We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove Lock

Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
+44 1525 380940
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent32%
  • Very good37%
  • Average16%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (9 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
“the pub” (55 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (559)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 558 reviews

Reviewed yesterday

So disappointed as I have had a few meals here and always had no problems and enjoyed my time at this restaurant, but this time the waitress lost our order. We had to go and find out why we were still waiting after about an...More

Thank JillRd
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

With this being our local, in such a beautiful spot with so much potential, it’s so frustratingly average! The staff always seem to be so rushed and never happy, service is ok but you almost feel like an inconvenience. The food has gone down hill...More

Thank Luke G
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we can assure you that our guests are most certainly not an inconvenience, and we welcome all, including well behaved pet dogs. We can only apologise if the food was not up to the standard...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Do Nick Beggs and the members of Kajagoogoo drink here? The food was really good and would highly recommend Had a great time speaking to some lovely locals.

Thank paul f
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi, and thank you so much for your lovely review , yes we do have a member of Kajagoogoo who visits us, please come back soon and you may even see him. Cheers The Grove Lock Team.

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Road leading up to location has signs were advising road closure but this did not affect entry into this public house. The staff were very attentive, the food was great and was priced competitive. Would definatly return again. The Manager was friendly and engaging as...More

Thank Penster501
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much, its always frustrating when roadwork's are in process however as we are all aware a necessity with the winter approaching, we all enjoy engaging with our guests, so this is great to hear. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Approach to the restaurant was not impressive but inside was fine. Pleasant staff, fast service and reasonable food but seemed to be greatly overpriced.

Thank warboys
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review, we do pride ourselves on great service and food, we are a little off the beaten track, however its great that you found us. Thanks again The Grove Lock Team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had made a booking in advance for 2pm but upon arrive told our table was not ready which was fine. Unfortunately it didn’t become available until 2.35pm which I consider too big a gap. We took a standard roast lunch order that came at an...More

Thank Rob_Elsey
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello Rob thank you for the feedback on your visit, firstly I must apologise that your table was still occupied by our previous guests, we always make people aware that the table is needed again, and allow at least two hours between sittings , however...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First visit here. Nice location and staff very friendly. Starter (to share) was cheesy garlic bread, it is what it is and what we expected, so no major issues there. Main courses were Pie & Mash, Burger & Chips, and a pizza for the little...More

Thank Nick M
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, our pizzas are made for us and not prepared here, however all of our children's meals are carefully balanced to suit the nutritional needs of a young child, so we feel that we offer great...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I walk the tow paths regularly so I'm always looking for somewhere nice to stop for a cuppa. Very friendly staff at The Grove Lock, nice cup of tea, complimentary shortbread biscuit. Lovely. Only knocking one star off for no loo paper in the ladies.More

Thank gillianbc
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, nothing like a nice cuppa after a walk , unless we can tempt you with something else next time! Umm no loo paper is not good, as we always replenish supplies throughout the day so we will be extra vigilant...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to admit we were told on arrival that food was delayed by up to 45 minutes. It was one of those sunny autumn Sunday afternoons and the garden was chock-a-block so not surprising. We'd booked our table advance but even so it was...More

Thank Selkie_12
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, we are sorry that there was a delay for your food, I am afraid that sometimes an unexpected visit from the sunshine can provide us with a few extra guests, and although we have a...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Popped in for a drink after a walk along the canal. Lovely location. Very busy, chaotic queuing at the bar took over 25mins to be served. (No separate till for drinks only!) People waiting for over an hour to receive their prepaid meals. Restaurant stopped...More

Thank AJandS
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, due to fine weather days proving rare at the moment it is impossible to foresee how very busy the bar may become on these occasions, 25 minutes seems an unusual time to wait even during these busy periods, we often...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship
310 reviews
1.84 km away
Nourish
23 reviews
2.00 km away
Shan Shui Cottage
194 reviews
2.03 km away
Sorelli Cafe
337 reviews
2.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Mead Open Farm
422 reviews
3.65 km away
Stockgrove Country Park
47 reviews
6.39 km away
Ascott House
216 reviews
2.38 km away
Rushmere Country Park
279 reviews
4.95 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Grove Lock staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, View, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Monday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Leighton Buzzard
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 380940
  • E-mail
Description
This canalside pub serves up hearty food, traditional ales and wonderful views over the water. Located beside Lock 28 of the Grand Union Canal, it's a shining example of a great English local pub.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing