We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abercrave Inn - CLOSED

145 Heol Tawe | The Abercrave Inn, Abercraf SA9 1XS, Wales
+44 1639 731002
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent47%
  • Very good30%
  • Average14%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (19 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours Closed
CUISINES
British, Pub, Welsh, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
145 Heol Tawe | The Abercrave Inn, Abercraf SA9 1XS, Wales
All Details
Reviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

What can we say really? It was an absolutely amazing meal, the staff were super friendly and attentive. Gorgeous pub with gorgeous surroundings, And a great selection behind the bar and on the shelf. The pub side of the restaurant was absolutely packed so we...More

Thank Danielle K
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Had Sunday lunch and it was really very good. I had garlic mushrooms for starters and my husband had prawn cocktail. A very good choice, the only down side for me was the rather large bread roll the mushrooms were presented on, as I am...More

2  Thank MrsMannering
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

A group of friends visited last week on Tuesday evening was looking forward all day for my meal .meal came was disappointed steak and chips normally comes with peas mushrooms and onion rings nothing and came with very small portions of chips and drinks very...More

1  Thank Beth R
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Attended with family. The staff are a great bunch very friendly and approachable but they could brush up on their service skills. We had to constantly remind them about drinks orders and they even forgot one of our party's starters. Service was also slow. But...More

1  Thank PhilJ_SWales
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

Visited tonight with my family and was very pleased with the food and the service... we all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and certainly will be returning. We have been customers of the George for many years and last time we came to the abercrave was...More

Thank annmariefuge
Reviewed 20 August 2017

First visit for me and the wife,Brie starter was lush sirloin steak and loin pork both meals were excellent finished of with blueberry cheese cake good price good food good .would go again and will ................................................................................................................................................................................................

Thank geoffrey45
Reviewed 6 August 2017

visited Saturday evening haven't been for years. Its very dated, the service was poor, only two drinks but one was wrong. Ordered steak, for £13 each it wasn't much more than a large burger size. Veg came out after we'd started eating. Small portion, no...More

1  Thank julia p
abercrave i, Public Relations Manager at Abercrave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Thank you for your comment. We're in a middle of rebranding. Please give us another try in a couple of weeks and you'll see improvements.

Reviewed 27 July 2017

As part of a large group booking we had to pre-order our food choices...which is fine, sensible and understandable. However it still took nearly 50 mins to get starters, which does seems a bit long considering they knew in advance the order. It then took...More

4  Thank Roy T
Reviewed 19 July 2017

We have recently experienced meals at the Inn but have been disappointed in both cases. The older experienced waiting staff remain superb but the new owners have introduced a menu for those who love loads of meal but not everyone does like it in vast...More

6  Thank Anne A
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

Took the other half for an evening meal last week mid week, and wasn't disappointed. I'd only been here once before about 12 years ago (with good memories), so thought I'd give it another bash. We were seated promptly although we were early, and I...More

3  Thank dixiebuoy
abercrave i, Public Relations Manager at Abercrave Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2017

Thank you! See you soon!

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ancient Briton
466 reviews
1.78 km away
Pen y Cae Inn
712 reviews
2.14 km away
Prices Arms
163 reviews
2.97 km away
Call in coffee shop & fish bar
5 reviews
4.01 km away
Nearby Attractions
Wales Ape and Monkey Sanctuary
270 reviews
1.17 km away
Henrhyd Waterfall
147 reviews
3.02 km away
The National Showcaves Centre for Wales
1,125 reviews
3.53 km away
Waun Uchaf Clay Shooting
5 reviews
2.71 km away
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Average prices
US$12 - US$31
Good for
View, Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 145 Heol Tawe | The Abercrave Inn, Abercraf SA9 1XS, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Powys  >  Abercraf
  • Phone Number: +44 1639 731002
  • E-mail
Description
Country Inn and Restaurant with 11 Rooms all En- Suite and Free Wifi
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing