We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hell of The North

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
135 Greeves St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
+61 3 9417 6660
17:00 - 01:00
Closed now
All hours
Sun 12:00 - 23:00
Wed - Fri 17:00 - 01:00
Sat 12:00 - 01:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 134: English reviews
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

I took a risk and brought overseas visitors here before coming myself...and was not disappointed! We chose the 'Feed Me' option for 4 people and the food was delicious. The staff were SO helpful regarding my severe peanut allergy and made me feel confident that the kitchen could cater to me safely; you can't underestimate how much it means to... More 

Thank Lol_10045
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The restaurant had been recommended by a daughter so I was a bit concerned about the noise. The building is a lovely old blue stone house in a quiet street off a main road. I had asked for a quiet table and they put us with other people at a big table with others! This would have been fine except... More 

Thank 653jeffreyo
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited again on friday evening as a pre-cursor to Derby day with my son visiting from Sydney. We were not let down with their food consistency and excellent attentive service. My son commented further that on his next visit to Melbourne on business he will be taking clients there rather than in the City, a wonderful gem.

Thank Bill N
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited H of the N on Saturday 29th October. We were visiting from Perth and a friend had booked a table for 8 friends. On arrival we were told that as the booking was for 8 we could not choose a la carte. A disappointment as our friend had not been told this on booking. After the first course... More 

Thank Craig H
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

I was unable to attend a reservation on Saturday evening (Derby Day) due to a family emergency and friends becoming too intoxicated at the races. I forgot to confirm the booking the day prior so I also assumed the table had been given away. The owner proceeded to send me threatening messages throughout the evening. He stalked me on Facebook,... More 

Thank jschlosser87
M_Grixti, Owner at Hell of The North, responded to this review

Jessica booked a table for 14 people on Saturday night. We called and messaged on 5 occasions, she didn't respond or turn up. And she didn't like being called out.... which is what this is about. More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2016

This is one of Melbourne's best dining experiences. Set in a beautiful bluestone building, you have any number of amazing dishes to choose from.

Thank Campbell R
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

I read a review on Broadsheet and thought we must try this place. Apparently it's been open for over 3 years so this was a great find for us. We booked in for a Saturday lunch for 2. Got a park in Greeves St but it is 1 hour limit during the day and that costs $4. Anyway we found... More 

1 Thank Knills
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Lovely French inspired meal. We chose the 'feed me' option, which was the chefs selection of 7 share plates plus dessert or cheese. Great range of vegetables, fish, pork, chicken and beef all nicely cooked and presented. Friendly staff and very reasonably priced. Left feeling satisfied and will come back again

Thank gwHobart
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2016

Our uni son booked here for a family meal. We had the 'feed me' menu. The food was great, service unobtrusive but smooth. The atmosphere was nice too, interesting decor, different spaces. We were on stools, not my ideal but most tables have chairs, & we had booked at the last minute. It was a bit noisy but not deafening.

Thank MarinaCanberra
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2016

Few mistakes that let it down, no drinks requests before the meal , starters were a high point, mains were mixed up by the waitress who should have double checked as she did state she was confused by the order. Meals were cold, the duck a bit bland (it's a personal choice I know ). Maybe some recognition from the... More 

Thank George8500

Travellers who viewed Hell of The North also viewed

Fitzroy, Yarra
Melbourne, Victoria

Been to Hell of The North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
French, Wine Bar, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
12:00 - 23:00
17:00 - 01:00
17:00 - 01:00
17:00 - 01:00
12:00 - 01:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 135 Greeves St, Fitzroy, Yarra, Victoria 3065, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Yarra  >  Fitzroy
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9417 6660

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hell of The North staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?