We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Katse Lodge

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Katse Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 104: English reviews
Start your review of Katse Lodge
 Click to rate
Windhoek, Namibia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The view is magnificent for sure! But the camping area looks very improvised: there are no marked areas for campers, so everybody can just put themselves wherever they want. Toilet, shower, water taps and places for dish washing are located in "abandoned" block of the hotel close to the lawn area where people camp. It's a bit weird to see...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Bruno I
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The drive through to the Katse Lodge from the Northern Lesotho border is exceptionally beautiful, once you are out of the towns. The roads are of good quality although very winding and steep in parts, so low gears need to be selected. The scenery is glorious, similar to Switzerland on the way to the dam and there are plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandy r
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Katse Lodge, situated approximately 5 kilometres from the Katse Dam has the most magnificent lookout of the Katse Dam. Waking up in the morning and being greeted by shimmering water with a boat on the water was a sight to behold. The hotel is a little tired and in need of some TLC but this did not detract from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maureen B
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We stayed over at Katse Lodge for a night whilst travelling through Lesotho. The accommodation was adequate, though pretty steep when compared to other destinations in SA. There was a problem in finding the booking that we had made, but thankfully there was another room available to sleep in. Our accommodation was in the main building, which used to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Waldo M
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Waldo , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We apologise for the poor maintenance at our property and will definitely address this with our management in charge.We value your support and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Warm Regards Management & Team Katse Lodge.

Bloemfontein, South Africa
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

A very worthwhile place to stop over at in the deep mountainous part of Lesotho. A good but challenging tarred road leading from Hlotse (Leribe) over numerous bends and passes but more than worth the while. At the lodge, friendly service, excellent food, kleen and spacious rooms. Quiet and peaceful.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PaulHWessels
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Paul , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback , we value your support and look forward to welcoming you back real soon. Warm regards Management & Team Katse Lodge

Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2017

After a long journey on rough gravel roads the Lodge was a welcome sight. Although we arrived at dusk & they were hosting a conference we were offered a room in the dormatory block. Basic with shared toilets & showers but as we were the only people in the block it did not cause us problems. The bed was comfortable...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Vivienne w
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Vivienne , thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay. We value your support and look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Warm regards Management & Team Katse Lodge

Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

At the Katse lodge we didn't get the same friendly service as at Mohale. We stayed at a self catering house 86C . Not up to standard. Although we were 4 people there was only 2 knives and 3 wine glasses. Aircon didn't work. Both sides stay people permanently and the one had a party till 2am, so we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lomien
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Lomien , Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Katse Lodge , we take pride in our staff and facilities and your feedback helps us improve where lacking . We will have one of our senior managers review the stock in the chalets . Thank you again for your valued support and we look...

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Location is excellent. Accommodation was average and needs to be attended to. For example basins in two rooms did not drain. However, was clean and served the purpose of the one night stopover. Food was good and staff were cheerful and helpful. Beautiful place to take photographs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Sharon , Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Katse Lodge , we take pride in our staff and facilities and your feedback helps us improve where lacking . We will have one of our senior managers review the maintenance . Thank you again for your valued support and we look forward to welcoming...

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Not even the majestic mountain views and breathtaking scenery can rescue this lodge. Facilities in major need of an upgrade and staff completely disinterested. Our self-catering unit was not well equipped, furniture was broken and worn and garden overgrown with weeds - really sad

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxwilG
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Maxwil , Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Katse Lodge , we take pride in our staff and facilities and your feedback helps us improve where lacking . We will have one of our senior managers review the maintenance & garden services comments. Thank you again for your valued support and we look...

Alberton, South Africa
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Our family stayed in one the self catering houses for 5 nights and found the area beautiful. the houses have potential and need some extra attention to detail to make them really great for a family holiday. Orion group needs to spend some money getting it up to standard or sell to a group that would actually do the job...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank robN7434AB
Hote1Management, Manager at Katse Lodge, responded to this review

Good Day Rob I trust you are well. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. You insights are invaluable and we thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We do hope that you and your family will return to Katse Lodge very soon. All the best for 2017 Warm Regards Staff and Management...

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (68)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bokong
0.0 km away
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
Mohale Oa Masite Lodge
#1 of 1 in Thaba-Tseka
4 reviews
0.0 km away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#4 of 9 in Maseru
2 reviews
0.0 km away
No photo provided
Hotel Mount Maluti
#1 of 1 in Mohale's Hoek
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Botleng Guest House
Botleng Guest House
#1 of 28 in Maseru
40 reviews
0.0 km away
Phomolo Guest House & Self Catering
0.0 km away
Boikhethelo Guest House
Boikhethelo Guest House
#1 of 1 in Mokhotlong
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Katse Lodge is perfectly positioned atop a saddle, offering incredible panoramic views of the famous Katse Dam, with its surrounding mountains, rocky crags, sparse vegetation and landlocked lakes. The Lodge is an ideal starting point for travelers wishing to explore Lesotho’s mountain kingdom. For the adventurous, drive the robustly constructed alpine roads to Mohale Lodge, and experience the stark desolate landscape with traditional villages, untouched by time. Return to the lodge after a day of exploration and adventure dine in comfort, with unobstructed views of the glimmering waterscape, and then relax in front of the inviting fireplace. Katse Lodge offers genuine warmth and old-fashioned hospitality, making it one of Lesotho’s best-kept secrets. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Katse Lodge

Address: Katse Village, Bokong 333, Lesotho (Formerly Orion Katse Lodge)
Region: Lesotho > Thaba-Tseka District > Bokong
Price Range: RM148 - RM296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Katse Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Katse Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orion Katse Hotel Bokong
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Katse Lodge staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Katse Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Low number rooms are dam facing; make sure you get one!”
sandyr324, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the main hotel with a view of the dam - magnificent views”
MaureenB413, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“All rooms appeared to have a view. Choose a room separate from conference centre but really not a problem.”
sharonsP3472NJ, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room or unit with views on Katse Dam”
MaxwilG, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the lake.”
dmittleman, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisor
Hotels.com
Expedia.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates