We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Surfside Restaurant

Strand Pavilion Centre, Beach Road, Strand | Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa, Strand 7140, South Africa
+27 21 853 2748
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent18%
  • Very good19%
  • Average21%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible29%
Travellers talk about
“grilled hake” (3 reviews)
“seafood” (9 reviews)
“ice cream” (2 reviews)
Open Now
18:00 - 22:00All hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Strand Pavilion Centre, Beach Road, Strand | Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa, Strand 7140, South Africa
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just after getting off in Strand after one hour of train travel and as it was my first visit of the place, I was not clear in mind what to do next. But I know at least that there is a beach and there is...More

Thank Pat_traveller1
Reviewed 17 August 2017

A group of us went for a lunch and all that was good about the experience was the company and great conversation . Service non-existing , drinks watered down and food terrible __ overcooked to the point where everything tasted like old leather .More

Thank Thom N
Surfside349, Owner at Surfside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good afternoon Thom We have just read your review, and are naturally quite concerned! We would very much appreciate it if you can contact us so we can speak to you directly regarding your experience and address the matter accordingly. Please e-mail your contact details...More

Reviewed 16 August 2017 via mobile

The location of this place is a gem. The Restaurant has a 270 degree view of the ocean, an I mean no beach...it's built jutting out into the ocean. This restaurant has a full bar(bonus), exceptional bathrooms.....and an amazing bar deck overlooking the ocean. The...More

Thank Deanen P
Surfside349, Front Office Manager at Surfside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the positive feedback. We looking forward to serving you again in the furture. Best regards.

Reviewed 29 July 2017

We got a booking fairly easily, next to the sea. When we arrived there, we could see why - the parking area that the restaurant used before, has closed. Luckily we found a parking. Service was extremely slow. As in EXTREMELY slow. Our waitron often...More

Thank Estelle V
Reviewed 4 July 2017

Whilst staying at the very welcoming Strand Pavilion we decided to eat at the on site Restaurant Surfside. Whilst the service was very good the food was disappointing to say the least. The line fish was totally overcooked and had to be sent back to...More

1  Thank Norman C
Reviewed 4 June 2017 via mobile

Nice family outing with good live music. Even some dancing thrown in for good measure. Food was price competively. And the food was good. I had the fish and I was really good.

Thank Deon v
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Old-style Sunday lunch offerings.We were recommended by friends that have been coming here for years, but we were really disappointed with the quality of the food. Couldn't cater for special dietary requirements and if we didn't have a waiter with a great sense of humour,...More

Thank SanityNet
Reviewed 3 May 2017

We wanted a seat with a view in the evening and were given no view in a three- quarters empty restaurant. The waiter was surley and disinterested. We moved ourselves to a table with a beautiful view and had a smiling, helpful waiter, He was...More

Thank Alicia633
Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

Yesterday we arrived in the strand and ventured off to the Surfside restaurant as it has a beautiful view. The service we was received was appalling! We had to ask just about everything including cutlery instead of the waitress using her initiative. Just to top...More

Thank Gillon B
Surfside349, Owner at Surfside Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Good evening Gillon. Many thanks for you feedback. We value your comments and assure you that quality service is our priority. It would be most helpful if you could mail us directly with more detail as to when and what time you dined with us...More

Reviewed 28 March 2017 via mobile

We popped in for lunch. The place seems run down. Food OK service slow. A great location and seems a waste. Could be so much better

Thank aplpdf22
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Ocean Basket Strand
133 reviews
.35 km away
Ciao Bella Pizzeria
61 reviews
1.32 km away
JJ's Cafe and Deli
26 reviews
.46 km away
The Green Fountain
16 reviews
.49 km away
Nearby Attractions
Strand Beach
107 reviews
3.00 km away
Son Surf School Strand
57 reviews
3.11 km away
Cheetah Outreach
649 reviews
4.45 km away
Water World Strand
26 reviews
3.10 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
eljurisa
24 May 2016|
Answer
Response from Surfside349 | Property representative |
Good afternoon and thank you for your enquiry. Our Sunday buffet lunch is R159.00pp and is served from 12 noon until 4pm. The buffet: Roast Pork, Chicken & Beef with hot seasonal vegetables, roast potatoes, soup... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$13
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Parking Available
Good for
View, Child-friendly, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:00
Monday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 16:00
18:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Strand Pavilion Centre, Beach Road, Strand | Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa, Strand 7140, South Africa
  • Location: Africa  >  South Africa  >  Western Cape  >  Cape Town  >  Strand
  • Phone Number: +27 21 853 2748
Description
Surfside Restaurant, Bistra& Fat Cats Cocktail are situted in the Strand Pavilion Resort ins Strand. The building is over the sea with spectacular views over False Bay. The sunsets are breathtaking!
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing