We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England
+44 191 389 2628
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
All hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 589: English reviews
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed next door for one night. Had lunch at Church Mouse, excellent. Returned later and had the shared platter. Again, excellent. The place was very busy indeed which is always a good sign, especially for somewhere out of town. We didn't have to wait at all for our food. I have to say the staff, without exception, whether behind bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank month06
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Went to celebrate my husband's birthday having been previously for my birthday in July. Not as impressed as I was then. Service was really slow despite plenty of waiting staff, not as busy as before so no excuses. Be prepared for a long wait.

Helpful?
Thank Hommassa
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hommassa, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. Thank you for your feeback More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A fantastic dining experience at the Church-mouse , early evening on a Monday night. Received a lovely warm welcome upon arrival . Our host Amanda made our dining experience first class . The food was excellent and the ambience of the place very cosy. This was our first visit and we will be returning very soon after this most enjoyable... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil C
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Neil C. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Church Mouse. Thank you More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Did not disappoint....!!! We were a table of 7 booking very last minute due to losing our reservation at another restaurant, so we called the Church Mouse to see if they could fit us in... Didn't sound very promising as they were extremely busy and it was already 7.30pm that evening! After a few hums and haws, the restaurant manager... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lucyloopyloo212
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Lucyloopyloo212. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Church Mouse. More 

durham uk
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Eight of us went for dinner,we had all been before at different times and enjoyed our previous visits. The young lady who served us was efficient and friendly and even though the pub was very busy, she took our orders and brought our drinks promptly. We had all been before at different times. We waited..and waited... but as I said... More 

Helpful?
Thank lollipop1
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Lollipop1, we regret that you had a negative experience with us, but are glad you brought this to our attention. If you wish to discuss this in more detail please contact us on 01913892628. Thank you More 

Willington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We Often call here for food. Lovely sitting next to the nice fire. Very cosy and welcoming with a choice of where to sit. The food is always great. The large Sunday lunch is definitely worth a try. Great service too.

Helpful?
Thank raymonda220
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Thanks for the feedback, Raymonda220. We strive to provide excellent service to our customers at The Church Mouse. More 

Chester le Street
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had evening meal on 7/11 with 9 year old grandson. We all enjoyed the food in a relaxing and cosy atmosphere. Good value too. Large selection on the menu but lacking more and varied vegetarian options although the veggy burger was delicious. Staff were attentive friendly and efficient.

Helpful?
Thank Pierreleplot
General Manager A, Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Thank you, Pierreleplot, for reaching out to us. Your opinion plays an integral part in our customer service. More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

1st visit to this pub. Nice welcome, nicely decorated. lost of tables in varying sizes. Waitress was very friendly , drinks were a bit slow to arrive after ordering. Menu was of a decent size with the usual meals and a specials menu. Food was hot and delicious.Prices were good.Would defiantly recommended this for a lovely meal out

Helpful?
Thank Pauline C
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you The Church Mouse Team More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Stunning little cosy pub that feels like home with a warm inviting atmosphere, some tables have scatter cushions for that extra bit of added support or comfort! Great wine selection available, we had the creamed mushrooms with garlic for starter which was a lovely dish & so very moreish and much better than just your average garlic mushroom starter that... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosiensims
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hello Thank you for your great comments we are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you next time. Thank you The Church Mouse Team More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Myself and my husband chose the church mouse for our day time venue,the place has a special place in both our hearts. From booking the venue to when we left,we can not fault anything at all. Michelle and Amanda had decorated our section perfectly and thought of every last detail. Its just keeps getting better,the food was truely amazing,the soup... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
General Manager A, Guest Relations Manager at Church Mouse, responded to this review

Hello Thank you very much for this fantastic review myself, Amanda and the Church Mouse Team are delighted that we could be a part of your big day and help make it special for you. We look forward to seeing you and your husband very soon. Thank you Michelle and The Church Mouse Team More 

Travellers who viewed Church Mouse also viewed

Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 
Chester-le-Street, Durham
Chester-le-Street, Durham
 

Been to Church Mouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Front Street, Chester-le-Street DH2 3RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Durham  >  Chester-le-Street
  • Phone Number: +44 191 389 2628
Description
The Church Mouse in Chester-le-Street is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Church Mouse and other visitors
2 questions
Ask a question
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
7 months ago
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Church Mouse staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?