We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn

Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
+682 22 166
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent56%
  • Very good31%
  • Average9%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible3%
Travellers talk about
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, International, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

pleasant location .Good service .Okay quiet atmosphere when we visited.But the food was glutinous unappealing mess.More

Thank jackmorrisNewZealand
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Unfortunately you don't say when you were at the Shipwreck Hut, what you had or what the problem was. I have checked with the bar staff and no one has made any complaints about anything so I'm powerless...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Shipwreck Bar used to be a great place with awesome food,music and atmosphere. How times have changed with new owners. The seafood chowder can only be described as watery with frozen seafood mix with a tiny muscleand tiny pieces of seafood or lack thereof...More

Thank Browny312
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Kia Orana, We welcome the feedback that we receive from guests and appreciate the time they take to post in this public forum. However, what we do not appreciate are personal and untrue comments about us and our business. We note that this is your...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The setting is delightful and the drinks are a reasonable price. The food/meals are limited, but the two we tried, were quite good. Good value for the cost.

Thank DeanoKew
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. Meitaki, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 16 July 2017

We enjoyed a couple of drinks while watching the sunset one night and wish we could have come back for more. Nice atmosphere and friendly service

Thank KittyKatch
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review. You can come back whenever you want... :-) We look forward to seeing you again. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 15 July 2017

Stopped of on our beach walk for lunch and a cold one. Well worth it. Good selection of cuisine and excellent quality and service.

Thank Te_Kiteroa_Lodge_NZ
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review. We hope to see you again soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

Great place to watch the sunset with friendly staff and service to match. Lovely cocktails and bar food. Saturday is BBQ night which was great but only bar food and snacks on others. We saw the live music on Saturday and Tuesday which were both...More

Thank RicJClark
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review, your comments are much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you again. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 12 July 2017

Great spot for a sunset drink, but beware the cocktails are a bit hit and miss (one was super alcoholic, the next was full of lime cordial). Haven't tried the food so unsure about that but the setting is lovely.More

Thank HayleyMorris
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review and your feedback on the cocktails. We do use these reviews to assess what is happening and to prompt any training etc. that is required. As a result of your comments we will have a full bar skills...More

Reviewed 7 July 2017

Great place to watch the sun go down at happy hour. They have appetizers and a variety of drinks right on the beach.

Thank Terry M
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review, very happy that you enjoyed the sunset and our little beach bar. We hope to see you back again soon. Meitaki ma'ata, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Reviewed 5 July 2017

A group of us called in for a feed, we weren't expecting five star but what were were served up was disgusting, barely warm, not cooked or prepared properly. One of our group only ordered a cheese board, they didn't receive a lot but it...More

Thank Malc60
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your review. We are not perfect so very occasionally we drop the ball so I apologise if your experience at the Shipwreck Hut was not up to scratch. We were very busy on the evening that you came in, normally...More

Reviewed 28 June 2017

Great little spot for a drink ( or three ! ) and watch the sunset . Although we didn't have a meal there I was interested to try the lamb shanks .

Thank Scotty-fisho
AroaBeach, Owner at Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Kia Orana, Thank you for your great review. Hope to see you back again soon. Meitaki, Steve, Geraldine and the A Team.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Waterline
794 reviews
1.97 km away
The Yellow Hibiscus
312 reviews
4.45 km away
The Waffle Shack
199 reviews
6.19 km away
Kikau Hut Restaurant
944 reviews
3.65 km away
Nearby Attractions
Cook Island Christian Church (CICC)
256 reviews
1.53 km away
Wilson's Beach Bar - Castaway Resort Rarotonga
125 reviews
1.36 km away
Cocoputt
410 reviews
1.00 km away
Kay George Designs Gallery
11 reviews
1.17 km away
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Shipwreck Hut at the Aro'a Beachside Inn staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Posting guidelines
Submit
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$11
Meals
Dinner, Drinks
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Reservations
Good for
View, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
17:00 - 21:00
Monday
17:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
17:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
17:00 - 21:00
Thursday
17:00 - 21:00
Friday
17:00 - 21:00
Saturday
17:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Betela, Arorangi 00001, Cook Islands
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Cook Islands  >  Southern Cook Islands  >  Rarotonga  >  Arorangi
  • Phone Number: +682 22 166
  • E-mail
Description
The Shipwreck Hut is an authentic beach bar situated right on the sand at the Aro'a Beachside Inn. Perfectly positioned to enjoy sunsets that are the envy of the South Pacific while sipping one of the famous "jam-jar cocktails". We also offer cold beer, wine, spirits, soft drinks and "home cooked" bar meals. We serve our bar meals from 5:00pm until 8:00pm (but not on BBQ nights). Saturday - Beach BBQ 6:00pm with live music. Tuesday - Live music 6:00pm to 8:00pm Thursday - Live music "Sunset Cocktails" 5:30pm to 7:30pm. Exactly what you would expect from a fun loving beach bar in the South Pacific.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing