We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant

Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
+44 1454 313000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent37%
  • Very good28%
  • Average13%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible11%
Travellers talk about
“fish and chips” (15 reviews)
“mixed grill” (5 reviews)
“chilli” (5 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

Four of us had booked a table for lunch in the restaurant and on arrival were shown to our table by a waitress who was bright, engaging and attentive. The starters of whitebait and leek & potato soup were deemed a success and we were...More

Thank Wallace P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Had Sunday lunch and was impressed. It looks like it's been recently refurbished and was well decorated / cosy inside. Had lovely, friendly service. Ordered roast beef which was good - generous beef, ever so slightly pink, with nice accompaniments. There's options to add extras...More

Thank BecciT
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just had one of the best meals iv had in a long time food was perfect service was great I would recommend the steak and ribs and hubby had new starter pigs in Yorkshire said it was lush followed by mix grill which was great...More

1  Thank Lynette B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stopped at this large pub/hotel purely by chance and were glad that we did so. The young lady behind the bar was charmingly helpful. The menu was innovative and not the run of the mill pub grub. It was well presented and well cooked....More

Thank Sustainer
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I visited here when staying just up the road. The place was very nice and had a traditional English pub feel. The food was ok but nothing special I had the curry banquet. £12. For the price I could have gone to an Indian and...More

Thank Phil H
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for posting your review. We hope that you'll come and visit us if you're staying in the area again. We have rooms available too. George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 29 August 2017

Enjoyed a fantastic evening meal with the other half. Starter was a sizeable chicken liver pate ,absolutely fantastic then I opted the lamb shank which was delicious followed by a tasty dessert . Price wise was reasonable and you get what you pay for ....More

Thank Wazzer1965
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We're very happy to hear you enjoyed your most recent visit to us, and do hope you'll come and sample some of our other menu dishes really soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 11 August 2017

We visited this restaurant for a birthday celebration meal with family and were not disappointed. Nice bar area and restaurant, plenty of parking and a menu that caters for all tastes. The food was well cooked and nicely presented and the service was good if...More

Thank MichaelB2009
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your posting your comments. We're happy to hear you enjoyed a lovely birthday celebration with us. We hope you will all consider coming back again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

Have been to this Restaurant in the past,however we thought we would try a Sunday Roast. We were glad We missed starters,our meals arrived promptly on huge plates.The meat was cooked perfectly,with plenty of fresh veg,and Roasters. The plates were empty come the end every...More

Thank HOLIDAYMANBRISTOL
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Very happy to hear you enjoyed our hearty roast dinners and hope that you'll come back again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 4 August 2017 via mobile

I would have given 1 rating but for the waitress who was friendly and accommodating. The dining area was good and i was really looking forward to my meal. What a disappointment when the food arrived. Over cooked chicken breast dry as sin and burnt...More

Thank cavemansclub
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your comments. We're very sorry to hear of your most recent disappointing visit. if you would like to discuss your issues further, please contact us on 01454 313000 or 6435@greeneking.co.uk. George, Colette and the team.

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

I visited here with friends and I was pleasantly surprised!! I hadn't visited this pub/restaurant for about 15 years and all the reports from friends was that it's OK!!! to be honest it really was very nice 5***** from me!!👍❤️❤️

Thank buff310
Old_English_Inns99, Brand at The Cross Hands Hotel Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Thank you for your post. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and hope you will come back again soon! George, Colette and the team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
JP Destiny
134 reviews
.87 km away
Prego
248 reviews
.29 km away
Caffe Arabica
39 reviews
.37 km away
Nearby Attractions
University of Bristol Botanic Garden
100 reviews
.79 km away
The Cambridge Arms
24 reviews
.93 km away
The Orpheus Cinema
116 reviews
.35 km away
The White Horse
124 reviews
1.36 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Sara B
5 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from The-Nosh-Ninja | Reviewed this property |
I've been in at 8am and been served a lovely breakfast at a very reasonable price.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Tetbury Road | Near Bristol, South Gloucestershire, Old Sodbury BS37 6RJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Gloucestershire  >  Old Sodbury
  • Phone Number: +44 1454 313000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing