We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Grove Lock

Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
+44 1525 380940
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good37%
  • Average15%
  • Poor9%
  • Terrible9%
Travellers talk about
“roast beef” (8 reviews)
“ham” (6 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
$$ - $$$
Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 613 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

We park our motorhome on the site next door. The pub is handy when we can't be bothered to cook. The pub does get very busy in the summer with walkers, cyclists and caravanners. Loads of outside terrace space overlooking the canal. Very good menu,...More

Thank Ian B
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visited this pub with friends for dinner, if the weather is good, you would rather sit at the garden. The garden offers nice view to the river nearby the pub. The food wasn’t something special, I would say average pub food. But the dessert...More

Thank antoncarth
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely venue, friendly helpful staff and very good food. They are always happy to accommodate children's meals and supply highchairs for toddlers.

Thank Christine L
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This place has really gone down hill. Small portion sizes. Long wait for food. My father was served a mezzo plater without the halloumi (the first listed ingredient). When he went to ask where this was, he was told, sorry, we ran out. They cheekily...More

2  Thank Claire M
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked table in advance due to it being bank holiday - when arrived was turned away as they had closed their kitchen as they were under staffed there was a two hour wait for those who had ordered food - I suggest that the manager...More

1  Thank HMills2525
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit, the duty manger did indeed do her utmost to control the volume of food , but it is not possible to stop food service in our garden as many of our booked guests are given...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We walked for an hour along the canal to get to the pub. Arrived at 745pm, chose a table, sat down, went to bar to order drinks and get food menus. Only to be told that the kitchen was taking last orders and was closing....More

2  Thank Sarah S
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, food service on bank holidays closes at 7.30pm which is the same as Sunday service, so we must apologise if this is not made clear on our web site. We did indeed serve people beyond the closing time and tried...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Useless staff, rude manager, took over an hour for even my children’s meals to come out. Garden was disgustingly dirty, had to clear a table of dirty plates etc myself so I could sit with my family. Ran out of basics - no crisps and...More

Thank Demelz
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, I am sure that the duty manager did not wish to appear rude as she is a highly popular team member with our customers with a young family of her own, and fully appreciates the difficulties of dining with hungry...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I had booked a table for 8 friends weeks ago, when we arrived we were told thier would be no waitress service and we would have to go to the bar to order food and drinks. When we ordered our food we're told much of...More

Thank Tracy C
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit, firstly we must apologise for our menu being greatly restricted, this was due to the sheer volume of guests during the bank holiday weekend, and was completely unforeseeable , we always order more than...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We cycled up the canal from Aylesbury for lunch and when we got here we were told there was a food ordering ban until 3 o’clock. A little disappointed after our long ride but we got a couple of drinks and waited the hour until...More

Thank Tanya G
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I am so sorry that your journey was a wasted one as it an extremely long bike ride at the best of times. We unfortunately did run out of crisps and snacks until fresh deliveries today, so for this we must apologise, but we most...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ordered food that the staff had no knowledge of for a start, ordered my favourite food n my partner ordered simple classic pub meal , both our meals came out cold n being mine were mussels I was very disappointed , fries were cold ,...More

Thank hcl900
Karen C, Manager at The Grove Lock, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear of your most disappointing meal, I must point out that we most certainly serve bread if requested without oils and most certainly do not charge the set price of the starter, so this will be...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Leighton Buzzard Hotels
Swan Hotel
407 reviews
2.13 km away
Dunstable Hockliffe
11 reviews
6.79 km away
Redwings Lodge Dunstable
208 reviews
7.28 km away
Bellows Mill
48 reviews
7.34 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Ship
341 reviews
1.84 km away
29 reviews
2.00 km away
Shan Shui Cottage
236 reviews
2.03 km away
Sorelli Cafe
371 reviews
2.05 km away
Nearby Attractions
Grand Union Canal
84 reviews
2.83 km away
Mead Open Farm
479 reviews
3.37 km away
Ascott House
234 reviews
2.38 km away
Rushmere Country Park
316 reviews
4.59 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from The Grove Lock staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$14 - US$25
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 PM - 7:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
12:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Grove | Leighton Buzzard, Leighton Buzzard LU7 0QU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Bedfordshire  >  Leighton Buzzard
  • Phone Number: +44 1525 380940
  • E-mail
This canalside pub serves up hearty food, traditional ales and wonderful views over the water. Located beside Lock 28 of the Grand Union Canal, it's a shining example of a great English local pub.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing