We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Boatyard Restaurant

8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
+44 1702 475588
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good25%
  • Average19%
  • Poor12%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“lamb shank” (30 reviews)
“soup” (18 reviews)
“cheesecake” (15 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, International, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,282 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We have been to the Boatyard in Leigh-On-Sea several times before, it is a lovely venue with a great atmosphere. However, on our last visit, Saturday 22nd July, we were markedly let down by the poor level of service received. Upon arrival we were promptly...More

1  Thank RonnyPudding
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

I can only apologise for the disappointing experience you had when you visited us on Saturday. It transpires that our electronic till system was undergoing a major technical glitch with the result that customers orders were not being received by the kitchen in the correct...More

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

What another memorable evening at the Boatyard. Sun was shining and the deck was the place to be! Cocktails were amazing as well thanks to great mixology from Jessica, navigating the cobbled streets of Leigh after was however a little challenging afterwards.....Porn Star Martini, high...More

Thank SamGinge
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Went to the boatyard this week with work colleagues and it was packed . Obviously now they have reduced there 5 star menu th a more affordable pleasant eating experience more people are going to the boatyard you can even bring your own wine ....More

2  Thank Jimpendrigh
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your review. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile

Strolled up the tiny road in vintage Leigh and found the boatyard. Jess behind the bar was superb, she looked after my cocktail needs for the duration. I'd come back again purely to see that smile. Game changer.

3  Thank Mr W
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

A big thank you for your lovely words and compliments from Jess! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 4 days ago

Had a lovely meal here last night to celebrate my birthday. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was good and good value on Grill Night. The only problem were the level of noise meant although there were only four of us we had to...More

2  Thank Theresa R
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hi Theresa Thank you for your feedback. Our grill nights every Thursday are very popular, the food is great and you also have the advantage of being able to bring along your own wine and we are generally full to capacity on a regular basis....More

Reviewed 4 days ago

I was looking for a place to eat that had great views, food and ambiance. I found it in the Boatyard Restaurant. From start to finish the service was excellent and their fish dishes a delight.

2  Thank 186424John_S
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you for your delightful words, it's good to know we hit the mark! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 5 days ago

Fine dining in Essex is a rarity . This restaurant clearly setting the standard ,interesting premises ,very well organised . The food was outstanding although at lunchtime a fairly limited menu ,the staff were all very helpful and friendly ..I had Dover sole which is...More

2  Thank Colin T
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you Colin, we are so pleased you had an enjoyable time. I have to say people visit us from miles around for the Dover sole! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Walking along the main road with my girlfriend and decided to pop in for a bite to eat and drink. From the outside the restaurant looked nice and the deck outside even better. After walking outside to the deck we were rudely told to wait...More

6  Thank Ferg2596
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Oh dear, we are sorry if our waiter offended you by using his finger whilst he was explaining the options and indicating to you which sections of our deck offer customers the choice of being seated in the dining area or being able to enjoy...More

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had Sunday dinner here today with the Mrs and we had a really great time. We had the 3 course roast, all the food was great, got some complimentary chips. Our waiter Tony was fantastic and managed to ensure he was being attentive without being...More

2  Thank Alex B
Boatyard R, Manager at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for your lovely compliments, you have made Tony's day ! Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

This restaurant was comfortable and relaxing the food was very tasty, staff pleasant and efficient. We sat on the verandah having a drink altogether a very pleasant place to be.

2  Thank Julie A
Boatyard R, Owner at The Boatyard Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such great feedback. Kind regards Cllare Carey Restaurant Manager

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Cucina
660 reviews
.28 km away
Sara's Tea Garden
528 reviews
.12 km away
The Grove
856 reviews
.36 km away
The Peterboat
858 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
Old Leigh
749 reviews
.14 km away
Leigh Heritage Centre
36 reviews
.07 km away
Bell Wharf Beach
45 reviews
.34 km away
Leigh Library
42 reviews
.27 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Kardine1
5 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Alan J | Reviewed this property |
They do have parking for patrons but no designated disabled parking I would ring and ask the Restuarant to reserve a spot for you
1
Vote
ataylor762
3 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 7 answers
Response from jballwright | Reviewed this property |
Hi we are not too sure if they do a children's menu but I am sure if you request a small portion it would not be a problem. Most places will accommodate this type of request.
0
Votes
georginacole2003
2 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from | Property representative |
hello if you call the reception after 10am on Wednesday and specify what type of vegetarian dishes you would like on your visit to the Boatyard. as long as we have plenty of notice to get the ingredients in our head chef... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$78
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Kids, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 8-13 High Street, Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea SS9 2EN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Essex  >  Southend-on-Sea  >  Leigh-on Sea
  • Phone Number: +44 1702 475588
Description
The Boatyard, Leigh-On-Sea The Boatyard combines the benefits of a modern purpose-built restaurant with the classic surroundings of the Old Leigh fishing village, not to mention the excellent food. Contained within what was previously a working boatyard, the building has been converted into a modern restaurant, fully air-conditioned with a state of the art music system, digital projection screen and a glass-fronted kitchen area . A panoramic polarised glass frontage provides uninterrupted views of the Thames Estuary and Two-Tree Island Nature Reserve. Even more spectacular views can be obtained from the stunning wooden deck which juts out into the water and spans the entire width of the building.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing