We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Slip Inn Cafe

Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
+64 3-574 2345
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent44%
  • Very good34%
  • Average12%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“pizza” (27 reviews)
“mussels” (117 reviews)
“salad” (25 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Cafe, Seafood, European, Soups, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Just popped in while we waited for our day on the water for coffee and a cheese and spinach muffin. Sat and watched the boating activity while we enjoyed both. Well worth it.

1  Thank Owen S
Reviewed 4 days ago

Recommend this place for great water views of harbour and if with your significant other or on a date I highly recommend the seafood platter for two-get it with green spicey curry for added flare!!

1  Thank Nancy R
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great meal, sooo fresh seafood. We ordered the white wine & garlic mussels and the smoked salmon... yuuuum! Friendly & genuine service, the russian lady (sorry I forgot her name) made us feel so welcome. I'm glad we chose this restaurant for our last day...More

1  Thank lmontnz
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We turned up early for breakfast as we were off tramping for the day and had a 9.30am pickup. We sat on the decking overlooking the marina which was lovely. However, the service was a bit slow and we also had to clean our own...More

Thank Gail R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Beautiful setting, away from the busy main road, overlooking all the action on the water and the slip. Food was delicious and coffee great. Service was what made the experience though - everyone was smiling and happy and relaxed even in the bustling lunch service!

1  Thank cvpcis
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Perfect spot for mid morning coffee - great coffee and great views over the Sounds. Staff were fine and wifi access available at no cost.

1  Thank R3425KODavid
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Lovely lunch here yesterday. The mussels were amazing! Staff were pleasant and helpful, and it’s a lovely setting too.

1  Thank Sally T
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Felt like eating at KFC. .. IT IS FINGERLICKING GOOD! Had the mussels and was surprised how tasty they are. Steamed in whitewhine.. Mhhhh

2  Thank DerBrause
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We organised a birthday cake to be made as it was a friends 50th they brought out a cheesecake with a tea light candle on it the cheesecake was terrible it was a brought one very very dissatisfied they had forgotten to make the cake...More

Thank lurchsta
Cieran T, General Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Hello Lurchsta, Unfortunately our staff made a wrong decision when they realised the chef had not received the memo regarding a cake. We would like to sincerely apologise to you for the way this was handled.

Reviewed 6 October 2017

Recently we were on a girls trip with family - Monday 2nd October. We had a really lovely lunch, could not fault the food and service. Our Waitress was a young lady by the name of "Fern". She was so lovely and pleasant, interacted with...More

1  Thank KKClayton
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Mussel Pot
493 reviews
.33 km away
Apples For Charlotte
75 reviews
.29 km away
Captain's Daughter
174 reviews
.26 km away
Nearby Attractions
Pelorus Mail Boat
282 reviews
.41 km away
Pelorus Eco Adventures
131 reviews
.46 km away
Greenshell Mussel Daily Cruise
129 reviews
.03 km away
Pelorus Sound Water Taxi & Cruises
24 reviews
.10 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Slip Inn Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, View
Open Hours
Sunday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
8:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Friday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
8:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Havelock
  • Phone Number: +64 3-574 2345
  • E-mail
Description
Slip Inn Cafe is the only waterfront cafe in Marlborough. We are renowned for our relaxing cafe atmosphere, stunning views, friendly crew and for our extensive offering of tasty house-made fare, served all day, breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizza, platters and nibbles, many mussel dishes to choose from, gluten and dairy free and vegetarian options and a huge selection of drinks to enjoy featuring many local wines.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing