We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant

Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
+44 1454 313000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (15 reviews)
“ham” (8 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 2 days ago

We have stayed here many times and always have a good time. Just returned from a couple of nights with good food and accommodation and great staff. Dog-friendly, too. Lovely atmosphere in the bar in the evening. Tommy, who ran the bar when we were...More

Thank sally d
A TripAdvisor Member
113
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

I recently stated here for night whilst away on business. Its on a main road/ crossroads but fortunately my room was facing the back so no noise issues. The building is old and as such the ceilings are quite low. I'm 6 foot 1 and...More

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were told after our starters that one of our main courses was no longer available. Having substituted the risotto for a steak, we then had to wait a further 15/20 mins for it to arrive and how disappointing. Badly cooked for 'medium', tough as...More

Thank Mandy W
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for posting your comments. We're very sorry that your most recent visit did not reflect our normal standards of excellent service. We ask that you get in touch with us directly to discuss your issues further on 6435@greeneking.co.uk. George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 5 days ago

I try and use this excellent Inn whenever I am passing at meal times. Conveniently situated on good road connections the staff are always on the ball and their friendly efficiency must be the envy other establishments. I have never had a bad meal here...More

Thank martinhH5865RD
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your review. It's lovely to read you are becoming a regular of ours and have enjoyed each of your visits! We do hope to be seeing you again soon. George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were in the area and went here yesterday lunchtime, for a trip down memory lane since we stayed here first night of our honeymoon in 1995 on the back of 'if it is good enough for the Queen for one night, it must be...More

Thank zoradi t
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that your most recent visit was not what you expected it to be. Our hotel has come a long way since your last visit, especially since our major refurbishment in 2013. Should you wish to discuss any...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here Sunday & Bank Holiday Monday - staff are so professional & polite - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast is very good & the menu is so good we all took hours pouring over it as we really didn't know what to choose!...More

Thank saraWorthing
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your great review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and all aspects of your stay. We do hope to be seeing you again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great venue for a lovely lunch! My wife and I visited on a Thursday lunchtime, and although we only had the fish and chips, it was cooked perfectly! Great selection of real ales, which were kept very well! Excellent value, and well worth...More

Thank StevenSevern1
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you again for your lovely comments, and we really do hope to be seeing you soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 16 April 2018

In December last year, we were disappointed with our lunch, and we attributed this to problems in the kitchen. We also reported that because there had been good aspects of the service we should return at some point. We have returned for Sunday lunch on...More

Thank Wallace P
Old_English_Inns99, brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We're happy to read that you have enjoyed your past couple visits and we have lived up to our usual standard of service. We do hope we'll be seeing you again soon. George, Colette and the team,

Reviewed 6 March 2018

Met with friends for a Sunday lunch get together. We had pre booked a table which was set ready for us on arrival. The large dining area is decorated and fitted out in an elegant style and tables are well spaced. Of interest is the...More

2  Thank earthtravelller
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Thank you for your comments. It's great to hear you enjoyed your recent Sunday lunch visit to us. We hope to see you again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 23 February 2018

return visit after giving it a miss for 6 months,through bad service.It has not improved. We eat off the cheap menu,it was cheap and nasty!! We had soup to stand the spoon up and the ribs.What a joke,the smallest end of the rib with next...More

Thank Neil D
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear of your disappointing re-visit. If you wish to discuss your issues directly with us; then please email 6435@greeneking.co.uk. George, Colette and the team.

Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all Old Sodbury Hotels
The Sodbury House Hotel
54 reviews
1.87 km away
Best Western Compass Inn
393 reviews
2.46 km away
The Portcullis Hotel
27 reviews
3.52 km away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
1,162 reviews
8.61 km away
Nearby Restaurants
The Major's Retreat
236 reviews
2.47 km away
The Bell Inn at Old Sodbury
316 reviews
2.59 km away
Mrs G's
142 reviews
3.48 km away
Wishing Well Inn
131 reviews
4.10 km away
Nearby Attractions
Majors Retreat
38 reviews
2.50 km away
Chipping Sodbury Golf Club
19 reviews
3.39 km away
Dyrham Park
1,002 reviews
5.60 km away
Lord Robert Somerset Monument
11 reviews
6.02 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Janet J
9 May 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Wallace P | Reviewed this property |
Hello Janet, We have used the Cross Hands a couple of times recently and enjoyed both visits. We always like to book for the restaurant as then you have a reserved place in very pleasant surroundings. You can find the menu... More
1
Vote
Sara B
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The-Nosh-Ninja | Reviewed this property |
I've been in at 8am and been served a lovely breakfast at a very reasonable price.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining
Good for
Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Old Sodbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 313000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing