who have been staying here for 20-30 years. Maid service very good, especially Sherry. Small problems like slow-draining bathtub & sink were corrected immediately. Ricardo & another man (I don't recall his name)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 3LouMagoo
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 3LouMagoo, Thank you very much for your great review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Thanks, in particular, for mentioning Sherry and what a good job she does cleaning the rooms. Sherry, along with Carmen and Joan, take great pride in making sure guest rooms are clean, well supplied and feel comfortable in order for you...

Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewed 17 February 2016

I had a single story bungalow at the far end of the property, with a gorgeous view of the Bay. The rooms/buildings are laid out in a way that makes it seem as if you are the only one on the property. The buildings are angled, so even if someone next door is out on their deck, you don't really...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lvLass
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear IvLass, Thank you so much for the wonderful review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it and am so glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us. As you said, our room layout offers privacy and our grounds are peaceful and quiet. At the same time, we are just a few minutes...

Woodcliff Lake, New Jersey
Reviewed 15 February 2016

If you are looking for a really, laid back, kick off your shoes & relax kind of place with beautiful gardens & Simpson Bay views, then book this resort. Friendly, helpful staff is a definite plus also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anthony J
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anthony J, Wow, I can't thank you enough for your excellent review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. Your description of us as "laid back, kick off your shoes & relax kind of place" is so dead on accurate I can't believe we haven't thought to use that in our advertising messages to guests before. You certainly hit the nail...

Wichita, Kansas
Reviewed 3 February 2016

Very friendly staff. Some rooms need to be updated. Good location. Some guests were noisy at bedtime overall experience good will return. Hideaway restaurant on premises served excellent quality and reasonable prices.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edith K
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Edith K, Thank you for the positive review you posted about the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. We are just in the final stages of a complete renovation of all of our guest rooms so you will definitely have an updated one on your return. I'm glad you liked the food at the restaurant too. We just...

Ankeny
Reviewed 2 February 2016

We had a wonderful time at The Summit! The staff was very friendly and helpful. They helped set up our car rental and answered many questions. The bar and restaurant were both excellent. Not only was the staff friendly, but the prices were also right. The room was spacious. Great water pressure in the shower. The kitchen was a little...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iowacouple2016
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear iowacouple2016, Thank you very much for posting such a nice review of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I appreciate your 5 star rating too! I'm glad you had a wonderful time staying with us and really want to thank you for mentioning our friendly and helpful staff. They are the key to our success as they try to make each...

Canada
Reviewed 29 January 2016

We stayed at the summit for Two nights and had a super relaxing and enjoyable time. This place is close to a casino, mullet bay beach, restaurants so its just right. Great view from the deck area and pool of the bay....Rooms are spacious ( a little dated ) but clean..and restaurant at the summit makes good drinks and decent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark B, Thank you very much for your review of the Summit on TripAdvisor and for calling us "A Cool Place" in your title. I really appreciate it. I don't know that anyone has ever called us "cool" before but I think the description is a good one. We are a friendly place, thanks to a staff that has...

NY
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Our stay at the Summit was excellent! The view from our room was breathtaking. Sweetest and friendly staff, very accommodating. Peacfully quite but a five minute walk from restaurants, supermarkets, a casino, and the beach!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
BruceSXM, Owner at The Summit Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David C, Thank you very much for your kind words, and 5 star rating, of the Summit on TripAdvisor. I really appreciate it. Your review is short and sweet but hit all the highlights that make the Summit so special. We have a great staff, fantastic views and are close to everything. I hope we have a chance to...

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (119)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (31)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (7)
Viewed
Deluxe Water View Room (42)
Viewed
Pool (12)
Viewed
Premium Water View Room (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)
Viewed
Two-Bedroom Villa (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cupecoy Bay
11.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 7 in Oyster Pond
688 reviews
1.7 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
2.7 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.4 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
1.3 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Beautiful, clean, quiet property with a spectacular view overlooking Simpson Bay Lagoon. Close to the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife on the island but tucked away with lots of privacy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Summit Hotel

Address: Jordan Road # 42 | The Lowlands, Cupecoy Bay, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Cupecoy Bay
Price Range: RM481 - RM1,317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Summit Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, West Indies, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Summit Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Summit Hotel Cupecoy Bay
Summit Cupecoy Bay
Cupecoy Bay Summit
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Summit Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Summit Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Find one as close to waterfront as you can for the excellent view”
 of 5 bubbles jbmoore11, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for an upper unit with a water view.”
 of 5 bubbles jamesdC1017TD, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask for 2B for best view”
 of 5 bubbles 957angelicaw, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Room 6A had a great view and easy access to the parking lot.”
  • Lagoon view looking towards Sandy Ground and Marigot
 of 5 bubbles DannyL237, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Keep in mind the views are of the lake on the island, not the ocean - still beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles lizh914, 25 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay