We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Save
Share
D2512, Waterberg Wilderness, Otjiwarongo 00100 Namibia
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices above are provided by partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and do not include all taxes and fees. Please see our partners for full details.
Traveller (213)
Room & Suite (28)
Pool & Beach (15)

About

#5 of 19 Speciality lodging in Otjiwarongo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The buildings of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge shelter in a long valley in the midst of the Waterberg mountain range. Built from red Waterberg sandstone they nestle under enormous old trees. The atmosphere in the mature, well-kept garden with its two pavilions, many cool and shady places and an immured spring water basin lined by giant bamboo is idyllic.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Pool
Free breakfast
Hiking
Mosquito net
Non-smoking hotel
Laundry service
Internet
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Clothes rack
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, Afrikaans
258Reviews1Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 70
  • 101
  • 47
  • 21
  • 19
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Safe and Healthy Travel wrote a review Jul 2021
Hellendoorn, The Netherlands228 contributions106 helpful votes
I have stayed here for 3 nights. Did some hiking in the area and really loved the Waterberg and it's history. I stayed in a cabin overlooking the Kalahari desert and had my own private small swimming pool. I really enjoyed it a lot after spending lots of time in my rooftoptent.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2021Trip type: Travelled solo
Helpful
Share
DRK28 wrote a review Jan 2020
Surrey, UK57 contributions38 helpful votes
The road in is very poor indeed and needs maintenance. The rooms are rather tired. There is no air conditioning or fan and no netting on the windows which means you can’t open the windows at night. The staff are friendly but seem to spend a lot of time chatting in loud voices outside your room. At one point they were shouting at each other in a very unprofessional way. The food is just about OK but the rhino safari really excellent. Not very good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Responded 21 Feb 2020
As we mention in our information brochure handed to every guest upon arrival, we have solar power. It supports hair dryers, shavers and battery chargers, but not air cons. In the process of our annual renovations the rooms will be equipped with fans and broken mosquito screens will be replaced. Loud chatting in front of the guests is not acceptable. We forwarded your complaint to our lodge manager. In January we received good rains which we really needed after this terrible drought we experienced. However, the rain also causes damage to our roads. However, our maintenance team is making sure that cars can pass without a problem. Great to hear that you enjoyed your encounter with some of the white rhinos in our private nature reserve. Best regards from Waterberg Wilderness
Read more
Rubyrose865 wrote a review Jan 2020
Solihull, United Kingdom64 contributions34 helpful votes
We were recommended by friends to spend some time in Waterberg Plateau as a stopover en route to Windhoek. However feel very strongly that we chose the wrong place to stay. We booked a econo chalet for a night for £96, which included dinner and breakfast. The scenery and location are both fabulous with spectacular views from the chalet and restaurant, but it all ends there. The place is run on a shoestring despite the cost of staying here. Our chalet was a tent with a wooden floor, which is absolutely fine, as we had stayed in a few tented rooms during our stay in Namibia, however the others were quite luxurious and spotlessly clean ( similar cost or cheaper). This tent was extremely basic and dirty. There was nowhere to put anything except a dusty table, the mosquito net had holes in, bed uncomfortable and hard, towels threadbare and no fridge. The advert specifies a fan, there was a fan, however it was a fan standing on the floor and such a short lead, was only effective from one side of the bed. The cold water was so hot in the en suite bathroom, it was not possible to wash your hands. And it gets worse - we decamped to some filthy dirty rickety sun loungers around the swimming pool further up the valley to try and cool down ( it was 36 C) pool was too dirty to swim in. On our arrival back at our tent, there was fire lit at the rear of the tent, to heat up the hot water - we couldn’t believe what it, what with the cold water too hot to wash in.... unfortunately we had left the bathroom window open too and the bathroom and tent were all smoky. The restaurant has fabulous views of the plateau and is a lovely place to watch the sun go down, however it is so hot in there and we were served boiling hot soup as a starter ( no choice). Food was not great but not terrible. The breakfast buffet was sparse with little choice. We were so disappointed with our last nights stay in Namibia after staying in some absolutely fabulous places and would definitely not recommend this place to anyone
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Responded 13 Jan 2020
We regret that you did not enjoy your stay. May we add that you were staying at the Waterberg Valley Lodge, our budget accommodation. The nine tented chalets are all the same, in size, layout, equipment and price. We recommend to place the fan at the foot end of the bed and switch it to auto-turn. The other complaints we forwarded to our lodge manager. Kindly note that we renovate and exchange all worn towels, mosquito nets etc. on a regular basis. Pity that you did not mention any of our activities, such as the five nature trails incl. "botanical garden", our History Path, the guided Plateau hikes and Rhino drives & trackings... Best regards from the Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
4rochellew wrote a review Nov 2019
Leeds, United Kingdom33 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
We were traveling in Southern Africa..in a particularly small camper van. After spending far too many nights in this vehicle (1 night) we decided to treat ourselves to a bit of decidence. This lodge did not fail to impress. It offered a truly wild experience without missing out on any of our creature comforts. Our accommodation was visited by cute little rock dassies, and the midnight sounds of the howler monkeys. The views from the plateau were mesmerising, while almost being able to see the curvature of the earth. Topped off nicely with the restaurants finest refreshing rock shandy beverage!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Responded 3 Dec 2019
Thank you very much for the five stars :-) Although we do not see any decadence in our Wilderness Lodge - if it really was the Wilderness Lodge, that is, because the rock dassies seem to prefer to "visit" our Plateau Lodge... Greetings from the whole Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve team - including its four-legged members ;-)
Read more
Sarhas wrote a review Oct 2019
Southampton, United Kingdom14 contributions
We loved our one night stay! If I had known what to expect we would have stayed longer! Our family lodge was large, cool, full of character and ready for our arrival with tea and coffee. The staff are super friendly and we were very pleased to get afternoon tea, coffee and cake! We enjoyed a couple of walks in the tranquil setting surrounded by nature. We saw dassies, baboons, dik dik, mongooses, warthogs and much more. We highly recommend to anyone visiting Namibia. The lodge is very conscious of the environment and all energy was provided by solar panels so no a/c, mini bar or fridge but we did not feel the need to have any more than we had. Showers were plenty hot enough and we also had option of a bath.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Caroline R, Inhaber at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Responded 29 Oct 2019
We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Should you come again, we recommend to join us for a Plateau Hike with our guide introducing you to the plants and explaining how they were (and still are) used by the local Herero people for several purposes. Or go on a Rhino Drive, experiencing these impressive pachyderms on eye level and as close as can be :-) Kind regards from Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$105 - US$240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
NamibiaOtjozondjupa RegionOtjiwarongo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
20
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Nearby attractions include Nederduitsch Hervormde Kerk van Afrika (1.0 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free breakfast, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Casa Forno Restaurant, Crocodile Ranch, and Bohemia: Books & Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Waterberg Wilderness Lodge located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of Otjiwarongo.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and Afrikaans.