We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

China Orchids

$$ - $$$
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
20 High Street, Cullompton EX15 1AA, England (Formerly Cina Orchids)
+44 1884 33336
Website
Today
17:30 - 23:30
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 17:30 - 22:00
Tue - Thu 17:00 - 22:30
Fri - Sat 17:30 - 23:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

52 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Wellington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Fantastic food and service. The aubergine and hot bean dish was especially yummy. We have had takeaways from here before but this was our first meal in. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After booking on line to go today at 18:00pm I did not even get a response but we turned up and a young girl in the Takeaway said O that's normal that I did not get a response and she showed us to a table with Menus, and returned to answer the phone in the takeaway, after over 15min I... More 

Helpful?
Thank seanread1
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your meal here. our booking on line system has a technical problem on the day so the system did not send you a auto response as it should do normally. I think you came in not long after we opened and the girl is busy taking take away order while my supervisor was... More 

Hockley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food was not very good , sweet and sour chicken balls soggy and the outside Burnt . Looked like cooked in old oil , the rest of the takeaway was uneatable

Helpful?
Thank Tony S
Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2016

Have had a meal in here before as a sit down meal, but for my mother-in-laws birthday we had a takeaway. It lived up to expectations, tasted as nice as a sit down meal and couldn't fault it. generous portions, just the right amount of flavour. highly recommend it

Helpful?
1 Thank 94Sue94
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

Thank you. Just to let you know our online delivery system is live now. Delivery service is available Sunday to Thursday only within 4 miles radius. More 

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

This wasn't going to be our first choice but we were so glad we came! They managed to accommodate our party! We had a round table which meant no was stuck on an end, we could all hear each other and the service was very prompt! We didn't have to wait too long for our food which was delicious, beautifully... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alison080558
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 stars rating. It was a pleasure to server people around here for the last 13 years....we opened in 2003. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Came here with a large group. Even though it was busy we weren't left waiting for our food at all and everything tasted lovely. There's also a great drink selection. The atmosphere was great and all the staff were super friendly and helpful. Didn't want to leave! Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank Timv2334
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

Ordered a takeaway tonight was very disappointed. Food was cold & extremely greasy! Also things were missing. I called the restaurant to explain they didn't seem to be bothered! Put the whole lot into the BIN was actually unedable!!!

Helpful?
Thank georgede-vey
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

I did iinvestagation to you recent complain...my supervisor inform me you order the take away on the phone, you were late for your pick up then you did not have enough cash and need to go the cash point, so by the time you actually you got your meal, will be 25 minutes after we cooked it. So the take... More 

devon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2016

Nothing overly exciting about this restaurant. Food not as good as another local chinese restaurant but ok. Poor Atmosphere. Real shame as could be lovely with a bit of effort

Helpful?
1 Thank kaznal
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

I am not sure how many restaurant you have been and what Chinese style of food you had tasted in the past. With you comment about, I cannot see what's not good about our Chinese served in my restaurant compare to the other one you said. Referring to poor atmosphere, what are you looking for, a overcrowded restaurant in small... More 

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Staying with a friend in Cullompton i fancied a takeaway, something I've not done in the UK in a number of years. My friend said this was a good option so after looking on TA, and seeing the reviews we placed a telephone order. Except, except the delivery service (subject to £2 charge even 750 metres away) seemingly isn't available... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank theabbotpostie
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

First of all, the reason we do not do delivery on Friday and Saturday because we are restaurant and not just a normal take away. Our main concern is to serve our restaurant as well as take away too, we will not be able to keep the quality of our restaurant standard if we do take away during the busy... More 

Cullompton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2016

The is the 2nd time we have used his restaurant for our take aways. The first was lovely we couldn't fault it so decided to go back again this week and wasn't impressed. We always have the same meal but I really didn't enjoy my meal. I ordered sweet and sour chicken balls it had a bad taste (not the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynsey P
ChinaOrchids, General Manager at China Orchids, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on the take away meal you had. I am sorry you did not enjoy your chicken balls, as we used 100% meat more expensive chicken at our place, it is firmer (not hard) than the 80% chicken which most take away used. Everyone has the different level taste to the sweetness of the sweet and... More 

Travellers who viewed China Orchids also viewed

 
Cullompton, Devon
 

Been to China Orchids? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Chinese, Asian, Contemporary
Meals
Dinner
Restaurant features
Highchairs Available, Delivery, Takeout, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Groups, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:30 - 22:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 22:30
Wednesday
17:00 - 22:30
Thursday
17:00 - 22:30
Friday
17:30 - 23:30
Saturday
17:30 - 23:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 20 High Street, Cullompton EX15 1AA, England (Formerly Cina Orchids)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Cullompton
  • Phone Number: +44 1884 33336
Description
We have brought to you the best of the Far East. Our specialties are Cantonese, Peking and Szechuan cuisins'. But we also wanted you to feel that you are dining in a Chinese restaurant in China. So we have decored our restaurant in a way to offer you a pleasant time, added soft Chinese background music and exotic Chinese beer & wine at our Bamboo Bar. Our carefully selected chefs and staff have proven our success by our returning customers and winning awards.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from China Orchids staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?