We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

River Cottage Canteen

New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
+44 1297 631715
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good23%
  • Average16%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“hummus” (77 reviews)
“pollock” (56 reviews)
“pudding” (112 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (2,142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 2,136 reviews

Reviewed 5 days ago

My Son has always been a big fan of Hugh and so we booked a table at the River Cottage Canteen. Food was good although both the specials that I would have had were not available due to delivery problems but we weren't informed of...More

2  Thank Rspoons
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review

Reviewed 1 week ago

Food was well presented and very tasty with complimentary flavours. Staff attentive without being over powering. They knew their menu well. On a slight negative comment it lacked a bit of atmposphere

1  Thank CupcakeClair
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review

Reviewed 1 week ago

Great food a lovely relaxed atmosphere great value and a superb choice of local produce and attentive staff what more do you need?

Thank Steve W
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thanks Steve for your review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

After years of following Hugh and the River Cottage, We finally went to the canteen closest to us. The canteen is beautifully laid out, with large folding doors allowing the cool summer breeze to flow in. The staff are ever so friendly and attentive and...More

Thank Leah H
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for such a kind review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

Decided to book dinner for the start of our 3 nights birthday celebration weekend for my partner. OMG what a fantastic experience. This was our first visit to a RC restaurant and our expectations were high and they didn't disappoint. A great atmosphere, lovely staff...More

Thank BigDoubleD22
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you very much for leaving such a great review! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We celebrated my husband's birthday with lunch at the River Cottage this week. We'd never been before, living in the Midlands, but were pleased to be able to try it as we were on holiday nearby. The food was excellent, clever ingredients put together resulting...More

Thank Julie M
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Happy Birthday again to your husband! We're glad you had a great time and Thank you very much for such a nice review.

Reviewed 1 week ago

We visit this canteen a lot, usually on the way to Seaton or Beer, and have never been disappointed. The food is excellent. Modern twists but still good cooking. My cured salmon with pickled radishes ( not exactly the dish on the menu but the...More

Thank lilyr0se54
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're glad you enjoyed yourselves, we look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Been a fan of River Cottage since Hugh left London for the South Coast. This was my first visit to a RC restaurant so my expectations were high and they didn't disappoint. Service was exceptional, waitress was knowledgeable and the food was amazing. Worth going...More

Thank rjholmesuk
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for the kind review!

Reviewed 1 week ago

This was are second visit to the canteen, we had travelled down from Leicester for the Spring Food Fair that was on at the river cottage HQ. It's pretty much as expected, Obviously the food is all fresh and locally sourced. we went in without...More

Thank Richard R
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit!

Reviewed 1 week ago

We have always followed river cottage since day one, whilst driving through we decided to stop for lunch & the RC Deli was the first place we saw. Amazed that somewhere so busy had space we thought it was rude not to take advantage. Our...More

Thank Sambo216
RCHQ, General Manager at River Cottage Canteen, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Many thanks for leaving a review we really do appreciate the feedback! Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Giant Club
38 reviews
.12 km away
Le Pisani
260 reviews
.14 km away
Cinnamons Indian Restaurant
277 reviews
.15 km away
Nearby Attractions
River Cottage
275 reviews
3.44 km away
Burrow Farm Gardens
76 reviews
5.49 km away
Lower Bruckland Farm Nature Reserve
19 reviews
5.55 km away
Uplyme Church
18 reviews
5.86 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sue J
15 August 2016|
Answer
Response from jo B | Reviewed this property |
Hi Ummm I don't see them turning you away but maybe let them know when you book Enjoy your lunchtime treat
0
Votes
Beverley T
6 August 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from Axminsterlady | Reviewed this property |
We once asked if we could take our well-behaved Border Collie in. We just wanted coffee but were refused.
0
Votes
sean d
3 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Richard_Feynman | Reviewed this property |
I disagree about the staff. They are very pleasant and helpful, especially William. The toilets do need modernising though and are barely adequate. The portions are rather small and quite pricey for what they are, but the... More
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$22 - US$51
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: New Commercial Inn Trinity Square, Axminster EX13 5AN, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Axminster
  • Phone Number: +44 1297 631715
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing