We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Greyhound

Certificate of Excellence
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Gower | Swansea, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
+44 1792 391027
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

552 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 551: English reviews
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Came across this pub by chance. We had an excellent Sunday lunch, quite the best for a long time. The lively young staff were very quick, friendly and attentive. Would thoroughly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SarHed4344
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Victorian Gower Pub. Atmospheric. We missed the Sunday Roast only served between 12 noon and 14.30 but have had it before. We shared the starter of deep fried scampi and salad. We had main course of Gower Salt Marsh Lamburger and Salad and Duck Breast and Vegetable Accompaniments. Ice cream sundaes for desserts. Good access for disabled. Vegan and Vegetarian... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhys J
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Good Sunday lunch at such good value. All roasts tasted good. Plenty of vegetables, a little over cooked but plentiful. Starters and desserts tasted good too.

Helpful?
Thank richards c
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to this pub last week for lunch. What a dreadful meal. We had ham, eggs and chips. I have never had such rubbish ham 2 half slices that you could read the paper through them, the chips were as hard as bullets the peas were good. The waitress was pleasant although she had blue hair. We would certainly not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Goldilocks, It seems from your review and previous reviews you are not happy with the food at our venues or on the one occasion you were happy with your food (the Ship Inn 26/03/17) you were then dissatisfied that the pub was “horrendously busy” and wanted a bigger choice on our menu. Having taken the time to read all... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I hear the tenants have changed and whilst the food was good before, it's much better now ! Absolutely terrific pub food for the price. I had fish in batter , the batter was light and super crispy, the chips were the best I've ever had and the home made tartare sauce was special . Can't fault it

Helpful?
Thank techanis
Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

By total luck we took a trip out and stopped at this pub. Didn't think for a minute we would get a table as car park full, but when we enquired a table was ready. We were first offered the function room but too noisy and cold ( great big party with loads ok kids going in and out of... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maisy22
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This pub has been a regular for myself and the rest of the family for a number of years. Called in yesterday for a quick meal, it was not quick at all. The pub was really quiet for a Saturday so we expected food quickly, we had to wait 40 mins. I ordered a Beef Lasagna, what turned up was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Waynethomas125
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Wayne Thomas125, Thank you for your feedback. We have raised the issues with the chef and reassured it will never be served as it was. We hope to see you again soon, and you will be writing a much more positive review. All @ the Greyhound More 

Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2017

My wife and I have used this pub twice before when in holiday on the Gower peninsula and were happy to go back but were really disappointed. Having the dog with us, we used the bar. Perhaps the restaurant was much better but the bar was a let down. The bench seats with "leather effect" had lost the leather and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Roger E
Lara J, Owner at The Greyhound, responded to this review

Dear Roger, We have taken on all your feedback and can reassure you that if you return the points listed have been addressed. We are awaiting the seats to be recovered.We can only apologise for the experience you had and hope you will be returning soon and writing a much more positive review. Lara More 

Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017 via mobile

* lovely traditional pub * car park * beer garden * restaurant * function room * clean and tidy washroom facilities * served local produce * very tasty and good size portions * very friendly and warm staff * reasonably priced * quick and efficient service * good choice of menu including specials and desserts

Helpful?
Thank Adamdanielwatkins
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017

Wow Wow Wow! Don't go here. Totally changed, new owners, new chef, awful menu. Couldn't tell me what was gluten free without phoning chef who was at home? Only when you are in large numbers do you realize that all the curries on the menu used the same base sauce and sliced, left over roast beef was so recognizable. So... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B

Travellers who viewed The Greyhound also viewed

Llanrhidian, Vale of Glamorgan
 
Llanmadoc, Swansea County
Llangennith, Swansea County
 
Swansea, Swansea County
Swansea, Swansea County
 

Been to The Greyhound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10 - US$22
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Welsh, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Television
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Gower | Swansea, Oldwalls SA3 1HA, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Southern Wales  >  Swansea County  >  Oldwalls
  • Phone Number: +44 1792 391027

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Greyhound and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
10 months ago
Swansea County, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Greyhound staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?