We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
RM 47 - RM 141
CUISINES
Bar
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
142
19
9
10
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
142
19
9
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chicken curry wild mushrooms cheesecake sunday roast pudding prawns salad ice cream fantastic country family birthday celebration dog area clean plates high chair difficult times red wine the pub beer garden
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 5 days ago

Chicken very over cooked pepper sauce very sour sent it back veg couldn’t eat rock hard two different sauces for chicken both not good was told pepper sauce was freshly made it was awful no pepper corns in it

Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 April 2024 via mobile

We went here last night, Easter Sunday, 5:15pm, absolutely beautiful food! Barman was brilliant, had a good laugh, staff were pleasant, three courses for £25 each, food was hot, (pet hate of mine is cold food) lovely place, will definitely be back!!

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2024

5 of us turned up here one Saturday afternoon before Christmas on the off chance of there being a table free. My wife had heard good things from a friend. We had to wait in the bar for 10 minutes but we soon got sorted...with a table. I had the curry, my nephew had the burger and my wife, niece and mother-in-law all had the gammon. We all agreed the food was excellent as well as the service. Would return more often if we lived locally. Will definitely call in again when visiting relatives nearby. Give it a try.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Celebrated my 85th Birthday with family in this old country pub. Excellent service and ambiance. All meals arrived hot and at the same time - which cannot be said for more highly priced venue previous week. Varied selections from menu and everyone enjoyed their choice....Young front of house staff; well-trained, courteous and attentive. Thank you Lauren, your staff did you proud.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Thank you so much! I will pass on your lovely comments to my wonderful team! HAPPY BIRTHDAY!! X

Reviewed 18 March 2024

Booked a table for 2 people online for 2.15 PM, arrived 10 mins early , was told table wasn't ready and would come and inform us when it was , 20 mins later we had to ask was our table ready ! Oh yes it...was they had forgotten inform us, then we had to ask could we order .. not as if it was packed more tables empty than in use ,my husband ordered small fish and chips which was ok ( cant really go wrong with that !)I ordered chicken breast with chips , seasonal veg and red wine garlic and chill sauce .. chicken was dry tough and overcooked..seasonal veg ! 2 limp pieces of tenderstem broccoli a couple of pieces of leeks and green beans .. sauce was just like garlic gravy, chips were best thing on the plate , we had to ask could we order a drink , I ordered a 175 ml glass of red wine and I had to ask them to top it up as it was short measured, the waitress I suppose shes the manager came to take our plates and asked if everything was fine, I replied "it was ok !! She replied "well your plate is empty " I replied " yes I was hungry!! And she walked off .... overall not very pleased with our experience there after hearing good reports about it...More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Hi Carol, thank you for your feedback. Apologies you waited to be seated in our restaurant however if you do turn up early it is quite common on busy periods your table is still in use by another party. It was myself who spoke to...More

Reviewed 16 March 2024

We booked on line for 7.30pm , arrived at 7.15 and was asked to get a drink at the bar as the table wasn,t ready seated at 7.35 then had a wait for our order to be taken staff were very apologetic which was fine...as they were all rushing around and extremely busy food was spot on as always worth the waitMore

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you Karen! 😁

Reviewed 16 March 2024

My friends and I visited the Travellers Rest on the 14th March and had an excellent experience. I have a milk allergy which usually limits menu choices, however this did not create a problem for both myself and the resteraunt, every item on the menu...was explained in detail in regards what I could have and /or adjusted to meet my needs. The food was plentiful and delicious and the waiting time from ordering to delivery was minimal. I want to give a very special mention to Ford our waiter, as my friend stated " he's a lovely lad", he was very helpful and attentive to all our needs. My friends and I will most certainly be back and wholeheartedly recommended The Travellers Rest.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2024

Thank you for your lovely review, I will make sure to pass on your comments to Ford! 😁

