We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Sun Inn

Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
01544-32-76-77
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good20%
  • Average3%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (11 reviews)
“steak” (11 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Really tasty, freshly-cooked, home-made food. Yum! The small menu is classic pub food, with several specials including a curry, fish, quiche and soup. We were very impressed by our tasty main courses which were really well cooked, and so we managed a desert too- it...More

Thank Curatorgirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great friendly staff , made to feel very welcome, ordered a burger and two fish and chips very nice and hot, service top notch thank you very much well worth a visit

Thank Jonathan D
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Have stayed in Winforton for the last week on a family holiday. Would highly recommend The Sun Inn. The food is fantastic and the owners are really friendly. Would definitely recommend the fish and chip night, chips are wonderful. Also try the beef burger, definitely...More

Thank jolea2468
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

So happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Winforton and The Sun Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very good value for money and excellent quality food. All the staff were friendly and attentive and our dog had a special treat of crackling and pork which she slept it off in the garden in the sun while we finished our lunch.

Thank Chris H
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, so happy to hear you all enjoyed your Sunday lunch, the staff all fell in love with your lovely dog ! Look forward to see you again soon Wendy & Staff

Reviewed 10 June 2018

From beginning to end the experience of the star in was superb. Meals were larger than expected and the service was superb. We would definitely go again.

Thank Wendy5063
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank You for your review, hope to see you soon Wendy

Reviewed 4 June 2018

We called in on our return from the Hay Festival. We were looking for a meal but as it was 9.00pm we were not too optimistic. The Landlord explained that they normally stop serving at that time but he would check if the chef was...More

1  Thank Martin E
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi, thank you for your review. It's lovely that you took the time to pass on your experience to others. Glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Hope you return soon Wendy

Reviewed 1 June 2018

We have been visiting The Sun Inn for the last five years. It's where we dine the night we arrive for the Hay Festival. We have always been pleased with food and service. The pub/ restaurant has changed hands since we were last there and...More

Thank highmyope1955
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you appreciate the changes we have made, and more importantly that you enjoyed your meals. We may now be a family friendly local pub, but we use wherever possible local produce and make all meals...More

Reviewed 31 May 2018

A lovely village pub, home cooked food , freshly cooked to order. Had lovely soup with flower pot bread ....fish and chips

1  Thank angieswaves
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2018

Thank You for your review. Happy to hear you enjoyed your meal, and hope you return soon

Reviewed 29 May 2018

Poor service, disorganised, shoddy and cold. Made Faulty Towers look like the Hilton. Took two and a half hours to get a starter and a main course. Took so long the guy in charge obviously thought we had finished and asked if we would like...More

1  Thank Jeff T
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi, Thank you for your review. On the night in question we were under staffed, but had a large amount of bookings so decided to honour these by keeping the kitchen open. We had baked the bread in-house that day, and have no idea why...More

Reviewed 29 May 2018 via mobile

We have visited before for Sunday lunch where the service was friendly and good was lovely. Sadly, not today. We put our order in for three starters and four mains at 19:20 and we ended up leaving the establishment at 21: 30. Took forty minutes...More

1  Thank Melissa E
Wendy E, Owner at The Sun Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2018

Hi Thnk you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m only sorry that you experience was not up to your expectations. We were under staffed during your visit, but as we had a large number of bookings, we decided to keep the kitchen...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Winforton Hotels
Rhydspence Inn
167 reviews
4.83 km away
The Swan at Hay
532 reviews
8.58 km away
The Burton Hotel
242 reviews
9.56 km away
The Three Cocks Coaching Inn
195 reviews
15.47 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Castlefields
272 reviews
1.88 km away
The Tram Inn
421 reviews
2.87 km away
The Boat Inn
177 reviews
2.93 km away
Nearby Attractions
Whitney Bridge
79 reviews
3.13 km away
Arthur's Stone
46 reviews
4.44 km away
Oakchurch Farm Shop
52 reviews
8.26 km away
Hay On Wye Thursday Market Day
59 reviews
8.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanna G
29 October 2016|
Answer
Response from AllyandBarry | Reviewed this property |
Hi. The loos are both on the ground floor and there are no steps involved. I don't believe there is a specific disabled toilet. A
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
6:30 PM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 11:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Winforton, Winforton HR3 6EA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Herefordshire  >  Winforton
  • Phone Number: 01544-32-76-77
  • E-mail
Description
The Sun Inn is a Freehold Public House. Family friendly. Local Real Ales. Fresh Homemade Meals Available. Teas and Coffees and Free WiFi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing