We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
035742345
Website
Today
08:00 - 22:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Thu 08:00 - 20:00
Fri - Wed 08:00 - 22:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

467 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 450: English reviews
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went to the Slip inn after poor service at another place. We received excellent service from the wait staff - thank you. We sat outside and watched all the boats come and go, which we all enjoyed. The food was delicious and well worth it, service continued to be great throughout the time we were there.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwiintheus
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just the spot to stop between Nelson & Picton for food in a very pleasant atmosphere. Long opening hours & just what we needed on Easter Friday. Thank you for being open. Enjoyed the green lip mussel chowder. So definitely worth the drive of the main road. Give it a go!

Helpful?
Thank Cat D
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I travel round the South Island of New Zealand a lot and generally find the service to be friendly and excellent. It is extremely rare to find bad service but yesterday was the first time I have encountered what can only be termed hostile service. I think very carefully before giving a negative review as I know it can have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Declan O
Seneca, South Carolina
Level Contributor
456 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stopped in for some Green-Lipped Mussels that everyone said we need to try. They are apparently the featured item in this part of NZ. This place is right on the water and the wait staff was very helpful. We tried an order and they were outstanding! I'm glad we tried some.

Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
Dubbo, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped in for a quick lunch in the Mussel capital of New Zealand. Thoroughly enjoyed our lunch, seafood chowder and smoked salmon hotplate. Wow! Loved it! Service was great and staff very helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank sylviajdunn
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking for a seafood lunch by the water. One of the locals suggested this restaurant. It is built right by the Havelock Marina and has nice outdoor seating by the water. When you walk in you just pick any table and then the server comes to take your order. We ordered the green lipped mussels with chorizo and... More 

Helpful?
Thank phishears
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great location and feel to this cafe/ restaurant. Staff great and menu looked good but what else can you have in Havelock other than mussels! We had three bowls each with different sauce by far the best was the chorizo and tomato. The garlic and white wine was far too salty and the coriander and cream was too subtle to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MHIChris
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Havelock claims to be the Green Lipped Mussel Capital of the world and after lunch at the Slip Inn, I wouldn't argue with them. A great meal of fresh mussels washed down by a beer and coffee in front of the fire afterwards was a fantastic way to spend a couple of hours on a wet and windy day. It... More 

Helpful?
Thank David M
Picton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have been supporters and regulars at Slip Inn for many years, and have always enjoyed the service and great menu options. After changing hands the new owners kept the original menu, but we did unfortunately receive some food that had been somewhat under cooked. When brought to the attention of staff matters were swiftly rectified. Sadly and more recently... More 

Helpful?
Thank Patrick F
Cieran T, General Manager at Slip Inn Cafe, responded to this review

Hello Patrick, Thanks for taking the time to review the Slip Inn and we are sorry that you were not happy with your latest visit. We have had the same owners for the past two years, and the whole team strive to provide excellent service and dining experience. We are disappointed that you didn’t try something from our new menu... More 

Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Entertainment at launch ramp side seeing the various "styles of entry". This is Green Lip Mussel Central and the dishes here are superb. Enjoy

Helpful?
1 Thank Erik B

Travellers who viewed Slip Inn Cafe also viewed

Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 
Havelock, Marlborough Region
Havelock, Marlborough Region
 

Been to Slip Inn Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$21
Cuisine
Bar, Cafe, Seafood, Soups, New Zealand, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 22:00
Monday
08:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 22:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 22:00
Saturday
08:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Havelock Marina | H, Havelock, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  South Island  >  Marlborough Region  >  Havelock
  • Phone Number: 035742345
Description
Slip Inn Cafe is the only waterfront cafe in Marlborough. We are renowned for our relaxing cafe atmosphere, stunning views, friendly crew and for our extensive offering of tasty house-made fare, served all day, breakfast, lunch, dinner, pizza, platters and nibbles, many mussel dishes to choose from, gluten and dairy free and vegetarian options and a huge selection of drinks to enjoy featuring many local wines.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Slip Inn Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?