We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
+44 1434 632261
Website
Share
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent50%
  • Very good34%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“lamb shank” (18 reviews)
Open Now
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (919)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 908 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

My cousin and I went to the Black Bull yesterday, I've been there a few times and have always found the food very good. Yesterday I chose chicken, woodland mushrooms and leek pie - It was a REAL pie, surrounded by a lovely shortcrust pastry...More

Thank SandraHutchinson
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for sharing your recent visit on trip advisor and delighted that you enjoyed the chicken pie one of my favourites, I do hope we can welcome you again soon and perhaps try the beef pie. Many thanks Linda

Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile

We took so long at the menu as we didn't know what to choose. Everything screamed "delicious" and dishes we saw being brought out looked amd smelled amazing. We eventually decided and we weren't disappointed. Piping hot which is so rare to happen when you're...More

Thank Kim_Flitter
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and kind words, I will certainly share it with our team and looking forward to welcoming you again. Thanks Linda :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had a good and reasonably priced lunch, 2 adults, teenager and 11 year old. Clean plates all round however my daughter thought her mashed potatoes were powdered. Didn’t stop her eating them. Staff were warm and friendly

Thank baronynine
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thanks for your review and we appreciate all feedback and hoping we can welcome you again soon. Kind regards Linda:)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lovely homely pub, perfect for a Sunday roast. Very welcoming and nice selection of food. Only problem was duck was over cooked for me personally but overall very nice

Thank Zoe O
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Steak was so poor I had to send it back replacement calamari also tough. Obviously not home/ restaurant cooked but pre made and bought in. Very disappointed, has gone down hill rapidly since being taken over by Greene King😕😯😔More

1  Thank Terie L
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

I do apologise for your recent experience and can't understand that you informed the server that you had visited The Black Bull for the past 17 years yet this is your first trip advisor you have ever done and only rewarded us with one star...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent Sunday Lunch with my Mum. Food was piping hot and very tasty. Woukd be happy to come again!

Thank Happiness652314
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your feedback and we do hope we have the pleasure to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Linda:)

Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I were staying in the area and booked the Black Bull for a sunday lunch with family members who live up here. Our group was 8 adults and 4 children. We were made welcome and had a very large square table, more...More

Thank Mark P
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for a great review, we really do appreciate the time it takes to do a review and we do hope that you can all meet up again in the near future and welcome you back to The Black Bull. Regards Linda

Reviewed 1 week ago

On our first night in Corbridge we went to the Black Bull for dinner. We received a warm welcome. We were seated just down from the log fire that gave a warm glow of atmosphere to the place. The service was prompt which was great...More

Thank Ollie H
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for sharing your recent visit on trip advisor and we hope that you are able to visit again soon. Thank you Linda

Reviewed 1 week ago

6.00 pm visit. very pleasant helpful staff. Varied menu suitable for children who do not wish to stick to the children's menu. Very good for 11 year olds who want blue steak!

Thank Jill C
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to do a review and delighted your grandchildren were happy with their food and we really hope you'll be back before too long to enjoy another meal from our menu. Kind regards Linda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Expansive menu. Value for money. Pub food in traditional surroundings. Caters for families. Comfortable and unhurried.

Thank flaky2017
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your review and hoping we can welcome you again soon. Linda

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
The Beaumont Hexham, Hotel
377 reviews
5.41 km away
Matfen Hall
1,706 reviews
8.44 km away
Slaley Hall
3,499 reviews
8.66 km away
The George Hotel
815 reviews
9.30 km away
Nearby Restaurants
Watling Coffee House
348 reviews
.15 km away
Massey's traditional tea room
229 reviews
.02 km away
Spokes Kitchen Corbridge
116 reviews
.29 km away
Nearby Attractions
Corbridge Roman Town
429 reviews
.82 km away
The Blue Bell
36 reviews
.13 km away
Pele Tower Pub
36 reviews
.06 km away
Dilston Physic Garden
17 reviews
1.60 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Joanne L
3 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from bigapple6 | Reviewed this property |
Always fresh vegetables & normal potatoes. I do not like chips either.
1
Vote
annajanepearson
17 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 9 answers
Response from linda7639 | Property representative |
Yes we are child friendly. Thanks
1
Vote
Lesley Y
9 November 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from linda7639 | Property representative |
Sorry we do not allow dogs
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Friday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 11:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Corbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1434 632261
  • E-mail
Description
We are a traditional pub serving food with log burners and an outside patio area to be enjoyed during warmer weather, we are situated a village with some individual shops and some great walks, however we do not allow dogs in the pub or outside
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing