We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ship Inn Itchenor

) #2 of 2 Restaurants in West Itchenor $$ - $$$ , British,
The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
+44 1243 512284
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good40%
  • Average13%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“lemon sole” (3 reviews)
“roast beef” (4 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago

Saturday night visit with family members. We all opted for fish and chips and the battered Haddock was fresh (not from frozen storage) and was delicious. The pub staff were all keen and attentive. The interior could do with some updating as it looks tired...More

Thank Molesey99
Reviewed 4 days ago

After a long walk in the sunshine, we arrived at the Ship Inn. It was a lovely sunny day so we sat outside, we also had the fog either us. Water bowls were provided for dogs. We all enjoyed a lager and lime and we...More

Thank Sue13052015
Reviewed 6 days ago

We met friends here for a recent dinner and really enjoyed it. The pub is in a quaint part cobbled street leading down to the water where there is lots of activity with boats and sailors . The pub is very busy but food is...More

Thank mumsypops
Reviewed 1 week ago

After spending the day on the beach at west wittering we decided to call in The Ship. Our son knew of its reputation. The food and service was excellent. The mixed seafood platter was a great success. The Dover sole was equally good.

Thank Maryke B
Roger S, Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your experience here at The Ship Inn! We hope to see you again soon! Becky @ The Ship

Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a strange request to ask the manager of this eatery. Having not acquired a waterproof box, I left all my cash in a car.... that was driven by someone else.... who wasn't with me. We managed to get back to land before our...More

Thank Overthehillz
BeckyG0093, Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello, Thank you for you kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your visit with us despite your kayaking troubles, hope you are well rested! We are so happy you enjoyed your food, beer and service. We hope to see you again soon Becky @...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice enough food. Extensive menu even on a Sunday with 2 specials boards. Your asked to make a note of your table number before ordering at the bar and then when they bring the food out they stand at the door and yell your table...More

1  Thank Sandra J
Roger S, Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Sandra J Thank you for your review we take all feedback seriously. I am so sorry you felt your meal was ruined by staff calling out table numbers. We do our best to find tables without disrupting our customers meal; we try and arrange...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This provided a nice interlude on our walk around Chichester and Bosham channels and having just got off the small ferry it was only a short walk to this lovely pub. We only had beer and snacks but liked the friendly atmosphere and the burgers...More

Thank pb56422
Roger S, Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your lovely review we are spoilt by our lovely walks. So happy you found our little pub so welcoming. We hope to see you again soon for one of our tasty Burgers! Many Thanks Becky @ The Ship

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice old fashioned pub. Nice menu and specials, friendly service. My wife had ham egg and chips which looked and tasted (according to her) delicious - plenty of it too! I heard someone ask for a type of fish but they said they only had...More

Thank LoungerLondon
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good ambience. Landlord very friendly. Tasty food. Excellent choice of beers. Pleasant service. Nice day out.

Thank Nicholas W
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We sailed up the coast over the weekend only to find the only pub in the village was closed for food - 7.30pm on a sunny Sunday in July. We weren't the only disappointed group there. Nevertheless, we bought a bottle of wine and went...More

Thank Beani71
Roger S, Manager at The Ship Inn Itchenor, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Beani71, Sorry for the inconvenience of our kitchen being closed. Unfortunately due to unpredictable demand we have closed our kitchen on Sunday nights since last summer. This is except for a months trial this summer; unfortunately due to the location we were too quiet...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Quarterdeck
54 reviews
.21 km away
The Lamb Inn West Wittering
465 reviews
2.12 km away
Russells Cafe
161 reviews
2.55 km away
The Anchor Bleu
567 reviews
2.62 km away
Nearby Attractions
Bosham Quay
265 reviews
2.82 km away
The Complete Worx
49 reviews
4.13 km away
West Wittering Beach
757 reviews
4.45 km away
The Woolpack Inn
27 reviews
5.42 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Ship Inn Itchenor staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Drinks, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: The Street, West Itchenor, Chichester PO20 7AH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  West Sussex  >  Chichester  >  West Itchenor
  • Phone Number: +44 1243 512284
  • E-mail
Description
The Ship Inn is an attractive village pub situated 150 yards from the shores of Chichester Harbour, with its fine walks and harbour tours for visitors.

As well as serving excellent food, The Ship Inn retains all the characteristics of a traditional English Inn, with a relaxing atmosphere.

The Ship Inn provides excellent holiday accommodation in a peaceful rural location near West Wittering, close to Goodwood and Chichester.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing