We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Ringwood Road, Bransgore, New Forest BH23 8AA, England
01425672279
Website
Today
12:00 - 23:00
Open now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 22:30
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 23:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

327 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 326: English reviews
Bransgore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Went with friends for a meal. Lots of dishes off the menu. Ended up having the sirloin steaks, all 4 very poor quality. Definately not worth the money and will not go again.

Helpful?
4 Thank KS181261
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your visit last night. We have some limited stock this week as we are closing for a £222,000 referbishment. I hope you were made aware of this. We did cook a steak further so it was to your liking. Had you have told us all of the steaks were of... More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Dog friendly! Great food and really pleasant staff. A little more expensive than usual but we put that down to it being Easter Sunday. Food was outstanding though.

Helpful?
Thank Amadeus H
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

You really made our day today. Amadeus H, thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. Wishing you a great day until the next time we meet Kind Regards Ben Stothard GM More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at the Crown with two questions, do they allow dogs (yes, in the bar area) and can we stay in car park if we eat/drink in the pub (yes), so we spent a lovely evening in the pub and were made to feel welcome all the staff were friendly and offered the dogs a biscuit or two, they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ian D
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for sharing these comments, Ian D. You really made our day today. I am looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards Ben More 

New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've been going to The Crown in Bransgore for years. I meet 4 very good friends once a month for a Wine and Whinge as we all have adult children on the Autism spectrum so we need a night out. Last year things were pretty grim and after a couple of disaster evenings we took our custom elsewhere. We hear... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Deneese60
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Good afternoon. I am sorry that you feel you have been ripped off, this is of course not our intention. I would have happily replaced your meal for something else if the duck was to small a portion for you please call us on 01425 672279 if you wish to discuss any further Kind regards Ben Stothard GM More 

Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited midweek. Restaurant was fairly busy and staff warned us there may be a small delay from the kitchen service which was good. As it happened the staff managed fine and food and drinks were prompt. Varied menu with plenty of options at reasonable prices. Restaurant is very clean and tidy. Set out well with the appearance inside and out... More 

Helpful?
Thank DOCKERSTA
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent visit. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards Ben Stothard GM More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Paid lunchtime visit and found this place a fabulous retreat - staff could not be more welcoming and even provided a packet of dog treats for our Springer. Best ham sandwich ever - will definitely be recommending it to anyone who would like to visit this area.

Helpful?
Thank mboldspice
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi and thank you for your feedback. I look forward to sharing your comments with the team. Be sure to visit us again soon as we are being refurbished between 24th and 29th April. kind regards Ben Stothard 8 More 

Newport Gwent
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and i visited a few weeks ago whilst on holiday. We found Ben the manager Sophie and Sam the waitresses sooooo friendly. I phoned before we arrived and asked why i should eat at The Crown and Ben gave me a few reasons why and they were all spot on. We had 2 different cuts of beef to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MelvinNewportGwent
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi MelvinNewportGwent, and thank you for you lovely review. I speak on behalf of the team as I say it was a pleasure to meet you. I'm pleased that our food and hospitality impressed you and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. kind regards Ben Stothard GM More 

Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

My wife and I had lunch at this pub. There was a notice apologising for the heating which had broken down, however there was a good fire in the lounge which made the room acceptable. We ordered a starter and main course. The starters were good but my wife's steak pie was returned and exchanged for scampi as the beef... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Raglan
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Hi Raglan. I'm sorry that you left disappointed on your recent visit. I hope your wife enjoyed her replacement meal. This is not our normal standard and I hope you try us again to restore your faith in us. If you have further concerns,please call me on 01425 672279 kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

pyecombe,brighton
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We have always had a great time at this place...the food is always tasty and served at just the right times.i have to say I ordered a starter yesterday and then couldn't finish my main !!!!! So we took it home and now making a vegetable soup with our leftovers !!!!! The staff are always friendly and always seem to... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank hairystephen
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

Thank you hairystephen for your lovely review. I will look forward to trying your soup! Hope to see you soon Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Run by very nice people who gave the most in service, but you can tell there is no chef, what a shame, a pub who has a good reputation ruined by very poor food and I do mean very poor, this is the second visit recently.

Helpful?
1 Thank markashford1000
General Manager A, Manager at The Crown Inn, responded to this review

thank you for your review. We do have a chef and I'm sorry to hear you have had a poor meal. Please feel free to call the pub to discuss your complaint in more detail on 01425 672279. Kind regards Ben Stothard General manager More 

Travellers who viewed The Crown Inn also viewed

 
West Parley, Dorset
Sopley, Hampshire
 

Been to The Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 22:30
Monday
12:00 - 23:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 23:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 23:00
Thursday
12:00 - 23:00
Friday
12:00 - 23:00
Saturday
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Ringwood Road, Bransgore, New Forest BH23 8AA, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Hampshire  >  New Forest  >  Bransgore
  • Phone Number: 01425672279
Description
The Crown in Bransgore is a country pub & restaurant oozing rural charm and rustic character. Our picturesque surroundings provide the perfect backdrop for savouring the hearty, seasonal pub-food on our menu, and the carefully nurtured cask ales and fine wines gracing our bar.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Crown Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?