We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shard Riverside

) #25 of 56 Restaurants in Poulton Le Fylde $$ - $$$ , British,
Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent43%
  • Very good26%
  • Average11%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible8%
Travellers talk about
“cassoulet” (5 reviews)
“mussels” (12 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, European, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

The menu is very good, not too long but there are plenty of options. I had salmon which was very good and there are vegetarian options as well. Service was good too.

Thank Howie922
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review short but sweet,we hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went to the Shard Riverside inn for date night, as a special treat. And It was very special indeed, the atmosphere was relaxed, the view was beautiful (we had a window seat), the food was clean, with layers of flavour, you could tell that fresh...More

Thank Andy M
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We appear to have ticked all the boxes on your visit.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Having eaten well here before, we visited on a sunny lunchtime to find that the staff were overwhelmed by people visiting on a sunny day! What did they expect? Do they not look at a weather forecast? People turned up and left again without stopping...More

Thank Sally S
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

We apologise for your delay on your food.We are a very popular destination on a sunny day because of our beautiful location.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Peak Saturday and no food in the afternoon. Looked in to the kitchen and the floor was strewn with paper that looked like toilet paper. Don't know what it was. Didn't look clean.

Thank JANETDENISE
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Yes we were extremely busy on this Saturday so the chef made the decision to close the kitchen for 2 hours .All our food is freshly prepared so the chef wanted to be consistent with the food quality.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just out for the afternoon and dropped in at the Shard for a lite bite. We shared the corned beef platter and the chicken and chorizo focachia very tasty. Dined outside in the sun with a little lubrication, (Bowland Hen Harrier) taking in the lovely...More

Thank Tom B
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Tom for taking time to review us.We are so glad you had a lovely afternoon in the sun with nice food,nice drinks and nice company.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Called at the Shard for an early lunch, it was quiet, but still a nice relaxing atmosphere. We decided to have the soup, onion and garlic, which I wasn't too sure about but was assured the chef always makes lovely soup. We weren't disappointed, it...More

Thank Mary9718
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are so glad you enjoyed your lunch with us.Yes our chef is famous for his soup very tasty sometimes unusual flavours,but always enjoyable.

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

On a beautiful summers evening we decided to try the Shard Riverside. It was very busy outside and we were expecting it to be the same inside, however the bar area was quiet, we asked for a table and we were told that due to...More

Thank Philip W
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I have spoken to the staff here at the Shard and no one has any recollection of this matter occurring as our kitchen is never closed.We would like to speak to you direct if possible to try and resolve the matter.Please contact me on 01253...More

Reviewed 20 June 2017 via mobile

Beautiful day buy the river wyre booked a table with a view of the river,Taken to a lovely table,our drinks and meal were taken by a very pleasant member of staff he was so friendly,our starters pate,and olive oil dip with lovely warm bread.Our fillet...More

Thank boltondotty
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for the lovely review.We are so glad the ladies enjoyed the meal with us.We hope you dine with us again soon.

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 4 friends who rarely get together so this was a special meal. The waiter gave a great service and reserved the last portion of mussels for me. They are the best I've ever had. Members of our group had the...More

Thank SazC5
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your lovely review.We are so happy here at the Shard that your meal was enjoyed so much.The mussels are a great favourite with our regular customers and we are glad you enjoyed them.We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Reviewed 28 May 2017 via mobile

The food here is to be highly recommended. Really good well cooked and well presented. The mussels were really out of this world. The staff were very attentive and worked really hard to ensure we had a lovely experience. There seemed to be a glitch...More

Thank jamnic313
tracey l, Public Relations Manager at Shard Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2017

Thanks for taking the time to review our inn.We are happy that you had a great experience that is what we aim to achieve.Yes I agree the mussels are excellent and the sauce well what can I say.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Shovels Inn
85 reviews
1.25 km away
The River Wyre
555 reviews
1.56 km away
Ryecroft Hall
96 reviews
1.33 km away
Nearby Attractions
The Pork Shop
99 reviews
2.84 km away
Glasform
53 reviews
2.96 km away
Moor Park Swimming Pool
13 reviews
5.34 km away
North Blackpool Pond Trail
9 reviews
5.37 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Alex C
9 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from kazjee | Reviewed this property |
Hi we attended with our daughter whom is older, but yes no problem. let them know when you book. Very accommodating. 0 seconds ago
1
Vote
cstsruletheworld
29 October 2015|
Answer
Response from tracey l | Property representative |
Hi yes we do have facilities and the pub and restaurant can accommodate motorized wheelchairs .We do have a number of regular customers in wheelchairs who enjoy our venue .We look forward to seeing you soon .
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Validated Parking, Free Wifi
Good for
View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Saturday
12:00 - 14:30
17:30 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Old Bridge Lane | Hambleton, Poulton Le Fylde FY6 9BT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Lancashire  >  Poulton Le Fylde
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing