We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kandoori

$$ - $$$, Indian, Asian
428 Galle Road | Hettimulla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka
+94 34 2 276761
Website
Save
All photos (66)
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent38%
  • Very good42%
  • Average13%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“biryani” (22 reviews)
“butter chicken” (13 reviews)
“naan” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Sri Lankan, Indian, Asian, International, Middle Eastern, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Halal
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
428 Galle Road | Hettimulla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka
All Details
Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here
Sponsored by: Kandoori
1. Chicken Biryani
"Loved this place for its authentic and super tasty chicken biryani."
PrashantNigam
Read review
2. Naan Bread & Curries
"I've had lunch there it's so good Indian food and the price is nice."
abobandar1
Read review
3. Sandwiches
"Their prices are quite reasonable and pocket friendly."
Shakeel Y
Read review
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a good place to have a meal.The prices are also considerable and the food offered is good. There is a good selection as well.

Thank Thusal H
KandooriRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Mr Thusal for your kind review hope to see you again

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 12 May 2017

All the local guys recommended this, so i checked it out. It was spot on fresh seafood and curry that i was looking for. Clean place, right near most of the resorts and hotels. A great selection on the menu and it was quickly prepared....More

Thank OLWDXB
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Conveniently located by the main Galle Road, the place is clean and the meals tasty. Although the buriyani was tasty (and we bought some to take away too) it lacked the customary egg and the onion peels.

Thank Max J
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, Our Signature Biryani come with either Raitha or Malay pickle visit us again you will get it with Malay pickle hope to see you soon

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited this restaurant on Thursday 12 October 2017. It is roughly 1.8 km from the Eden Resort and Spa, where we were staying. I would recommend that you take a tuck-tuck. However returning to the hotel during peak hour traffic poses a problem as...More

Thank Hooda5
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for reviewing us hope you enjoyed your meal hope to see you soon to try our Naan breads

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

If you are on the Galle road on the way to or from Colombo you have to drop by if it is time for a meal. Very simple mix of Indian, Thai and Chinese .... Sri Lanka style. But the Chinese Vegetable fried rice is...More

Thank ChangBoris
lafranshuaib, Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind review. Hope to see you again soon

Reviewed 13 October 2017

Much improved from our last visit 3 years ago. Restaurant has expanded and seems more airy. The meat is Halal and no alcohol is served. The lime juice drink is very refreshing. The menu is extensive with many types of curry and other Asian style...More

Thank Kat35
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking your time to review us and we are so glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again regards

Reviewed 5 October 2017 via mobile

They were just charging a huge amount but served nothing better Seafood rice just filled with vegetables, we were searching for prawns and other fish Very bad and the service also poor

Thank Anshaf N
lafranshuaib, General Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your feed back and sorry to disappoint you will definitely look in to this and make sure this won’t happen again and please visit us again

Reviewed 29 August 2017

It was ok type, not much to mention but the food was tasty. We had vegetarian meal. Not a fine dining place but can have a decent meal

Thank Surangi P
KandooriRestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review,

Reviewed 23 August 2017

We walked down to this restaurant from the hotel we were staying at (Hotel Water lily). I had ordered Biryani a couple of times at Sri Lanka was very disappointed so far; but I decided to give it a try at this restaurant and to...More

Thank Aditya_salian
lafranshuaib, Manager at Kandoori, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2017

Thank you Aditya for your review,

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We had lunch, when we asked for some dishes they said we are out of it. Still the food good. But, the service was not good at all. Never go again

Thank mohammad a
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Coral Reef Sea Food Restaurant
111 reviews
1.20 km away
Sunflower Restaurant
154 reviews
1.21 km away
Hilda's Coffee Bar & Sea Food Restaurant
131 reviews
1.20 km away
Catamaran Restaurant
34 reviews
1.21 km away
Nearby Attractions
Beruwala Beach
271 reviews
1.29 km away
Dara Gems and Jewellery
24 reviews
1.54 km away
Kande Viharaya
105 reviews
1.75 km away
Guide in Sri Lanka
40 reviews
.52 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Hooda5
28 August 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from lafranshuaib | Property representative |
It's just 1.5 km away better to take a tuk tuk
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$10
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Takeout, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Monday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Tuesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Wednesday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Thursday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Friday
2:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Saturday
11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 428 Galle Road | Hettimulla, Beruwala 12070, Sri Lanka
  • Location: Asia  >  Sri Lanka  >  Western Province  >  Beruwala
  • Phone Number: +94 34 2 276761
  • E-mail
Description
Restaurant is Located in Tourist area on the Main Colombo-Galle road, We are popular among tourist for our Tasty foods and Reasonable pricing. We serve Indian, Chinese and Western Cuisine at affordable price. Highly recommend on Lonely Planet TripAdvisor and other Local sites. Our popular dishes are Biryani, Naan breads,Chapatti, Nasi Gorang, Seafood Noodle, Indian curries, Chines Dishes, Burgers and Submarines and don't miss out our Watalappam a local dessert
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing