We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Dolphin Inn

$$ - $$$
Bar, British, Pub
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JY, England
+44 1962 775209
Website
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 119: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The accommodation was adequate, the apartment was well suited for mum, dad and two children.Very clean all round. One double down and two single up stairs. Plenty of tea,coffe and milk provided in the room. Unfortunetly it was the meals in the resteraunt that let the inn down. The quality of the meals for the three of us was not... More 

Helpful?
Thank lilypug2
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2016

We have passed by this pub so many times we finally decided to give it a try for a quick supper. The menu was fairly limited with what I would describe as family favourites : ham,egg,chips ,sausages etc BUT the food was cooked quickly with friendly staff and a really nice, cosy pub . We would probably return for drinks... More 

Helpful?
Thank EliMHants
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again over the festive season when the fires will be burning and the atmosphere full of the joys of the season. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

We have just been there and the food is great. Portions are good and is great value for money. My only negatives are the soggy napkins and the toilets which were a little grubby but apart from that it was great. Set in a lovely village with a scenic garden.

Helpful?
Thank smurray84
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and have passed your comments onto the chef. We also appreciate your feedback and are pleased to let you know that we have planned to renovate the bathrooms in the new year. We hope to see you again soon. More 

Banstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

On the last day of our holiday we visited The Dolphin Inn for dinner. We were the first to arrive at 6pm. Our order was taken, however it was 1 and a 1/2 hours later when our food arrived. This was not food considering we had 2 children with us who were starving. Other people had arrived after us and... More 

Helpful?
Thank 2014Parkes
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. Please accept our sincere apologies that your visit was not as it should have been. I would like at this to ask you to email us at Thedolphinhursley@mail.com so I can look to offer you some form of compensation as we do not expect customers to pay for meals... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

Where do we start, if there was a 10* rating, we would be leaving it. We have been dealing with "Sophie" at The Dolphin since December 2015 when we discussed an option of having our wedding meal in the restaurant. The communication, friendliness, willing to help and adapt to whatever we wished for has been top class. Every phone conversation,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Bev S
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mark & Bev Thank you for your glowing review. You were both a wonder to work for which made our job easier. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your day as much as we did doing it. We look forward to seeing you again at The Dolphin again in the near Future More 

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2016

We went here on Sunday lunchtime a week or so ago. All tables were booked in restaurant so sat outside. Really pleasantly surprised! Lasagne really nice not like ready meal or from frozen at all and I don't usually like it that much but this was fantastic and the price so reasonable. That was my partner's meal! - I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank fussy_fancy
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you to the Dolphin again soon. More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2016

The service was very good and the staff very friendly and helpful The food was excellent and the service prompt. The room we had was attached to the pub and was nice enough but could have done with updating, once done it would be very nice.This however was made up for by the breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Davidgriffin
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Dolphin. We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you to The Dolphin again in the future More 

Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2016

I had my wedding here in July and nothing was to much trouble, excellent food, decoration, accommodation, drinks and overall service was amazing nothing was to much trouble for the landlady Kath. Would love to have my wedding all over again my only problem was the day went to quick.

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Warren & Charlotte. We were delighted to host your special day and hope you had a lovely time. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to The Dolphin again soon. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2016 via mobile

I can honestly say this was the worst pub meal I've ever had, I went out with a group of friends (15 pax) and not one meal was good. If you want cash n carry frozen food that has been deep fried to within an inch of its life, or steak that could double as shoe leather then this is... More 

Helpful?
Thank MrsRB22
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Dear Mrs R Thank you for taking the time to review our family business. We were very disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your meals. We pride ourself on our home cooked food and freshly delivered steaks delivered every morning and therefore were surprised to read that you found the quality inadequate. I have taken your comments with... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Nice pub, fairly large. Looks and smells like wood, which really adds to the ambience of the place. Lovely garden with bouncy castle and swings ect for children to play on. We sat in the garden on a beautiful day, seemed to be popular with the locals.

Helpful?
Thank JammyFish
Likesagoodnightout, Owner at Dolphin Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our family business and we look forward to welcoming you to Thw Dolphin again soon. Kind regards Kath Sheridan More 

Travellers who viewed Dolphin Inn also viewed

Ampfield, Hampshire
 
Twyford, Winchester
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to Dolphin Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Main Road, Hursley SO21 2JY, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  Hursley
  • Phone Number: +44 1962 775209

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of Dolphin Inn and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Dolphin Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?