We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Saracens Head

$$ - $$$, British,
100 Summerwood Lane | Halsall, Ormskirk L39 8RH, England
+44 1704 840204
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good29%
  • Average11%
  • Poor6%
  • Terrible5%
Travellers talk about
“quiche” (7 reviews)
“bread” (14 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
100 Summerwood Lane | Halsall, Ormskirk L39 8RH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 420 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Food doesn’t seem to be as good as it was - steak and ale pie was ok but the chips were quite hard and the cabbage dry. The sticky toffee pud was quite dry as well with not much sauce. Ok but certainly not worth...More

Thank Lynda P
Reviewed 3 days ago

Met with friends for a light lunch, we all had something different and all were very pleased with the quality and presentation. Service very friendly. A lovely spot.

Thank gundogs
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We've been going to the Saracens for dinner for years and have always enjoyed our meals there. We've treated our families and friends for several special occasions and it's always been the place to go for celebrations. However today we decided to pop in for...More

Thank Dee D
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

Stopped off here for a quick bite to eat on a longish journey. Very welcoming and a surprise inside as it was a lot more contemporarily furnished than I expected from the outside. Just had a nice Guinness porter although there were 6 real ales...More

1  Thank neddyb1
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I work as a Senior carer at The Shielings Residential Home and enjoy my work. We organized at trip for our residents to go for a pub meal. We were welcomed by friendly staff who made us feel at home, drinks were ordered and brought...More

2  Thank jackconor1
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

Been here lots of times. Xmas meal, lunch, drinks, even cycled here on a summers day. Always lovely and today didn’t disappoint again. We had the 3 course Sunday lunch. Well worth the £20.95 and the kids ate off the main menu and one of...More

Thank Angnboo
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

A very honest and realistic review !! Having visited this pub for the last ten years from afternoon coffee to lunch with friends to Xmas dinner I have experienced all this pub has to offer. This is a beautiful pub in an idilic setting on...More

2  Thank 1978louise
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Sunday Evening - 8/10/17 The worst service and food I have ever eaten Firstly, a list as long as your arm of stuff not available inc the roast Starters for 10 delivered over 15 mins window?? Soup chased for as well after the 15 mins...More

Thank JonoT1863
Saracens H, Manager at The Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at The Saracens Head. I am disappointed to hear that this was not to our usual standards. Unfortunately, with regards to menu choice, as all of our food is freshly prepared to order, during...More

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Celebrated. Our Ruby Anniversary in the canal room with close family. Holds 20 people and overlooks canal. Food was pre ordered and was faultless. Staff were superb, efficient. Children's menu perfect for smaller appetites and good selection. Our guests were impressed with varied menu. Perfect....More

Thank madaboutdaxis
Saracens H, Manager at The Saracens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Saracens Head, I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us, and chose us to celebrate such a lovely occasion, and you and your guests had such a lovely...More

Reviewed 24 August 2017

We found the Saracens Head on the internet and decided to visit because of its close proximity to the Leeds Liverpool Canal.The location is lovely you can walk alongside the river and admire the various barges moored there On entering the pub we were very...More

Thank Marysia D
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The New Scarisbrick Arms Restaurant
320 reviews
3.18 km away
Master McGrath's
604 reviews
3.37 km away
Nellie Indian Restaurant
35 reviews
2.29 km away
The Scullery at Hurlston Hall
35 reviews
2.78 km away
Nearby Attractions
WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre
801 reviews
7.07 km away
Farmer Teds Farm Park
364 reviews
4.05 km away
Blue Swan Boat Hire
100 reviews
.02 km away
Ormskirk Market
24 reviews
4.24 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
rintydog
6 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from Barbara P | Reviewed this property |
Outside only I would imagine but phone the Saracens Head and ask. They are very pleasant staff.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, View
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:30 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
5:00 PM - 9:30 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 100 Summerwood Lane | Halsall, Ormskirk L39 8RH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Ormskirk
  • Phone Number: +44 1704 840204
  • E-mail
Description
Canal-side restaurant with good food and service, in countryside location
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing