We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
441525380940
Website
Today
12:00 - 19:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 19:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

457 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 456: English reviews
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Took the family here for Sunday lunch. We asked the waiter if he recommended the beef or lamb and he recommended the beef which was excellent. Lovely setting by the canal and we had a view overlooking. The staff for were very good at their jobs and courteous. I have also visited here in the summer and it's great to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Nick L
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you for your fantastic review, we do indeed become extremely busy, particularly at week ends so be sure to book to avoid disappointment. I am very proud of our team as our guests needs are our priority. Thank you again Karen and the team. More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Visit here a lot and we are never disappointed apart from when we can't get in because they are too busy! Great service, great food. And massive plus for me is decent coffee with skimmed milk. Very few places bother to provide choices of milk, assuming everyone can tolerate semi skimmed. They get my vote every time. Sits right on... More 

Helpful?
Thank HavendaleNo1
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you so much for you're lovely 5 star review, our team always endeavour to provide guests with the best service possible, and its always nice for them to see that their extremely hard work and dedication is much appreciated. Cheers again Karen and the Team. More 

Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Just the two of us on the way back from Milton Keynes, we had a lamb roast and a steak and ale pie which was good but a distinct lack of veg which was a shame .Initial service really friendly and welcoming however we arrived at 5pm and I guess it was a shift change ,they lost out on cheese... More 

Helpful?
Thank tim615
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for your review, I must apologise if the service was slow as at this time of day it is most unusual, your comments are of great value to us as we strive to provide great service as well as great food, I will most certainly look into why you waited so long, please don't let this... More 

Castres, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I went here with my daughter, who is vegan, and her little dog, because it was a lovely day and we could sit outside and watch the boats and not worry about having the dog with us. Most places have one or two vegan options like mushroom risotto which gets very boring. But here, I was amazed to see a... More 

Helpful?
Thank schadd2016
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you for your generous review its so important to cater for every ones tastes these days, so comments like these are greatly appreciated.. Look forward to seeing you again. Karen and the Team. More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

just stopped in for snack, had two toasties, very filling and tasty great place to stop was very busy always a sign of a good place to stop

Helpful?
Thank Peter F
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review and I do agree our toasties are delicious. Hope to see you again soon Karen and the team More 

Linslade
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

After a minor upset a couple of months ago, I was offered a resolution far beyond what was anticipated or sought. Having visited earlier today, all my worries were firmly cast aside and I was oh so happy to be back. Simple wholesome food; charming helpful, knowledgeable staff and Fullers beers. What is not to like?

Helpful?
Thank Tom W
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Wow, Thank you what can I say but come back soon. Cheers Karen and the team. More 

pyke8
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here with friends and while the pub itself is quite pleasant, we found the food to be very disappointing. The main courses that we chose cost around £12.95, for example I had battered haloumi and chips. This dish costs appreciably less in other pubs in the area, so I was expecting something special. It wasn't!! My wife and friend... More 

Helpful?
Thank pyke8
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Oh dear, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy one of our most popular dishes, however we are always more than happy to replace any dish with something else of your choice, I do feel that we offer great value for money, but take on board your comments as all feedback is of great importance to us. Hope to see you... More 

Abbots Langley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited here a few years ago and the menu had a varied choice. Went on Monday 27th Feb and the menu is now a boring pub menu with the usual suspects. Food quite bland and uninspiring and lacked that feel good factor. The deserts were better than the mains apart from the Orange Chocolate ice cream served with the brownie... More 

Helpful?
Thank trixie0515
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Hi, I do remember you querying the orange ice cream , which has only natural orange flavours so is not the usual vibrant colour that we probably expect, we try to offer popular pub dishes but always offer chefs signature dishes to complement our menu, please don't give up on us were a friendly crowd and welcome your custom. many... More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I like it here, good location and nice beer. My partner however finds the menu a bit bland. Clearly this is a personal choice but worth checking the menu.

Helpful?
Thank _ash_twist
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our pub, we like to think that we can offer a dish to suit all tastes. Cheers again Karen and the team. More 

Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Where the great train robbery took place just down the road, great place, friendly staff, and a great place to spend time with friends in the coming summer.

Helpful?
1 Thank Doz1980
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, we all love it here and the summer months are fabulous. Thanks again Karen and the team. More 

Travellers who viewed The Grove Lock also viewed

Wingfield, Leighton Buzzard
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Linslade, Leighton Buzzard
 
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Grove Lock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 19:00
Monday
12:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Leighton Buzzard
  • Phone Number: 441525380940
Description
Beside Lock 28 of the Grand Union Canal, lies a shining example of the great English pub. The Grove Lock serves up hearty food, traditional ales and wonderful views over the water.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Grove Lock staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?