We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2022
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$12 - US$61
CUISINES
European, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your visit
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Socially distanced dining tables
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Tables disinfected between guests
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Reviews (339)
Filter reviews
339 results
Traveller rating
320
11
4
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
320
11
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brunch tasting menu fruit cake bakewell tart cheeseboard beef black pudding cheese board hake burger sunday roast poached eggs fine dining chef phil last night head chef cooked to perfection
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

New menu alert!! Some lovely additions to the menu for autumn. The bacon chop was delicious as was the peanut parfait with banana purée. We had a lovely evening Ben and Phil attended to our every need. This really is a fabulous little restaurant and...your support is vital in these difficult times. 👍More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 14 September 2022 via mobile

Came here for a lunch with a group from work and had a very nice meal…all the mains looked awesome, especially the ciabattas and sandwiches. I had the Rigatoni which was really nice but wish I’d had the Fish & Chips Ciabatta, which looked unreal…definitely...going back to try the rest of their lunch menu!More

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 September 2022

Two Words…. Amazing Food!!!! Hats off to the Chef, he even came out to make sure everything was okay for us. We had starters and Sunday Roast and couldn’t fault anything, it was all delicious!!! Xx

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 10 September 2022 via mobile

Friendly staff and a relaxed atmosphere with the most amazing food which is reasonably priced (especially the prix fixe menu) makes this a must visit place to eat.

Date of visit: September 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 23 August 2022

I celebrated my 70th birthday here with my husband, our son and daughter in law. AllI can say is WOW. The food was brilliant, from the fish cakes and black pudding starters to the mains of steak, beef bourguignon and the wagu burger. Everything was...served wonderfully and on hot plates, something that is missing in other restaurants. Staff were super friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a special meal please try here. I am sure you won’t be disappinted. Well done everyone!More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 13 August 2022

we visited on Sunday 7th August to yet again find the menu even more extensive and this time with world cuisines.For example we had Thai spiced mussels and this is the best Thai dish that I've had in tockton Heath,I have to say.The mussels were...so fresh that I could taste the sea as well as the Thai source and they were of a good size.We also had a rabbit broth for starters,again this was out of this world.For the mains we went to France for the Bourguignon,a beek cheek that just melted in the mouth with a lovely jus and proper creamed mashed potatoe.Honestly three courses for £22.00 on a Sunday,this is just giving it away for the quality and standard of food that this lovely little gem serves.Phil Daley [Head Chef] and his team can cook anything with their fresh ingriedients, from any country,any region and with their culinary twists and expertise.This is great British menu standard of food and worthy of visits from both the French tyre manufacturer and the British road side assistance to award them their stars and rosettes.Eschoffer would be truly proud of this team.Unrivalled in Stockton Heath.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 7 August 2022

I had really high expectations after reading all the reviews, but was quite disappointed to be honest. I had the fish cake for starter which was nice and my husband had the mussels, again quite nice. For our main we both had the roast beef...Sunday lunch. The roast beef was really fatty and we both left lots of it. I couldn’t eat the Yorkshire pudding as was far too heavy. I did eat the broccoli and cabbage although quite tasteless . The parsnips and carrots were nice. My granddaughter had the Mac and cheese but didn’t really eat much of it. As we were paying the bill, the guy asked if everything was fine and I said it was ok but the beef was very fatty. He just said “oh sorry about that “ I would have expected him to say he would tell the chef as they really need to be made aware. I just wish I had taken a picture of it . Surely they knew it wasn’t the best, purely by how much we left. Maybe we just went on an off day , given all the 5 star review from other people. From my experience, I certainly wouldn’t give 5 stars.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marc Smith, Owner at Terrace Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2022

Hi Jackie, thanks for your review. I have emailed you directly. Really sorry we weren’t up to our usual high standards. Many thanks, Marc.

Reviewed 6 August 2022 via mobile

My husband and I picked from the lunch prix fixe menu and our meal was delicious. I had courgette, spinach and ricotta tart to start followed by the linguini. My husband had Thai spiced mussels followed by roasted whole mackerel - he said this was...absolutely divine! I would wholeheartedly recommend The Terrace for a really reasonably priced, delicious lunch. Dinners we've had in the past have been excellent too. Great food and an outstanding level of service and care for the customer.More

Date of visit: August 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 July 2022 via mobile

Another amazing night at this gem of a restaurant. We went for the Prix Fixe menu and we’re pleased to see a full house. The atmosphere was great. All the staff were lovely, attentive and helpful and Phil even filleted my fish for me- thanks...Phil.😘 We had burgers, steak and mackerel - all fabulous. The starters were mussels, courgette tart and black pudding - we loved those as well. Thanks for an excellent night and for looking after us so nicely. 👍👍More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 July 2022 via mobile

Another fantastic meal at The Terrace, you really cannot fault this place for food and service .. the mussels were amazing and my steak cooked perfectly .. it was thumbs up all round from the four of us dining.

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 24 July 2022

Having been here twice on a lunchtime and been blown away with really creative dishes and amazing quality ingredients tonight was a disappointment. The chicken liver starter was spot on and I couldn’t wait for my beef fillet main. This was sadly a let down...it wasn’t pink as requested and a very small and thin cut. It was a £30 main for a small poor cut of beef with green beans and potatoes and sauce. The desert was ok and wine was lovely but I don’t think I will be looking to go back. I did notice that the chefs who used to be working weren’t there so don’t know if it’s now run with new chefs or new owners. A real shame as it was a gem in Stockton HeathMore

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Marc Smith, Owner at Terrace Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2022

Hi Phil, thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I appreciate it although very disappointed that you didn’t enjoy your visit. We’re still the same team although our head chef Phil had been off for sometime as he’s been quite poorly, we’ve really...More

Reviewed 10 July 2022 via mobile

Excellent communication from Marc prior to the meal. The lunchtime sandwich was lovely as was the ambiance. Wine was lovely. We did need to ask for the table to be wiped as it was stained and bits left from previous occupant. Didn’t ruin it but...needs attention. This was a birthday treat and we were not offered deserts which was a surprise. We went to another restaurant for cocktails and a sweet treat. Thanks to the chef for making a tasty veggie sandwich.More

Date of visit: July 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 June 2022 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal at the Terrace Bistro, the main course of steak melted in the mouth. Great choice of wines and the service from all the staff couldn’t be faulted Well done

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 June 2022

We really enjoyed our meal here, the food was excellent and the service was great. However, we were really surprised to learn, when we asked to tip on card, that the waiting staff don’t get any tips made by card! Which in this day and...age (when nobody has any cash) seems really unfairMore

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
M SMITH, Owner at Terrace Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2022

Hi Laura, Many thanks for your review, really glad you enjoyed it. The staff do get tips, they get both cash and card tips, cash at the time, and card tips are put in a pot to share throughout the year. Every member of the...More

Reviewed 5 June 2022 via mobile

Brilliant local bistro with excellent service - would highly recommend it if articulately now add they have a full vegan menu which was really nice!

Date of visit: June 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Village Hotel Warrington
2,967 reviews
1.57 km away
The Waterside Hotel
437 reviews
1.65 km away
Warrington Fir Grove Hotel
623 reviews
1.87 km away
Patten Arms Hotel
231 reviews
2.13 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Wasabi Teppanyaki Japanese Restaurant
489 reviews
.08 km away
A La Turka
21 reviews
.13 km away
Expedition
334 reviews
.18 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Thorn Marine
51 reviews
.49 km away
Costello's Bar
108 reviews
.17 km away
Corks out
161 reviews
.22 km away
Mulberry Tree
26 reviews
.14 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Terrace Bistro staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

Terrace Bistro, Stockton Heath - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Terrace Bistro

Yes, Terrace Bistro is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Terrace Bistro is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 5
  • Service: 5
  • Value: 4.5