Reviewed 11 March 2024 via mobile

First time visiting for a birthday meal. Pre-booked our table as I have heard it gets busy. Was met with a lovely friendly welcome. Ordered our drinks and we were informed of the specials. From ordering our food we didn’t have long to wait, our...starters were lovely and all hot. Our mains followed, again all hot. During both our starters and mains a member of staff came and checked to see if everything was ok, to which we answered yes. Everybody enjoyed their food, compliments to the chef. We will most definitely be visiting again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Thank you very much for your lovely review 😁

Reviewed 7 March 2024

Saddened by my experience. Asked for allergy info, explained I had a nut allergy. Ordered drinks, was then told they would not be serving us any food as it is the chef's livelihood we would be putting at risk and they cannot guarantee there wouldn't...be cross contamination. The approach taken by the manager was definitive and would not enter discussion on it. Saddened we cancelled our drinks and left. Concerned that the kitchen may not be clean and utensils etc may not be being cleaned properly as I cannot fathom why they would refuse so firmly. Will not be returning again.More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2024

Hello, unfortunately as you did not book or pre warn us before your visit we were unable to cater for your nut allergy as nuts were present in our kitchen at the time. A member of our team did mention he would need to speak...More

Reviewed 6 March 2024 via mobile

Birthday Meal was lovely as always…Crispy Beef and Butter Chicken on the Special’s Menu were delicious…and service fantastic.. Thank you Lauren & team once again 😘

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you Dawn! 😍

Reviewed 4 March 2024

This was my 3rd meal at Travellers Rest and the food was fantastic, atmosphere really comfortable and staff very polite and busy, keep up the great work guys 👍👍👍👍😃😃

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2024

Thank you Kevin!!

Reviewed 25 February 2024

Went for Sunday lunch as a group of 7 and had a varied selection of meals off the menu. Every meal was delicious and we all enjoyed it. Very good value for money. Staff were friendly and efficient.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2024

Thank you very much!

Reviewed 23 February 2024

Wonderfully warm welcome on entering this gorgeous little pub. All the staff were wonderfully attentive and the food was lovely. . . . Especially the desserts. It has a lovely atmosphere and the staff definitely deserve praise and recognition.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2024

Thank you for your wonderful review, I will pass your comments over to our team 😁

Reviewed 14 February 2024

Valentines meal best ever. Always guaranteed a warm welcome from all the staff. Every time we visit we want to come back. Food is amazing and total value for money. Can't wait for spring and summer in the lovely garden to drink and dine with...friendly folk and staff. See you soon P&MMore

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Thank you so much! 😁

Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

Went as a last minute decision for Sunday lunch. We had a roast beef dinner and a chicken and chorizo pie. Both were delicious. My husband's beef was so tender, he said it was like butter. My pie was tasty and the pastry was very...crispy. All the vegetables and chips were home cooked to perfection too. Would definitely recommendMore

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lauren Marsh, Owner at The Travellers Rest, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Thank you for your lovely review 😁

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Warrington Lowton
438 reviews
1.41 km away
The Kirkfield Hotel
174 reviews
1.87 km away
Mercure Haydock Hotel
1,238 reviews
3.49 km away
Holiday Inn Haydock M6, Jct.23, An IHG Hotel
1,367 reviews
3.54 km away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Stone Cross Table Table
755 reviews
.77 km away
Miller and Carter Steakhouse
1,318 reviews
1.41 km away
The Queen Anne
202 reviews
1.27 km away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Grange Farm
192 reviews
.38 km away
Treetops Play & Party Cafe
51 reviews
1.49 km away
Haydock Park Racecourse
619 reviews
3.56 km away
Alder Root Golf Club
5 reviews
3.71 km away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
marshallbrindley
25 October 2022|
Answer
Response from reevooo | Reviewed this property |
Go on the website
0
Votes
mountfordblueyon2017
17 August 2021|
Answer
Response from Karen W |
Not really a play area, but outside seating, it's lovely!
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

The Travellers Rest, Lowton - Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Travellers Rest

Yes, The Travellers Rest is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

The Travellers Rest is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4