We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Plume Cafe

$$ - $$$, Cafe, European
Matakana Wharf Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
+64 9-422 7915
Certificate of Excellence
All photos (42)
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent57%
  • Very good20%
  • Average12%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“brunch” (9 reviews)
“bread” (23 reviews)
“club sandwich” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
New Zealand, Cafe, European, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Matakana Wharf Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Plume Cafe
Plenty of parking space and GREAT OUTDOOR SEATING - ENJOY THE SUN!
Delicious Breads and Pastries baked on site - friendly Bakers !
Great Food, Coffee, Wine while you relax indoors or outdoors,A LOCAL!
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Lovely cafe, really good food and presentation and great staff. We arrived on a busy Saturday but got a table and were quickly served. The staff were attentive and very obliging. Our meals were delicious and we highly recommend this cafe. We will definitely be...More

Thank Lynda M
Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

Awesome setting, staff are helpful & friendly , nothing was a problem for them, add to a dish or take something out of it ! Great food & the coffees . I bought a ciabatta loaf which was also excellent . Only comment they need...More

Thank sylvia g
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Hi Sylvia, Thank you for this lovely review! Yes I do agree too about the lighter lunches as I too am one of those women and shall definitely take up with Chef! Look forward to seeing you at Plume, again, soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had breakfast here - coffee and freshly baked pastries - must be the best in Matakana.Staff friendly.

Thank Lois G
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thank you Lois - we appreciate this review! All Cafe Staff will be very pleased to read this. We do look forward to seeing you at Plume Cafe again, soon!

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great service and food alot of easy parking and nice quite location with alot of different seating places inside and outside

Thank jrs612014
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

THANK YOU jrs612014 for this lovely review - we are so glad you found our food and service to be "great" - i shall definitely pass on this review to all our staff! Thank you, once again!

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We had lunch at Plume Cafe and we're really spoiled for choice with all the luscious food options. Recommend coming here hungry and leaving space for one of the delicious pastries.More

Thank Marksonia
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you Marksonia for taking the time to put down this review - we appreciate the same. We are so glad you liked our food - and yes a good recommendation to come to Plume hungry - after all you just cannot pass up on...More

Reviewed 10 February 2018 via mobile

It was hot BUT not enough coffee. Sorry guys no flavour. Disappointed. Location good outlook excellent but will not be back.More

Thank Bucksbeach
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so sorry to read this review and to read that you were disappointed with your coffee. OUr Barista would have gladly made you another Coffee to your requirement if you had only asked! All our coffees are double shot at all times so...More

Reviewed 31 January 2018

We went there for breakfast, you can pick any cake, they are really delicious; while cappuccino was not so nice. During summer the garden is a great option. The shop is mainly a bakery so you can also pick-up some very nice bread.More

Thank ippotaz
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you Ippotaz for taking the time to put down this review on Plume Café. My Baristas are quite heart-broken to read this and would have gladly made you another coffee if you had gone to the coffee machine and explained as to what was...More

Reviewed 16 January 2018 via mobile

This is a busy place with great food. French inspired and great portions. We enjoyed the place and garden restaurant

Thank Ikat58
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you so much Ikat, once again, for this lovely review of our Cafe - so glad you enjoyed the food and the portions too! And our lovely garden! Look forward to seeing you again, soon, at Plume!

Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Weird food, bad coffee 553608333 We came here because it was listed online that they had vegan options. The guy behind the counter said the only option was a filo parcel, so we ordered it. It was nice that they attempted a vegan option but...More

Thank Stace_the_ace_25
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Hi Stace - thank you for taking the time to put down this review. You must have come some time in winter when we had our Vegetable Filo Parcel on the menu - some time before September? We now have "creamy garlicky mushrooms on toast"...More

Reviewed 11 January 2018 via mobile

Good breakfast menu and good coffee. I had delicious French toast. My partner had the corn fritters.

Thank cathyfromwelly
Farida C, Owner at Plume Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Thank you Cathy - it is so lovely to read you enjoyed the coffee and the meals at Plume Café! Would love to see you the next time you are up our way! Happy Holidays though they are coming to an end now!

Nearby HotelsSee all Matakana Hotels
Matakana Motel
163 reviews
.19 km away
Rosemount Homestead
1 review
3.56 km away
Warkworth Lodge
84 reviews
7.20 km away
Snells Beach Motel
162 reviews
7.58 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Matakana Village Pub
353 reviews
.10 km away
Matakana Market Kitchen
571 reviews
.07 km away
Rusty Pelican Restaurant & Pizzeria
275 reviews
.06 km away
Nearby Attractions
Matakana Beach Outfitters
98 reviews
.15 km away
Matakana Village
367 reviews
.10 km away
Saltwater Eco
58 reviews
.42 km away
Blue Adventures
63 reviews
.15 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Plume Cafe staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$12 - US$17
Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Waitstaff, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
8:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Matakana Wharf Road, Matakana, Auckland 0985, New Zealand
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland  >  Matakana
  • Phone Number: +64 9-422 7915
A delightful "local" Matakana Café in the heart of the village with ample parking - breakfast, brunch,lunch and counter food as well as freshly baked breads and pastries from our on-site bakery, great coffees and wines from our hand-tended local vineyard Runner Duck Estate
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing
Stay in the know!
Get the latest updates on restaurants and more in Sebastopol.
Join TripAdvisor