We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George at Burpham

Certificate of Excellence
$$ - $$$
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
The Main Street, Burpham BN18 9RR, England (Formerly The George and Dragon Inn)
+44 1903 883131
Website
Today
10:30 - 23:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Sat - Sun 10:30 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 498: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Lots of people say The George is the best pub in West Sussex. Now I know why! Can't fault the food - starters were delicious, especially the baked Camembert and tuna carpaccio but it was the fish and chips for lunch that really blew us away. Not had anything in the same league for as long as I can remember!... More 

Helpful?
Thank SeasonedTraveller122
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Superb location in small village in the midst of the South Downs. Parking is extremely limited. Good menu at high prices. Food we had was quite good but not worth the money or the wait. Not worth the effort.

Helpful?
2 Thank ARTEASIAN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Met family here for lunch but after arriving just after 1.30pm on a Sat was told they had shut the kitchens as they were too busy. We had drinks and waited a while hoping they would reopen but after a while decided to find somewhere else to eat. Very disappointing as the food looked lovely. Also don't be deceived by... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sunchaser4000
Management response:

Weekends tend to be our busiest times and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your visit to The George. As such we never shut our kitchen during these busy periods, so again we apologise if a misunderstanding over this has occurred. We hope you will visit again and whilst we will make every effort to accommodate those who... More 

Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just enjoyed a really lovely lunch at The George. It is well worth the drive up to the village from the main Arundel road. The welcome was warm, the service was attentive without being intrusive and the food was really good. We had salt and pepper squid, sardines to start followed by pork belly and a smoked haddock... More 

Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The George isn't really a pub. It's more a restaurant with a couple of tables for drinkers. The staff are irritated and harried, trying to take multiple orders at once and then forgetting to collect payment from the right people. Staff were obnoxious and seemed irritated that we wanted to have a drink in their pub. I would avoid and... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Smeee333
Management response:

This review comes from a large group of youths who arrived en masse during a busy Easter lunch. We were not impressed that they brought their own food and drink to consume on our premises, so politely asked them not to do so. Sadly they interpreted this not unreasonable request as unfriendliness! We welcome large groups who behave well and... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well this pub just gets better and better, the fish and best chips I have ever had was amazing and my husband had roast pork which was really good followed by treacle tart and custard, we weren't rushed at all and had a leisurely lunch with good service!!

Helpful?
Thank Yvette B
Lancing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Sat in the sunshine earlier at this traditional and lovely dog friendly country pub. Fab food and very pleasant helpful staff.

Helpful?
Thank LynnieC29
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service poor and staff appeared stressed -waited 35 minutes for drinks to be served from order being taken: in a pub! The restaurant lacked atmosphere; there was no buzz and the continual heavy footed stomping of the manager (I assume - the guy with red rimmed glasses) around the place just ended up being annoying. The menu lacked choice given... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank hsfood2017
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All had just the main course. I had the chicken and prawn pie asked could I have chips instead of mash no problem would recommend the pie. One friend had wild boar sausages said spicy but not too hot. The other had duck was lovely. Asked were meals ok. Attentative service. Lovely walks also in the area.

Helpful?
Thank jean g
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stumbled across the George on Saturday. It was busy and we had not booked but there were tables available. Despite this they said we would need to sit outside which suited us as it was very sunny and warm. The service was slow and the bar service was below what I would expect to be honest. Both floor waitresses... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaReidUK

Travellers who viewed The George at Burpham also viewed

Angmering, Littlehampton
 
Arundel, Arun District
Arundel, Arun District
 
Amberley, West Sussex
Angmering, Littlehampton
 

Been to The George at Burpham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$32
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Reservations, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:30 - 23:00
Monday
10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Thursday
10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
10:30 - 14:30
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
10:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Main Street, Burpham BN18 9RR, England (Formerly The George and Dragon Inn)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Arun District  >  Burpham
  • Phone Number: +44 1903 883131
Description
This unique 17th century Inn houses a wonderful British restaurant and pub. You'll find it at the heart of the delightful Sussex village of Burpham, just 4 km from historic Arundel, surrounded by the glorious South Downs National Park. The menus are classic “best of British” food with a modern twist. Everything is home cooked with the freshest seasonal ingredients, locally sourced where possible. That means the specials menu changes all the time, so your tastebuds will always be delighted. Open for lunch 12-2 or 12-3 weekends, and from 6pm for dinner. Great wine menu and local Real Ale. This is a very family friendly place; well-behaved dogs are welcome to sit under the table in the pub area whilst you dine. Groups, weddings and private parties love it here and come back year after year. Bookings are recommended especially for Sunday lunch as it's always very busy.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The George at Burpham and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The George at Burpham staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?