We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Crab & Lobster Inn

32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
+44 1983 872244
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent35%
  • Very good28%
  • Average17%
  • Poor10%
  • Terrible10%
Travellers talk about
“crab and lobster” (179 reviews)
“mixed grill” (18 reviews)
“fresh seafood” (16 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,248)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,244 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

We were on an 8 mile hike and didn’t arrive until almost 3pm but the place was bustling with atmosphere and happy to serve food from their extensive menu including plenty of meat choices for the non fish eaters, most welcome

Thank Sarah B
Reviewed 4 days ago

Great food, friendly, helpful staff, in the summer months would be lovely to sit outside for a drink and meal, definitely would go there again when visiting the Island.

Thank Beryl13579
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thanks Brenda for your kind words, we did actually have some people sitting outside lunching on Wednesday would you believe! Please pop in again next time you are on the Island. Regards, Phillip

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

Followed the signs through narrow roads to find this hidden gem. Easier to find walking along beach. This is a traditional pub with a good selection of food and drinks. Good real ale selection. Lovely location for a pub and well worth a visit when...More

Thank abbo8
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for finding us and taking the time to tell others, we really do appreciate it. Regards, Phillip

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of 26 of us arrived for a Saturday lunch prior to checking in to Warners hotel just a short walk away. We had pre booked and tables had been set up for us in a separate area to ourselves. The service was prompt...More

2  Thank mikeands
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed our hospitality and look forward to entertaining you in the future. Regards, Phillip

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My family and decided to visit and dine in what use to be a good restaurant. 2 years prior to this visit on 29/12/17 you could guarantee a great service with quality food and certainly value for money!! Well in 2 years that have passed...More

Thank Maidstone K
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am sorry that your experience was not all that you had hoped for. In the six weeks that we have been open in our present form, this is the only complaint that i have received regarding portion sizes. I apologise for the fact that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I’ve heard lots about the restaurant and was excited to visit but from the first few steps through the door I felt uncomfortable and in the way of the staff having a chat. It sets the hole experience off to a bad start, a warm...More

1  Thank WhiskyWood
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am sorry that your visit got off to a bad start, this obviously flags up a training need, which is being addressed. I hope that this will not put you off visiting again in the future. Regards, Phillip

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The accommodation was lovely, clean and very comfortable. Unfortunately the food let it down, lovely menu however waited 50 minutes for luke warm food and the guy who old guy who served us was quite rude sometimes. Please note if you stay here over New...More

Thank 854skyw
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your comments and big apologies from me if I appeared rude, which would never be my intention. We did, over the New Year period experience some staff shortages through illness and this did have an impact on service, however, the point that you...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Called in for a light bite & drink on a rainy / blowy day. Friendly staff, fair selection of food at reasnoable price.

Thank martin b
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The new opening was much looked forward to but seriously lacked quality in the food. The lobster bisque was fundamentally tomato soup and cold. The dressed crab salad was very mean on crab, lacked lemon and potatoes were forgotten. The lady next to us seemed...More

Thank B8308LZsteve
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

I am sorry that the quality of your food and service was lower than your expectation. We sell a lot of Crab and Lobster Bisque and get very few complaints, so I am very surprised by your comments. I do apologise that you feel that...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good meal with 8 of us sitting down. Good quality of food - can recomend the crab. Shame lobster was off menu. Sunday roast was good. Lot of changes to menu due to demand. Service was good given number of people there. Would say though...More

Thank VPK25
crabandlobster, Manager at The Crab & Lobster Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Thanks for your comments on New Year's Eve. It is a pity that we did run out of Lobster, but we sold so much over the New Year period and I think that next year we will run New Year's Eve differently, inasmuch as not...More

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 116 hotels in Isle of Wight
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
1,302 reviews
.41 km away
Priory Bay Hotel
426 reviews
3.81 km away
Seaview Hotel
467 reviews
5.00 km away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
255 reviews
5.97 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen
377 reviews
.10 km away
Lockslane Contemporary Bistro
244 reviews
1.38 km away
Lifeboat View
248 reviews
.77 km away
The Old Village Inn Steak and Ale House
286 reviews
1.40 km away
Nearby Attractions
Sally's Riding School
301 reviews
.24 km away
Bembridge Lifeboat Station
428 reviews
.92 km away
Brading Roman Villa
506 reviews
5.64 km away
Wight Karting
1,036 reviews
5.65 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Diydad
22 February 2016|
Answer
Response from Qt61 | Property representative |
Yes we do in the bar area just not in the dining area, but you can eat in both areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, View, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Bembridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 872244
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing