We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant

Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Near Sawrey | Hawkshead, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
+44 15394 36387
Website
Friday
Closed
Hours:
Sat - Thu 10:00 - 16:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

184 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 179: English reviews
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel serves wonderful food produced from local produce with excellent service - it is more suitable for adults and older children. They also serve a proper afternoon tea and refreshments are available on the terrace with stunning views

Helpful?
Thank Bettyboo999
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Took a little break here in the middle of walking. Lovely staff and view. The scone was amazing! Great price! Would recommend! Thank you!

Helpful?
Thank Hayley0161
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Hayley0161, Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you found us in the middle of your walk and trust a delicious scone and cup of tea set you up for the rest of your walking. Don't forget you can add us to facebook so you can get all our latest offers and deals and... More 

Ashton in Makerfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good mains, poor starter and poor desert. Would literally only recommend this for dinner if you're staying there otherwise get in your car and go and eat some place else.

Helpful?
Thank rmurray86
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear rmurray86, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit. I'm always disappointed when guests don't fully enjoy their experience with us but always more disappointed when they don't bring these matter to our attention when they are here. It is never our intention for anyone to have a poor experience but not being given the opportunity to... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

5 of us visited for afternoon tea - 2 x travelzoo vouchers and one paid full price. Positives - the views are lovely, the decor nice (recently renovated I think) and the scones were excellent, warm and fresh. But unfortunately the negatives outweighed this for us. The service was poor - nobody checked back with us at all after bringing... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Paula W
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear Paula W, Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea visit. I'm sorry to learn of your disappointment and will be looking into your issues. The offer we did with Travelzoo was hugely popular. The £19 for Afternoon Tea for 2 price was certainly a draw and we sold well over 400 vouchers, of which the... More 

Cumbria, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2017

Total apathy displayed by member of staff - we were left after afternoon tea was placed on our table. We were the only people in the restaurant. After we had finished our afternoon tea we could not find anyone and left without seeing anyone - a door to an office was open and a gentleman was sat inside - we... More 

Helpful?
Thank alison12016
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear alison12016, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm sorry you felt there was apathy from the staff during your visit, but this certainly isn't the case. Our team members perform a variety of duties throughout the day but they're main attention is always for the customer. Your table was checked a couple of times... More 

Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2016

If you are in the area you must visit this restaurant. The food is really very very good and a good choice on the menu. The staff are attentive without being overbearing. A must try.

Helpful?
Thank ChebbieDappell
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear ChebbieDappell, Thank you for talking the time to review your recent visit to our restaurant. I'm delighted to read you enjoyed your meals with us and found the quality and choice so good. We always have some great dining offers on, so well worth a visit when you are next in the area. Thank you again for your 5... More 

UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

I booked this as a gift for 2 members of my family and a few of us went with them. We were all extremely disappointed. The room we were out in was completely lacking in atmosphere and dated. White walls and white tablecloths and completely souless with no view. The food was very boring and the cakes were all a... More 

Helpful?
Thank holidayobsessed
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear holidayobsessed, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community. I'm sorry that you felt your experience wasn't up-to-scratch during your visit. We now serve all our Afternoon Tea's in our restaurant which has lots of windows, showcasing the amazing views we have here at Sawrey House. Our new chef has redesigned our afternoon... More 

Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

My husband and I had afternoon tea here on a travelzoo deal and felt very disappointed with it. Yes it was on a deal and had we paid full price I would have wanted my money back and left it. The sandwich selection was poor I believe houmous is a dip not a sandwich filler also they were not freshly... More 

Helpful?
Thank COLH321
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear COLH321, Thank you for taking the time to review your Afternoon Tea at Sawrey House. It's always disappointing to read when a guest hasn't fully enjoyed their experience with us, so please accept my apologies. We were expecting you slightly earlier than you arrived, so your Afternoon Tea, which was freshly prepared, was put into the fridge whilst we... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016

Visited for afternoon tea on a beautiful autumn day. The hotel lovely with pleasant views, the lady that served us was very nice but the afternoon tea could only be described as mediocre. The sandwiches were plain and the "cakes" were thoroughly disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank 691Xandria
David_Bulmer, Owner at Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear 691Xandria, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm disappointed to read of your poor experience and will look into your comments. We take on board all feedback, good and bad and use it to continue to improve Sawrey House. Thank you again for your review. Best Wishes David and the Team More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2016

This was the perfect place to reflect on our visit to Hilltop while enjoying the stunning views that inspired Beatrix Potter. It was warm and cosy but has a lovely outdoor seating area for when it isn't raining! The service was unrushed rather than slow and the waiter was very helpful. The coffee was excellent as was the hot chocolate... More 

Helpful?
Thank Fussym00

Travellers who viewed Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Coniston, Duddon Valley
 

Been to Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$22 - US$30
Cuisine
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Free Wifi, Reservations, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Business meetings, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 16:00
Monday
10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday
10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday
10:00 - 16:00
Thursday
10:00 - 16:00
Saturday
10:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Near Sawrey | Hawkshead, Near Sawrey LA22 0LF, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cumbria  >  Lake District  >  Near Sawrey
  • Phone Number: +44 15394 36387
Description
At Sawrey House you will find our gorgeous candle-lit restaurant where you can enjoy the finest locally sourced ingredients in our all our menus. With fine views across to Esthwaite Water and friendly, attentive service you are guaranteed a truly fabulous dining experience with us.Our head chef, Callum Harvey, has created a delicious mix of traditional Cumbrian fayre and tasty English classics, meaning you will be spoilt for choice whether you dine from our A la Carte or Table d'hote menus. Callum's menus are inspired by the wealth of fresh, quality produce available locally throughout the Cumbrian area. Beef, Lamb & Venison from the fells and fish from the West Coast ports feature strongly, while home-baked sweets, shortbread and scones are a speciality.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sawrey House Hotel Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?