About The Seiryu-den In 1913, Seiryu-den was built in front of Kyoto...read more
About The Seiryu-den In 1913, Seiryu-den was built in front of Kyoto Kitano Tenmangu Shrine as the Kyoto Branch of Japan Federation of Martial Arts’ training gym. In 1947, the building was moved and became the martial arts training gym for police officers named the “Heian-dojo”. Later, it was opened to the general public and many young people practiced martial arts there. In 1998, the Kyoto Prefectural Office decided to close the Heian-dojo, dismantling it and putting the pieces in storage. Afterwards, Shoren-in recognizing the historic cultural importance of the building decided to rebuild it at the top of Mt.Higashiyama as Seiryu-den.