We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull

40-42 High Street, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9BH, England
+44 1642 791251
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent23%
  • Very good30%
  • Average16%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible19%
Travellers talk about
“beans” (5 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
PRICE
$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
40-42 High Street, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9BH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 4 days ago

Friendly and efficient staff, good food well cooked and excellent value for money. The £1 per person for free refills of tea or coffee is a great idea. The big breakfast was spot on and my better half's eggs Florentine was pronounced as 'faultless'. Nuff...More

Thank Steve B
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

wow thank you very much for your feedback Steve. We're really glad you enjoyed your visit, and our team look forward to seeing you again soon. Kind regards, The Black Bull

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Little gem of a place, we had the classic brekkie for £3.19, the quality of the food was 2nd to none and cooked to perfection, add unlimited tea and coffee for £1, rodders had about 8 cups the plonker, highly reccomendedMore

Thank delboyandrodders2017
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Good morning Del Boy! 'Lovely jubbly' Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business. Our team are always striving to provide the best customer service, and we're all very happy you enjoyed your dining experience. Thank you both once again, and...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We eat here quite often midweek so know the food is good. But we had friends visiting for the weekend so I called earlier to ask 'what time food served til' & what time a 17 year old could stop until. The guy on the...More

Thank Claire R
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friday fizz is great as very reasonable priced at £9.99 - usually Beer is good but this time, 2 of the hand pulled beers were off, one tasted horrible and then when we wanted to try the Bass that went off - had another beer...More

Thank Richard A
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Thought this pub was great value for money, nice place, really nice food , Good atmosphere, warm and friendly staff and really quick service what more could you want.!.

Thank Bryan C
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Over the last mth no beer no toilet roll no heaters in garden come on guys please get it together Saturday today no beer

1  Thank reg1968123
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Yesterday I was out with few friends celebrating a friends birthday. We all fancied some Tacos and the waitress took out order as she was passing and we gave her the money straight away. We must have waited at least half an hour when the...More

Thank Fiona M
Black B, Events / bookings and media Front of House. at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Appologise for your poor experinece here Fiona. I can assure you we aim for a higher level of customer service and guest experinece here at The Black Bull. We would like to invite you back to our pub to experience the higher level of customer...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had breakfast here with a friend. We each ordered a classic breakfast with unlimited tea and coffee and I still had plenty of change from £10. The staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome. I recommend this pub for breakfast. There are more...More

Thank Nan2272252117
Black B, Front of house / events & bookings and media. at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Wow! Thank you for this great feedback. We're very pleased you both enjoyed your breakfasts and hope to see you both again soon.

Reviewed 5 September 2017

We ate here on a Monday night and just about every table for eating was taken. The pub is large and has a large outside seating area at the rear. The staff were lovely and the food was great and all set in a lovely...More

1  Thank HelenHenry1967
Black B, Front of house/ events & bookings and media at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We have loved reading about your experience here at The Black Bull in Yarm. We're very glad you had a lovely evening and look forward to welcoming you back into our pub.

Reviewed 2 September 2017

after my recent visit to yarm i popped in the black bull but wish i hadnt.i got the ultimate breakfast 795.if there was an option for 0 stars id have give it.when it arrived the sausages were charcoal black.the bacon tasted like it had been...More

1  Thank coldplayfan
General Manager A, Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2017

We regret to hear that you had this experience with us. if you would like to contact us on 01642791251 so we can get some more information. and hopefully resolve this matter. Thank you again for taking the time to let us know how we...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The George and Dragon
197 reviews
.14 km away
Santoro
452 reviews
.09 km away
Mint Hobo
106 reviews
.01 km away
The Keys
623 reviews
.08 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cluedini
42 reviews
.29 km away
Romano Park
7 reviews
2.56 km away
Preston Park Museum & Grounds
738 reviews
3.11 km away
The Play Factory - Thornaby
58 reviews
4.07 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Black Bull staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$16
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Monday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Tuesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Wednesday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Thursday
10:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Friday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Saturday
10:00 AM - 1:00 AM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 40-42 High Street, Yarm, Stockton-on-Tees TS15 9BH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Stockton-on-Tees  >  Yarm
  • Phone Number: +44 1642 791251
  • E-mail
Description
You'd be hard pushed to find a finer real ale pub in Yarm. In fact, we believe The Black Bull is unrivalled in its choice of quality cask-conditioned beers and carefully compiled menu of British pub dishes. For directions to our landmark pub, see the interactive map to the right.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing