We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Venus Cafe

Unit a Halwell Business Park, Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth TQ9 7LQ, England
+447710048728
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent42%
  • Very good30%
  • Average15%
  • Poor7%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“burger” (24 reviews)
“salad” (14 reviews)
“fries” (13 reviews)
Open Now
08:30 - 17:00All hours
CUISINES
Cafe, Seafood, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
$$ - $$$
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Unit a Halwell Business Park, Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth TQ9 7LQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago

Arrived for an early(ish) lunch so not especially busy there. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and our food and drinks were produced very quickly. I can especially recommend the Salcombe dressed crab; it was delicious. The rest of the family had crab...More

Thank 150casey
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Wonderful spot on the beach with god parking and large open cafe, restaurant with licence. They specialise in vegetarian food options. You sit looking directly over a beach and bay free of dogs (blue beach). Very atmospheric in all weathers. Highly recommended.

Thank Rory A
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here many times and always given an excellent review, unfortunately this time am very sad to say the crab sandwich I ordered was very lacking in any crab, tiny amount of white meat was mixed with mostly brown shell meat, lucky there were no...More

2  Thank TONYDIVER1
Michael S, Owner at Venus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you very much for your feedback regarding the crab sandwich.   We have not changed our specification nor portions on this product for 2 years or so and the sandwich should contain 100 grams of crab – 50% white crab meat.   I am very sorry...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Sorry but I cannot agree with the negative reviews I have just read regarding the Venus Cafe I thought the staff were friendly, very obliging and courteous. We had coffee cake, carrot cake, tea and coffee. All delicious No complaints from me!

Thank Barberie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have visited this cafe numerous times. Every time it is busy and the staff can't handle it. The manager and owners need to open there eyes and employ enough staff to be able to cope with the work load instead of justifying down right...More

1  Thank Dave S
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A local place for us but last visit disappointing. Lunch menu very limited -no crab so three dishes not available. Service for ordering was very slow and quality of meal was only average. Unusually not very busy as it is normally. May have been after...More

2  Thank Mike M
Michael S, Owner at Venus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at The Venus Café. We are very sorry that you found your recent visit disappointing and, in particular, I am sorry that crab was not available on that day – our crab is freshly caught...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Well, no words but terrible. I have been before and it was lovely food and atmosphere. But bank holiday weekend, it all went wrong. They cannot cope with busy periods and this can be seen by the RUDE manner of the lady manager who I...More

1  Thank KatColl123
Michael S, Owner at Venus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

To all those who have read the below note: as ever there are always two sides to every story. This customer was rude to the point of belligerence and adopted a very bullying approach. The rest of the café were quite understanding that we were...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Good warm welcome and ok menu but when my wife's meal came, seafood chowder special, it was extremely garlicky. We tried to send it back but the staff were not interested in the complaint and said if we wanted anything else we would have to...More

1  Thank mark s
Michael S, Owner at Venus Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent visit to Venus at Blackpool Sands. I am so sorry to hear that the staff were not their usual friendly selves and that they were unable to help you with the ingredients of...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We came to the beach for the afternoon and thought we would try the Venus cafe for lunch. What a fantastic cafe. The staff were polite and attentive and the food was amazing. Freshly cooked sardines and the dish of the day fish chowder come...More

Thank Angela M
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We decided to take a walk down with the kids...a 12 year old and a 4 year old. This was an experience in itself but a way when we got there the staff were really friendly and helpful. The menu is reasonably priced, I ordered...More

Thank jamknott
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Radius 7
211 reviews
1.05 km away
The Laughing Monk Restaurant
518 reviews
1.63 km away
The Lime coffee company
19 reviews
3.03 km away
Nearby Attractions
Dartmouth Castle
600 reviews
4.09 km away
Blackpool Sands
762 reviews
.17 km away
Royal Avenue Gardens
82 reviews
4.24 km away
Dartmouth Museum
119 reviews
4.22 km away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Bartystix
18 May 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 617polly | Reviewed this property |
As I dont drive and public transport doesnt run at night to this beach,is bit tricky to answer but if you phone DartmouthTIC ,am sure they will tell you,usually july and August are the months of'summer holiday'if that helps?
0
Votes
Merlin1942
16 April 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from Jon1289 | Reviewed this property |
The charges change throughout the season. Up to £7 for the day last year however the price reduced during the day. If using Venus for an evening meal then arriving late is free.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$11 - US$41
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
Restaurant features
Takeout, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
08:30 - 17:00
Monday
08:30 - 17:00
Tuesday
08:30 - 17:00
Wednesday
08:30 - 17:00
Thursday
08:30 - 17:00
Friday
08:30 - 17:00
Saturday
08:30 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Unit a Halwell Business Park, Stoke Fleming, Dartmouth TQ9 7LQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Dartmouth  >  Stoke Fleming
  • Phone Number: +447710048728
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing